We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was torture driving and smelling that sweetness all the way home!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Antoine's Famous Cakes

Antoine's Famous Cakes
1300 Stumpf Blvd, Gretna, LA 70053-4938
(504) 368-6222
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 106 Restaurants in Gretna
Cuisines: Bakery
Restaurant details
New Orleans, Louisiana
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“It was torture driving and smelling that sweetness all the way home!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

I almost didn't go because of the reviews on customer service, but mine was great! The lady up front even went to the back to look for the specific queen cake I wanted. When I got home and started eating, I noticed there was an after taste I couldn't deny. Come to find out it was not finished being baked.
I'm from out of town so I was excited to finally get one of these carnival cakes. All the hype on king cakes are over exagerrated. All it is danish bread with filling and icing on top

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    0
    1
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“King Cakes at Walgreens!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

Who would have thought that the king cake we got from the Walgreens of Chef in Gentilly would be so delicious. It was so fresh and moist! Also helps that they are black owned!

I am writing this review hoping I will be able to get someone to mail me an Antoine's king cake from Walgreens again this year.

Miss ya New Orleans!!!

Visited February 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Top Contributor
242 reviews 242 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
324 helpful votes 324 helpful votes
“The Best King Cake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

They make the best King Cakes in New Orleans. We get them from here every year.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atoka, Tennessee
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Horrible! Horrible Customer Service!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2011

Last year I ordered my daughter's birthday cake...on the day I went to pick it up they had an ADULT luau theme on the cake. Didn't even offer a refund. So, today...one year later, I called back to give them another chance for her 4th birthday, and they totally ignored me...left me on hold for over ten minutes, then when I called them back, they took the phone off of the hook!!!! How Rude! I will NEVER buy another cake from this establishment again!

  • Visited May 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“terrible customer service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2011

The cakes are good. I wish the customer service was. I didnt go in to buy a king cake. I went to purchase a wedding cake. You think when you spend that amount of money you could get some good customer service. My visit was terrible and the 2 times i called to ask a question i got attitude. Yes only 2 times and both was horrible.

  • Visited January 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Antoine's Famous Cakes also viewed

 

Been to Antoine's Famous Cakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antoine's Famous Cakes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.