We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busy During Event” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Quality Inn & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Westbank Expressway Building A, Gretna, LA 70053 (Formerly Clarion Inn Westbank)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Gretna
Maine
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Busy During Event”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

I always stay in another hotel when in New Orleans, but because of games, I stayed here instead. It wasn't too bad. They had a shuttle that takes a person to the Algier's ferry for a ride across the river. The shuttle is free. They have a free breakfast as well. We had to wait in the lobby until after five for our room. The room was clean, but must have seen some recent action for the bathroom door was shattered (yes, shattered). They offered to fix it as soon as possible, but they were so busy that we told them to do when ever they had a chance. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NVNHotels, VP-Sales at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 24, 2012
Thank you for your review. I will pass on your comments to the staff and management of the Quality Inn & Suites. We take great pride in offering services to our guests that, hopefully, curbs some of the costs encountered when on vacation or just visiting the area. Our staff make it their #1 priority to exceed guest expectation. We hope you consider us when coming back to the Gretna area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    37
    32
    36
    55
See reviews for
68
40
2
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Riverton, Wyoming
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

Four adults stayed at Gretna Quality Inn in January 6 & 7, 2012. The price was right considering everything in the FQ was either full or very expensive. The motel was dated and the bathroom (room 2022) needed some TLC but it served the purpose. The restaurant and bar was very nice and the people working the bar were lots of laughs. We really enjoyed the time we spent at the bar. The shuttle goes to the Algiers ferry on the hour which is free. It was very convenient to get to the FQ and saves bucks by not needing a taxi. We even checked out, went to the ferry with our luggage and made our way down Riverwalk to our cruise ship. No problem at all. The motel shuttle only runs till 9pm and the ferry till 12:15pm. If you arrive at the ferry after 9PM you can call the motel and they will send a taxi to pick you up (at your expense). The hot tub was in operation but the pool.......well they really need to empty it or refill it with clean water. The water was really mossy looking. Certainly not swimming quality.
Be aware that the cost of a taxi from MSY Airport to the Quality is approx. $73 so the shuttle service is very cost effective. I actually would not have a problem staying there again if nothing was available in the FQ. Mrs. D at the desk was great.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NVNHotels, VP-Sales at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 24, 2012
Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. I am glad that your stay was enjoyable. As you experienced, we are going through some renovations in order to make our guest's experiences more comfortable. We feel that our hotel adds value to guests when they visit, from our free shuttle service to our complimentary hot breakfast every morning. I will let Mr. D ( Delana) know that you appreciate her guest service as well. We hope that you will consider us again when you return to the Greater New Orleans area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartlett, Tennessee
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

This is an older Clarion that is now being renovated into a Quality Inn. The hotel front desk was going through a much needed renovation. The staff was extremely courteous, this started by them actually taking our reservation themselves and not passing us onto the national reservation number. They were all extremely friendly upon check in. We found the rooms to be average and clean, but nothing spectacular. They have a great bar area with moderately priced drinks. Breakfast was fantastic and well stocked. They run a free shuttle to the Westbank ferry stop every hour. This is a great convenience to those touring the downtown New Orleans area.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nvnhotels, VP-Sales at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 18, 2011
Thank you very much for your comments. The hotel is undergoing some dramatic changes from the previous Clarion brand to the new Quality Inn & Suites. We hope that you will visit again in the next several months to see the renovation progress. The staff and management at the Hotel make it their priority, especially during this renovation, to exceed our guests expectations and I am glad this was the case during your visit. Thank you once again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan City, Louisiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

All of the staff here are so friendly, love Ms. D, and I also met the Manager of the hotel, he was very gracious, and eager to please. We chatted for a while before checking in, we went to our room,and could tell some things were dated, but a lot looked new. Room was clean, and for the money a bargain. The breakfast buffet was wonderful, had to stop myself from going back for seconds, Ms. Helen was the attendent, very nice southern lady that wanted to make sure we were happy, and asked us how our stay was going.
All in all, we did luck out when pulling up to this hotel, love choice hotels, and like to be able to see my automobile since we carry our business in it for the shows we exhibit at. Decent hotels with doors to the outside are getting hard to find these days.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 1017, it was quiet, and close to everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nvnhotels, VP-Sales at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 18, 2011
Thank you very much for your review. It is always good to hear the positive experiences of our guests and that the management and staff at the Hotel are living the philosophy of "exceeding our guests expectations" in guest service. I will pass on the nice comments to the GM and the staff. We hope you will consider staying at our Hotel the next time you visit the Gretna area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

We have had to stay in New Orleans on the Westbank for the last month. We usually stay at the Holiday Inn and due to the length of time we had to find a cheaper accomadations. This is what brought us to this hotel good rates. The staff is wonderful you are greeted by a friendly front desk staff. My favorite would have to be Ms. D and Linda. If you eat in the restaurant make sure to say hello to Tresa or Shane. The management has also made us feel very comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nvnhotels, VP-Sales at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 18, 2011
Thank you for your positive comments. I will certainly pass on the accolades to Shane, Delana, Linda and Tressa. The team at the Quality Inn makes it their top priority to make our guests feel welcome, like it is their "home away from home", and I am glad this was your experience during your stay with us. We hope that you will consider staying with us again during your next visit to the Westbank area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cartersville, Georgia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

I had researched this place and found many excellent reviews, so I was extremely disappointed. Where to begin? First, it is now the Quality Inn, though all the internet listings are still booking as the Clarion--however, there is no sign anywhere on the building that it was formerly the Clarion, so that is quite confusing. Second, it is a 1960s-era motel that has small rooms and very poor soundproofing (the sounds of people outdoors and of sexual activity in neighboring rooms kept me awake much of the night).Third, the management and quality control are terrible. Having reserved a room and arriving late in the evening, the first room assigned to us had not been cleaned--bed unmade, etc. The second room had a made-up bed, but the floors had not been vacuumed and there was debris under the chair and a wet washcloth on the sink. A few good features: the bed was comfortable, the room had a fridge and microwave and flatscreen TV and internet access. Otherwise, I wish I had not prepaid so I could have left.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank H, Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 4, 2011
Thank you for taking your time to provide us with valuable feedback. First, I want to apologize that we disappointed you, however I feel it important to note that we were exchanging our new Quality Inn and Suites signage for our former Clarion Inn signage on the dates of your arrival and stay. This apparently lead to some confusion and I sincerely apologize that this may have been your case. Our hotel was originally built in 1972. In June of this year, new ownership and management occurred. During your stay, we are renovating the lobby, restaurant and bar, and our rooms. If you incurred any inconvenience during these activities, again, I wish to apologize. In our efforts to improve, we've added such amenities and new services as new flat screen lcd tv's, complimentary wifi, free breakfast, microfridges and microwaves, a business area, and shuttle services, just to name a few. In closing, in the event you return to the New Orleans area, please feel free to personally contact my office, so I can ensure your next stay will be an enjoyable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, Kentucky
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

This hotel had great reviews, so we decided to give it a try. First off, it is no longer a Clarion and the hotel sign says Quality Inn. When searching for a Clarion sign, this made it very difficult to find. We walked into the lobby, and found a plywood front desk with graffiti written all over it. There was no other furniture in the lobby, and we could see one strip of fresh paint on an otherwise drab office. We decided to give them the benefit of the doubt...maybe they were remodeling. We had reservations for a non-smoking room for four nights. They gave us our room number, and it was the dungeon room under the steps and beside the vending room. It wreaked of cigarettes and even had ashtrays on the table in the room. We went back to the front desk, told them we were in no way staying there, and asked them to cancel our reservation. The young man (the only professional part of this hotel....I commend him!) did so without question. While he did this, the woman who I believe was the manager, laughed at us the whole time.
We left the hotel, and stopped at a gas station a half block away. The whole time we were getting our gas, three adult women and two adult men at the gas station told jokes about whities very loudly so that we would hear.
I would not recommend this hotel nor this area for a hotel stay!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nvnhotels, Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 31, 2011
Thank you, in advance, for taking your valuable time to express your less than satisfactory experience with us. I sincerely apologize that we fell short of your expectation. You are correct to write that we are no longer a Clarion. Our change to a Quality Inn and Suites took place very recently and this may have brought about some confusion. If this was your case, again, I apologize. Your observations that we were remodeling are correct. We are improving. We're awaiting our new lobby furnishings and our Front Desk will soon be receiving a new marble countertop to compliment our new decor. In addition, we are reconditioning our rooms and installing upgrades for greater guest comfort. Together, with the professionalism exhibited by 'the young man' at the desk, I am confident that your dissappointing experience with our hotel will remain the exception.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites

Address: 100 Westbank Expressway Building A, Gretna, LA 70053 (Formerly Clarion Inn Westbank)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Gretna
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Gretna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 309
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Inn & Suites, hotel in Gretna Louisiana 3 miles from Downtown New Orleans Stay on the west bank of the Mississippi River and minutes from downtown New Orleans at the Quality Inn & Suites(R) hotel in Gretna, LA. A diverse selection of historic and cultural attractions is in close proximity to the premises, including: •Audubon Aquarium •Mercedes-Benz Superdome •French Quarter •Boomtown Casino New Orleans •Harrah's New Orleans casino World-famous Cajun cuisine and several exciting night-spots are nearby, including the Hidden Garden and Rumors restaurants located on-site. Unwind after a day of sightseeing in our outdoor pool, picnic area and exercise room. Additional amenities include: •Free hot breakfast buffet •Free wireless high-speed Internet access •Free weekday newspaper •Free local calls All guest rooms feature a refrigerator, flat-screen televisions, coffee maker, cable television, hairdryer, desk, iron and board. Select rooms contain microwaves.Smoking rooms are available. Take advantage of our six meeting rooms that accommodate up to 133 people. Copy and fax services are available. Guest laundry and valet cleaning is offered. Ample, free parking accommodates trucks and buses. Ask our multi-lingual staff about our Park and Cruise Package. Make the Quality Inn hotel your choice for relaxing accommodates and affordable rates in the Gretna, LA area. We look forward to your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Gretna
Quality Inn And Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.