We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Inn to your Saves list
Clarion Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1500 W Highway 30, Gonzales, LA 70737 (Formerly Holiday Inn Gonzales)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Gonzales
Mobile, Alabama
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

This is a nice hotel. The room and bathroom were clean. Breakfast was good. The hotel was packed when we arrived so we had a problem finding a parking space. We drove around until someone left the hotel resturant and parked in front of it and walked around the resturant and through the courtyard to get to our room, but that didn't bother us since we didn't have much luggage and we were only staying one night.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabrina T, Front Office Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
November 20, 2013

Thank you for your recent correspondence regarding Clarion Inn & Conference Center Gonzales, Louisiana. We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your recent stay.

We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgement of such a positive nature. Your comments will be shared with our entire staff, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make the Clarion Inn & Conference Center Gonzales a leader in excellence.

Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    22
    10
    6
    1
See reviews for
18
14
5
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
near New Orleans, LA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This hotel was a pleasant surprise after our stay in Baton Rouge (at another brand of hotel). Checkin was easy and the lady at the front desk was extremely nice and allowed us to check in early. We are choice hotel members so we received free breakfast & free drink coupons (Mike Anderson) a nice treat!! The hotel also offers a free shuttle within a 5 mile radius.

The grounds are gorgeous, beautiful pool and multiple sitting areas. The doors to the rooms are outside, not indoor corridors...just fyi. It is actually convenient for unloading the car. We were assigned a lower floor room that was clean and cozy (ac was turned down). Our room had a microwave & mini frig, Plenty of tv channels & Community coffee for the coffee maker. There was even two types of pillows on the bed. It may be a normal Choice hotel thing but I don’t remember noticing it at other hotels. I was able to use the free computer to get some work done during our stay. The breakfast buffet was delicious! The offerings were scrambled eggs (real eggs not the powder stuff) sausage links, bacon and smothered potatoes along with the standard continental breakfast fare.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and this will be our hotel of choice (excuse the pun) when in the Gonzales area.

Room Tip: we chose a quiet room, lower level at the end of the corridor. there are rooms facing the pool if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabrina T, Front Office Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulf Coast
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

The breakfast is awesome, the lobby area is very pretty. The grounds are really nice. Although this is an older hotel, it has been upgraded nicely. Easy parking right in front of our room, no lugging our luggage around. The front desk staff are very nice. Having Mike Anderson's on site is a plus.

Room Tip: Ask for a poolside if you like a view, parking lot side if you want the ease of loading and unloadin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabrina T, Front Office Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
September 9, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thibodaux
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Although this beautiful sprawling property is not the newest on the block, do not be fooled IT IS HAND DOWN ONE OF THE BEST!!! From the desk receptionist, my room, Mike Anderson's Restaurant, and breakfast in the morning it was all done with a flair of southern class.

I stayed there years ago and found myself greeted his morning by one of the same breakfast staffers (Peggy?) from way back then. It speaks well of the place to retain good people for that long a time.

This hotel is a monument to the fact that it doesn't have to be brand new to be able to brew!

Kudos to Mr. Robert on not being tempted to lower the bar on the standards that have made this such an awesome place.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabrina T, Front Office Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We really enjoyed staying at Clarion back in June! It was nice! Room clean! Front Desk nice and helpful! A/C worked very well! And the Breakfast crew was wonderful! I took 2 of my Grandsons in to eat breakfast and they made sure everything was good for them! That is very important to me! The pool was clean and the children enjoyed it, so did I. I will stay here again on next visit. Surprised me how quiet it was to be an outdoors hotel!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabrina T, Front Office Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristow, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed at this Clarion on July 11, 2013. As others have stated, the service here is outstanding! I did get a gift bag upon checking in, but I was even more impressed by the professionalism and courtesy extended by the young lady at the front desk. Also, every staff member I passed during our stay was kind & attentive. A+ for service!

The hotel, unfortunately, is more like a motel, with doors to the outside - something we typically do not do while traveling, and a shocker considering the chain & the price we paid. However, we never felt unsafe here, and all the buildings are around a little courtyard with the pool. The grounds here are beautiful. Very well landscaped!

The breakfast here was good. It is served in the restaurant on-site, which assures there is plenty of room for seating, unlike most hotel breakfasts. There was plenty of hot food, and the young lady working was very helpful.

The only real criticism I have is that the rooms are quite small. I'm guessing this hotel was purchased and remodeled by Clarion. They did an outstanding job, but you can't make rooms bigger I guess. There was barely room for two queens. If you are traveling with children, they won't have much room to move. Also, the Internet was spotty. It worked for a while, then would disconnect. That was a little annoying.

Overall, though, a nice stay. I definitely recommend it. Best service ever!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabrina T, Front Office Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thibodaux, Louisiana, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

So tired of the 3 story plus cookie cutter hotel where they are built in 8 months with plywood and paper thin walls. This is a well built strong hotel.
The Clarion Inn has a great family appeal with an awesome restaurant, Capt. Anderson's. Never thought of it as a place of breakfast. The staff made fresh eggs with real eggs. Most hotels pour them out of a carton and shinny like rubber, then they turn gray in an hour.
All of the staff from front desk check in and out were nice.
The dinning staff helped one another, The house keepers as I left said "good morning" and also notice how well they prepared their carts. Had business in Baton Rouge and not real far away. If I took my family to Blue Bayou I would stay here overnight to make a short vacation with a dip in well maintained pool area.-

Room Tip: Pool side to be close if you have kids, park by exterior rooms for quick pack and unpack.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabrina T, Front Office Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn

Address: 1500 W Highway 30, Gonzales, LA 70737 (Formerly Holiday Inn Gonzales)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Gonzales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Gonzales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suburban Southern hospitality at it s best! Just mile from the Tanger Factory Outlet Mall, Lamar Dixon Expo Center, Cabela s, Southern Plantations and local industries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Gonzales
Holiday Inn Gonzales
Gonzales Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.