We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing steaks” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jacmel Inn

Jacmel Inn
903 East Morris St., Hammond, LA
985-542-0043
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Jacmel Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 117 Restaurants in Hammond
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: U. S. Highway 190
Transit: Currently Hammond, Louisiana does not have a public transit system.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Disappointing steaks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

The atmosphere is always great. We love the bar area and look forward to enjoying the patio when the weather warms up. I've heard it's pet friendly on the patio but i'll confirm before I bring our 160 lb great dane for lunch. Just recently had dinner. The scallops and risotto were amazing. My husband had a steak - it was mediocre at best. Our waitress was goofy - no personality and didn't really know or explain the menu. No great detial on specials, etc. Not the level of service you expect from a $200 meal for two people. We will be back - but my husband has decided no more steaks

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    16
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Streak was overcooked!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

We went there for a quiet dinner. We both ordered the steak medium. After we waited an hour for the food, the steak came out and was very well done. It was so tough it was hard to eat it. We informed the waitress who told us that the chef had a difficult time getting steaks cooked correctly. She did offer to have two more cooked but since it took an hour to get the first ones we declined.
The hostess stopped by to check on our meal and we told her about the steaks. She too informed us that the chef had a hard time getting steak orders done correctly. The question I have is if they have a chef who can't cook steaks, why don't they train him or get another chef? If they know it is a pattern with him and steaks, I would have been happier if they told us when we ordered them.
The fact that we had two different people tell us about the chef and the issue with him cooking steaks does not speak well for the staff. I have never had anyone tell me their chef didn't know how to cook.
The only thing I can say about our experience is that the salad and green beans were very good. We were not charged for the steaks which was good because we only took 2 bites of them. I would proceed with caution when going there for a steak.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good food, most of the time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Overall, this is a great place to eat. We occasionally have a less than perfect experience, but keep coming back. The food is usually very good, and service is generally good, too. Sunday brunch is very nice here.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Village, Ohio
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Still very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We were a large group and the service was slow and that made the food less than hot. The food is well prepared and beautifully presented. It's unfortunate that being understaffed for a large group would compromise the experience. It was still a lovely evening and I would still be happy to return.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL FINE DINING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Located in Hammond in an old house gives this place lots of atmosphere. Tiny lights all over the grounds makes it lovely at night. We went in December and the ambiance was fabulous with fireplace flickering while dining on beef tenderloin and bottle of wine with my honey and another couple. Great place for romantic dinner, but also nice lunch. Favorite for sure. A little pricy but worth it!

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jacmel Inn also viewed

 

Been to Jacmel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jacmel Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.