We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jacmel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jacmel Inn

Jacmel Inn
903 East Morris St., Hammond, LA
985-542-0043
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Jacmel Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 117 Restaurants in Hammond
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: U. S. Highway 190
Transit: Currently Hammond, Louisiana does not have a public transit system.
Biloxi
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Jacmel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Is was good but not great. The bread they served was burnt. My steak was not cooked to order. Salad was just so so. Wait staff great but food was just ok.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    16
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere, Great Food, Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Took my girlfriend to celebrate being together one year. both had steaks and we were both very satisfied. She likes hers medium while I prefer Medium-rare and they were both perfect. Also our glasses never got close to being empty.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulf Shores, Alabama
Top Contributor
346 reviews 346 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 121 cities Reviews in 121 cities
203 helpful votes 203 helpful votes
“A great meal before leaving Hammond”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

My father and I were looking for somewhere to eat while traveling, and having never been in Hammond before, we weren't sure what options would be available. I found Jacmel Inn on an app on my Iphone and we made reservations through the Yelp app. The Zagat survey had the restaurant listed so high we couldn't pass it up and we are glad we didn't. The meal was outstanding. We both had filets, salads and dessert. Everything was good from the get-go. Jacmel Inn is a beautifully converted house with interesting art and fixtures and a great bar and courtyard. we ate inside though as it was a Tuesday. There were a few people also eating and the servers were attentive. Our glasses were filled without asking and the food came out pretty quickly. We had a great meal and the turtle cheesecake was to die for. I will definitely eat here again next time I'm in Hammond. It is very easy to find as well.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandeville, Louisiana
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Very good lunch with clients”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I took two clients to lunch recently and although it's been a couple of years since I've eaten at the Jacmel Inn, the quality of service and the food is still very good, close to excellent.
My clients both had the surf and turf and they thought it was delicious. I had the pan seared drum and it was prepared very well.
I would definitely return to dine here again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tickfaw, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Took my wife to this resturant for Valentines Day. Food and service were outstanding and the atmosphere was terrific.
It is a house that has been restored in the middle of town. The chef does a great job with his entrees.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jacmel Inn also viewed

 

Been to Jacmel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jacmel Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.