We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seafood @ it's BEST...Straight off the Boat !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Starfish Restaurant

Starfish Restaurant
3027 Highway 1, Grand Isle, LA 70358
985-787-2711
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 7 Restaurants in Grand Isle
Restaurant details
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Seafood @ it's BEST...Straight off the Boat !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

Starfish Seafood Restaurant is Smack Dab In The Middle of Grand Isle, LA! Ya can't miss this little Lime Green Restaurant ! The Starfish isn't fancy....it does say that it's "Not Your Average Fast Food Restaurant"!

We walked in @ lunch time & I ordered the Fried Shrimp Basket....Huge Shrimp perfectly fried served with the BEST Jalapeno Ranch dipping sauce I've EVER eaten......& stuffed crab. Super Yummy! Hubby ordered the Fried Oyster Poboy & Onion Rings....Cousin ordered the Crab Cake Poboy......her hubby ordered the Alligator Poboy......lots of mmmming & awwing! Our waitress was very friendly & joked around w/ us. The Starfish was filled w/ locals & that's always a good sign when in doubt! I'd recommend the Starfish Restaurant if you're ever @ Grand ISle, LA!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    26
    17
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, Louisiana
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Cheeseburger in Paradise”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

Yes, Virginia, you can get a great bacon cheeseburger on the Island. And the shrimp platter's not bad, either. And the onion rings--well, let's just say they don't come any greasier.

Sarah's is For Sale; if that goes, only the Starfish and the Lighthouse are left. But hey, this is a great time to visit. Crowds are gone, you've got the beach to yourself. And it's warm and cozy in the Starfish (just don't sit up front by the doors).

  • Visited December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OC, CA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Won't be going there anymore in the summer”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

A very bad experience ordered gator sandwich and got 4 stuffing balls on a burger bun.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamler, Oh
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Wonderful in so many ways!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

The owner was out front in a chair waiting to greet us. We were waiting on friends and he got us tea while we waited outside. Once inside we found his fishing rodeo team making hats to wear during the rodeo in support of breast cancer. I photographed them and they told me about the rodeo and what it meant to them. The food was so good - there were 9 of us and each of us were served things in a friendly down home manner. The food was HOT and awesome. From steaks to burgers good food was had by all. Check this place out!!!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meaux, LA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Absolutely Disgusting and Expensive”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

The batter at the Starfish has no seasoning. Nor does the filler for their crab kickers (mini crab cakes) or stuffed crab. Basically, everything at the restaurant is covered in this batter. So the food is very bland.

Additionally, on the day we ate there, they did not heat the oil hot enough, and the batter was doughy. The beer we were served was warm (it came in the can, there was no excuse). Our waitress was pleasant, but she was new and did not know the menu.

Each seafood platter was $19.99. For that, you get a dozen good-sized shrimp, a pile of fries, and a shredded iceberg salad. If the food were even halfway decent, this would be a reasonable bargain (I'd pay $16.25 at home, but I expect a markup on the island.) However, since the food is lousy, give it a miss. If you are feeling too lazy to cook, the Safeway bakes their on Jalapeño bread, and it is the tastiest prepared food you can buy on the island.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Starfish Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Starfish Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Starfish Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.