We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely amazing stay at the Anantara Dhigu!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anantara Dhigu Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Anantara Dhigu Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Anantara Dhigu Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Dhigufinolhu, 2014   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Last Minute 20% off!
Dubai
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Absolutely amazing stay at the Anantara Dhigu!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2010

We had a perfect stay for holiday at the Anantara Dhigu with our extended family. the location was gorgeous, the facilities were impeccable & the staff & service was simply amazing. We were often pleasantly surprised to notice that whatever requests we put forward we never heard 'no' for an answer. The staff & the management made sure all our demands were met. My parents who are strictly vegetarians were absolutely spell bound to notice all their regular favourites were made available thanks to some advance planning & emails exchanged with Mr. Vivek (F&B Manager). My kids had the most amazing time with the various activities the kids club offered. There is loads to see & do at the Dhigu & its nature at its best. I wud highly recommend this destination & this particular resort for its brilliance in service to everyone.
Well done Anantara Dhigu & thanks very much.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    662
    140
    34
    20
    8
See reviews for
247
481
8
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2010

We have just come back from Anantara Dhigu after a superb holiday there. Absolutely everything is thought of and the management and staff are truly wonderful. Management are very approachable and visible and staff seem to really enjoy working there. We have two very young children and absolutely everything was done to make them feel welcome and ensure they were having a great holiday, even down to staff giving presents to the children and keeping them entertained in restaurants by modelling animals/fish out of leaves etc. The kids club is very well organised and particular thanks go to Priscilla for making sure our little girl had such a great time.The pool is amazing and the beaches are picture perfect. The villas are very private and having your own piece of beach with loungers is just wonderful. We particularly enjoyed getting the boat over to Veli for dinner and had wonderful meals, but the Thai Baan Huraa is worthy of special mention as it has an amazing location and excellent food. Breakfast in Fushi Café is amazing and staff gladly provide anything that is not on display. A special thank you to Ken for making us feel most welcome. All the staff are great but we would like to mention a few in particular who really stood out for us: Bala (I hope the spelling is correct) the wine sommelier for ensuring our favourite wine was available, Adam in Terrazzo restaurant for the lovely gift for our little girl, and Alex for being so friendly and helpful. The only negative experience we had was at Aquafanatics when one member of staff early on in our stay (Robert) was particularly negative and unhelpful.
Overall, this is a great resort and although expensive, well worth it as a relaxing, stress-free holiday is guaranteed.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2010

We came back from Anantara Dighu Resort and Spa yesterday and we are here to write a review about this wonderful resort.
From the moment we arrived we were met by the hotel's representative, life is a beach. Literally.
You are whisked off to the private yacht that takes you on a 30 minute ride to the resort. Cold towels, water and other drinks are served aboard.
You are then taken to your room by your personal assistant/butler/villa host on a golf cart and shown around the resort.
Our Water Villa was well decorated and very specious…like a flat not just a room!
There is a lot to do on the island, all sorts of water sports, 1 swimming pool, amazing beaches, hamacas, gym room, cuisine course, Spa, painting and yoga classes, restaurants, bars so you are never out of options. All the public areas are beautifully designed and decorated and blended in with the picture perfect natural beauty of the island.
You can even use facilities in the near Island Veli which belongs to the same hotel chain Anantara. You can reach it in every moment with a silent boat which links them.
Food was very good and well presented, we suggest the Maldivian night and the BBQ on the beach at Fushi Restaurant! Breakfast is marvelous! Especially handmade pancake, Love it!
Maldives is Paradise…, white beaches and turquoise water is everywhere; but what really makes the difference is the service and the smiles that reaches your heart from each member of the staff. A special thanks goes to Ali ( the Maldivian Italian speaker!), Shiraz , Grace (Veli) and Liz ( the perfect front desk members) and the pastry chef Janice from India! We had the opportunity to know the general manager Claudia which we appreciate for her professionalism and for being behind this special staff.
Our only wish is to go back as soon!!!
Corinne&Antonio

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2010

We had a pleasure to experience Anantara resort at Maldives during our honeymoon in the end of August 2010. Even though the weather forecast was predicting rainy days, there was not a single drop of rain during our 1 week stay! Our experience with Anantara was great starting from the pick up in the airport until our very last minute at the resort. Our room was one of the luxurious water villas in Dhigu and there are no words to describe the beauty of the scenery of the Maldives. The resort and rooms design is quite modern, with natural materials and local touch.
Our room was a spacious bungalow, with everything you request for a high-end vacations. We have received a bottle of Champagne on arrival and had 3 honeymoon surprising turn-downs in our room during our stay. The housekeeping staff was very caring, clean and polite and there was always the same person assigned to our room, who we got acquainted with and were feeling very comfortable!
The Anantara resort has 3 hotels which are connected to each other by a boat taxi which takes 5 min from one island to another, so we were able to experience restaurants in all 3 islands and we were never bored with the food and drinks. The thai restaurant was very good with the top quality and taste food, the japanese restaurant had quite modern menu and amazing dishes. One of the nicest experiences was to ´shop´ in the restaurant 73 Degrees and see how chefs are preparing the food you chose in a style you like.
Variety of activities doesnt allow you to get bored - whether it is snorkelling, kayaking, spa, fishing or just playing scrubble and sipping cocktails at the bar.
We highly recommend to go at least once in your life to the Maldives and experience The Anantara resort, where everything allows you to relax in a comfortable surrounding with genuinely caring staff around. The honeymoon we had there was the best vacation time in our life....and this is how it should be :)

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2010

I am not going to write about usual matters that are surely covered by other critics written about Anantara Dhigu.

There are some resorts and hotels which target to profit from complementary products and services that they offer. You feel that something is wrong when you see costs charged on those services, but since you are on a vacation which is probably you get once in a year, for the sake of the time spent with your loved ones, you just ignore that you are being ripped off.

Anantara Dhigu has a completely different philosophy. The management is trying to offer all of the complementary products and services that would enhance your possibly once-in-a-lifetime vacation with either no charge or with a low cost as much as possible.

For example, when you read reviews for other resorts, you are advised to carry drinkable water from Male since it is very expensive in islands. That is not true in Anantara. The drinkable water is complementary product. You do not need to carry your snorkel from your home country. The snorkells with pallettes are under your service during your stay with no extra charge. Your sun cream is in your room, carrying a price etiquette equivalent to its market price. Internet access is free in Aqua Bar, reception and in the library. The restaurants are not cheap, but compared what you can bump into an some other 5-star resorts, I can call it meaningful.

I had a perfect 5-day at Anantara Dhigu with my wife and 4.5-year old daughter. The only critics that I could make about the resort is general taste of food, which was below my expectations, and temporarily slow service, especially attributable to their understaffed status.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karachi
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2010

We stayed at the Anantara for four days and it was heaven !! The room was absolutely perfect, really spacious and comfortable, beautifully appointed and a verandah with a picutre perfect view of the sea. In fact, every day after breakfast, I would spend on hour on the verandah sipping a cocktail and staring at the specatcular view - a white sand pathway through our own private luxurious green garden to the most incredible blue water beyond. We had possibly the best villa on the island (my opinion, of course) in the sense that it was one of the most central. The most we had to walk was 5 minutes to the Spa, although walking was such a pleasure with the lush tropical vegetation, especially beautifully lit up at night. We felt that the villas on the sunset side (the opposite side from the main jetty) were much more private and with a better view. I must admit I was initially skeptical about the open air bathrooms, but they were a dream - very private, wonderful accessories and beautifully done.

The over water Spa was special, especially since we tailored most of our treatments to be at sunset. Gorgeous views, amazingly relaxing, and impeccable treatment rooms. The staff was great in offering advice and the therapists were really skilled at completely relaxing you.

The food at all the restaurants was excellent and the cocktails were unbelievable. I had a mango daquiri which I could have sipped all day. The pizza at Terrazo was better than most I've had in Italy and the seafood at Fudaan Grill simply superb. The best meal though was at the Thai Baan Huraa - exquisitley cooked, delicately flavoured with the right level of spice and service to die for.

The resort has the entire range of water sports. We went to AquaFanatics on the first day and the lady there planned out our entire four days beautifuly, with appropriate suggestions to make sure we fit everything in, but at a completely leisurely place. Janine was our snorkelling instructor who taught us the basics with such patience, even when we were ready to give up. All the staff really take your weaknesses into account. In fact, when we went to the open sea snorkelling, one of our party was having some trouble and since the others were managing fine, Shareef, the snorkelling guide took the weaker one personally around the entire area. We did everything from the jet skis to dolphin watching to night fisihing - the resort manages every little detail of each acitvity to perfection !

Lastly, the service - oh what service !! Ahusan and Naufel at the Aqua bar where we went daily for our midday snacks and cocktails were amazing, with great recommendations for just the right meal or cocktail. In fact, when we didn't attend the requested wakeup call one morning (I forgot to place the receiver on the hook), they actually sent someone over to the room to make sure we didn't miss breakfast !!

This is not a cheap resort, but boy - it was worth every bit !! If you want to be completely, utterly relaxed, this is the place to go.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2010

I am writing this review on our last night at Anantara. We came to Anantara with my 12 year old daughter, we were worried at first that she was going to be bored since kids club was not an option for her. The staff at Anantara Dhigu and Aquafanatics were incredibly friendly and went out of their way to make sure our stay was excellent. There is so much to tell about this trip from the wonderful breakfast at Fusion Grill, lunches at Aqua Bar and dinners throughout the resort. From bar b ques at night by the sea to Umberto our wonderful chef at Terrazo restaurant who made us an incredible dinner at request that was not on the menu. That was our favorite restaurant but Geckos at Veli was delicious too.The parasailing and dolphin experience, the snorkeling right by our villa, the beautiful sea life, the sunsets, the aqua blue water and white sands ....I can go on and on. I highly recommend anyone to come stay at Anantara Resort. Someone told us 1 week was too long to stay, I totally disagree 1 week was perfect!! I HIGHLY recommend this resort if you are thinking about coming to the Maldives.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anantara Dhigu Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Dhigu Resort & Spa

Address: Dhigufinolhu, 2014
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > South Male Atoll > Dhigufinolhu Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dhigufinolhu Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Dhigu Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An idyllic tropical island paradise set in the South Male Atoll, just half an hour from Male international Airport, Anantara offers the Maldives resort experience you've only dreamt about, with two lush islands, Dhigufinolhu and Veligandu Huraa. Unwind on endless white sand beaches, palm-fringed islands and pristine coral reefs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Escapio, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Anantara Dhigu Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Dhigu Resort And Spa
Anantara Dhigu Hotel South Male Atoll
Anantara Resort Maldives
Anantara Maldives
Anantara Hotel Maldives

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anantara Dhigu Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.