We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best beach holidays” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anantara Dhigu Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Anantara Dhigu Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Anantara Dhigu Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   2014   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Simply the best beach holidays”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Stay at Anantara Dhigu from Jun 9-15. We do quite a bit of research to decide the best resort that can not only cater for family but also provide the 5* star service of a luxury resorts. We are very happy that we have make the right choice of staying at Anantara Dhigu. It has live up to our expectation.

We stay at Sunset beach villa which is perfect since beach is just right in front of our door step. It has lots of activities like table tennis, beach soccer, volley etc to cater for our the hotel guest.

It's very nice for the hotel to provide live coverage of the World Cup on each of the room.

June is suppose to be a rainy season but weather is very good & we only have rain only on 2 nite which did not cause much of a disruption.

Overall we are very happy with the service provided by Anantara & also the facilities.

One thing which I hope the manager can take note & make correction is the brochure which is given out to all the guest on arrival. It mentioned that there is a Japanese restaurant on Veli which is open for lunch & dinner. I even called reception to check before going. When we arrived at Deli, we were told that they are not open for lunch. We were quite disappointed as staffs should have informed us that it's not open for lunch. And get the info correct on the brochure.

This aside it's a great & wonderful stay for my family & we truely enjoy our stay & holidays. We will be back again.

We stay at villa 50 which is close to the spa. Perfect location.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick E, Manager at Anantara Dhigu Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Garysoon68,

Thank you very much for your amazing review of Anantara Dhigu. We are more than happy to read your feedback. It makes us glad, that we could contribute to making your trip to the Maldives a great experience for you and your family.

You made the right choice with Anantara Dhigu for a relaxing vacation and to recharge. We remain focused to continue and enhance the experiences you have collected, here at Anantara Dhigu.

“Anantara” The word in Sanskrit means "without end" and evokes the freedom, movement and harmony that are the spirit of the Anantara Experience. Each Anantara Resort draws its strength from the rich cultural traditions, historic heritage and natural beauty of its destination. As such, every experience is a unique voyage of discovery and inspiration that is distinctly Anantara.

We have well noted your comment concerning the opening timings on the welome brochure and I will personally review the printings. Thank you very much for bringing this to my attention!

We can’t wait to welcome you back on one of our 3 islands! All of us are looking forward to your next visit!

Warm regards from the Maldives,

Patrick Eggebrecht
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

961 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    737
    156
    38
    22
    8
See reviews for
284
530
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Anantara Dhigu is not a normal luxury hotel. It is a super excellent hotel, such a small island, are actually three small islands surrounded by an atoll, there is always calm sea, the waves do not come. You have everything to relax. Went with my children 21, 19 and 15 years, we had a great time. They have catamarans, sailboats, kayaks, jet skis, etc.. You can surf, take you by boat to find the waves. Diving, snorkeling there are plenty of colorful fish, very clean and clear waters. The staff is very professional activities, especially Rodolfo a good person who always try to help. There is a fee but it's when I say everything is everything. The service is incredible, always nice and sympathetic. Everything is very clean. The rooms are spectacular, they are very large, nicely decorated. We chose the over water, highly recommended. If I one day, I would like a lot, could choose the sunset beach, my kids were in one of them, they are also very nice with a large bath with shower, terrace, i inside is all, nothing is missing You have until mosquito repellent. The restaurant is very well served, every day you have a different buffet. You have an Italian restaurant, a Japanese restaurant by the pool with a large pool, where you can eat light meal and you can drink cocktails, beers, soft drinks and all kinds of alcoholic beverages. For children have a very large mini club, I recommend going with children. People looking for a kind of holiday with many people, with music, discotheques, casinos do not go to this hotel but if you want tranquility, nature, relaxation, this is your hotel. The welcome and farewell are forever remember. We took a pleasant memory of this hotel. We were in Eastern holidays.

Room Tip: The rooms are spectacular in the water, but if I possibly choose this wonderful hotel and room on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick E, Manager at Anantara Dhigu Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Xagiri,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience on trip advisor with other travellers.

You are absolutely right, we welcome all of our valued guests with a cultural Maldivian ‘Bodu-Beru’ performance and we receive a lot of great feedbacks from our guests.

It is very pleasing to read that you enjoyed the service offered at our water sport center ‘Aquafanatics’, as well as at our Kids Club. Personalized service is of great importance to Anantara, and we invest heavily into training to ensure every guest feels special.

Thank you for taking the time to appreciate this service. Your feedback has been shared across the whole team, who are equally delighted to have received such positive comments.

Each Anantara Hotel and Resort draws its strength from the rich cultural traditions, historic heritage and natural beauty of its destination. As such, every experience is a unique voyage of discovery and inspiration that is distinctly Anantara.

All of us are looking forward to have the opportunity of welcoming you and your family again in the near future at our paradise island Anantara Dhigu Maldives.

Warm regards,

Patrick Eggebrecht
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We are family of 3 welcomed by Anantara team after we arrived Male airport today (5th - 8th June 2014). They certainly knows how to treat us right, and understand our needs, we could feel the passion from their eyes. Through visit of the island, we decided to upgrade our room from sunrise to sunset overwater resort (room 112).
We will definitely visit here again.

Thank you Anantara.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick E, Manager at Anantara Dhigu Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Xun X,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your stay at Anantara Dhigu Maldives. It's a real pleasure to read your comment.

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our hosibitality right from the start of your arrival at our airport lounge, which is a great place to rest, after a long flight. Complimentary refreshing soft drinks, Free Wi-Fi internet access and Ipad’s to use, while waiting for the boat transfer is a fantastic start of your holidays on the Maldives!

Thank you once again for your lovely words! All of us are looking forward to welcome you soon again!

Patrick Eggebrecht
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We spend our honeymoon at The resort, in an overwater room, and it has been unforgetable!! The maldives are just incredible its a unique place in The world. The resort is The luxuries hotel we have never been. The staff are so polite and The most kindfull persons we have ever meet in a hotel. In special our room boy Mahir. He treat us so well and make us feel like home. He is also very friendly and you can talk with him about everything you want. We are so thankfull with him. If you are thinking of spending some times at The Maldives this The hotel you are looking for.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick E, Manager at Anantara Dhigu Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear JorgeConde,

Thank you very much for your lovely words. We are very grateful, that you have shared your experience with other travellers here on trip advisor and that our effort has contributed to the success of your well-deserved vacation.


The voice of our guests is extremely valuable to us and serves as tool to implement improvements and enhancements throughout the resort and our service culture.

‘Anantara’ The word in Sanskrit means "without end" and evokes the freedom, movement and harmony that are the spirit of the Anantara Experience. Each Anantara Hotel and Resort draws its strength from the rich cultural traditions, historic heritage and natural beauty of its destination.

As such, every experience is a unique voyage of discovery and inspiration that is distinctly Anantara.

Rest assured, we will share your lovely words with our team, especially with Mahir from the housekeeping team.

On behalf of all the team members we all look forward to having the privilege of welcoming you back once again.

Best regards,

Patrick Eggebrecht
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Cannot recommend this hotel enough! The Anantara brand surpasses the highest of expectations yet again.

Incredible location with the added of bonus of offering three different hotels on different sides of the lagoon. Immaculate presentation, everything very clean and polished, even the beaches are raked smooth! Wonderful attention to detail. Very stylish and chic.

Huge rooms. We stayed in a Sunset over Water suite - we imagine any of the other rooms would be equally perfect. Emphasis on privacy and tranquillity. We stayed four nights but it felt as relaxing as two weeks. Lovely atmosphere. Couples and also families with children clearly appreciating it as much as us.

Great restaurants, including the various choices at the other hotels (very special having a gentle 3 minute boatride direct to your dining table). Excellent aquatic centre with every wind or engine powered toy one can think of, plus of course the world-class diving. And the spa is dangerously good - probably the finest one we have been to in Asia.

Best aspect - the management and staff. They could not have been more welcoming, friendly and attentive to every need. Very happy people and they clearly love their roles (who wouldn't!).

It's a special occasion place. Trip of a lifetime but you would want to revisit again and again. Enjoy.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick E, Manager at Anantara Dhigu Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear pandainsingers,

Thank you very much for your kind words. We are very happy, that our team played a key role on the success of your holiday.

The underwater world on the Maldives is beautiful! It is amazing what you can discover in the water, even if you watch the scenario from the beach, or like you from your Over Water villa. Good to see, that you have done some water sport activities with our ‘Aquafanatics’ team! Brilliant!

Maldives is well known as a unique destination for watersports such as diving, snorkeling, swimming, Jet skiing or Parasailing and our Watersport Center ‘Aquafanatics’ is offering a wide range of different fun sport activities!

Our resort is the perfect destination for families, travelling with their kids, as well as for couples or single travellers, looking for privacy. As we are 3 connected resorts ( Anantara Dhigu, Anantara Veli and Naladhu Maldives ) there are so many areas and places to discover.

Thank you so very much for highlighting your visit at the Spa! Surely you know, our Spa operates 24 hours and our professional therapists are amazing.

We receive a lot of positive feedback about our 2 Spa’s ( Anantara Dhigu Overwater Spa & Anantara Veli Spa ). Especially our Over Water Spa is worth more than one visit! Watching the fishes, while receiving a treatment from one of our professional therapists is so relaxing and peaceful! Hope, you have tried our Anantara signature massage for couples?

Intoxicating aromas of the world's most exotic elixirs and oils are used in treatments designed to deliver radiance, healing and a quiet sense of inner and outer well-being. Life is beautiful!

Thank you once again for your lovely words! All of us are looking forward to welcome you soon again!

Sunny regards,

Patrick Eggebrecht
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

I had been dreaming of going to The Maldives for years and finally got the opportunity to travel halfway around the world on a once in a lifetime trip: our honeymoon! Although there are hundreds of beautiful hotels in The Maldives, we knew we wanted to stay in an overwater bungalow, but didn't want to pay $1,500 a night. Therefore, we chose the Anatara Dhigu for our honeymoon and am so glad we did! Our overwater bungalow was decorated in traditional Maldivian decor and we loved the free bicycles that the hotel lets their guests check out to ride around on the small island. One of the funniest things about our bungalow was the placement of the glass window on the floor of our overwater bungalow. It was literally right below the toilet, but luckily we never saw any swimmers through that window in the floor! The brunch was absolutely amazing and offered every imaginable food from around the world. From sushi to fried rice to crepes, fresh fruit, pastries and omelettes, there was such a large selection of different foods representing all the tastes of their global guests. We loved the infinity pool and even walked out to their beautiful hammock that sits in the middle of the ocean. The spa was pure relaxation and I loved the glass floor below the massage table so that I could watch the beautiful marine life as all the wedding stress was kneaded away. We met some wonderful friends at the resort and one day, I hope we can go back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick E, Manager at Anantara Dhigu Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear 5_Star_Holly,

Thank you so much for your comment. We are delighted, that our resort has contributed towards your Anantara experience. This will certainly give an insight to our future guests as to what they can expect from us.

All our luxury Beach Villas and the Over Water Villas are equipped with a lot of nice amenities, such as free Wifi-Internet, outdoor terrace, flat-screen TV with international channels, Minibar as well as coffee makers. And yes, our bath rooms are a real WOW factor for our guests.

Thank you very much, for highlighting your dining experience! We have already shared your positive words with our culinary team.

We look forward to welcoming you back again on our paradise island and thank you once again for posting your holiday experience as this really does mean a lot for the team.

Best regards from all of us,

Patrick Eggebrecht
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We celebrated our honeymoon at this resort, we had an amazing time at the resort, we stayed at the over water pool villa , one of the two that is the farthest away from the island . Everything about the trip was amazing, the view is breathtaking and all the meals we had at different restaurant were delicious. The staff always smile and ready to help you in what ever you requested them. All the meals we had was very good, On arrival we had dinner at the Fuddan Fusion Grill, the lobster on the salted bricks was very good, and the next day we had lunch at the Thai restuarant at the ANANTARA VELI side , the food has an authentic Thai taste . For dinner we dine at the Terrazzo the Italian restaurant which was amazing as well. This is one of the reason i choose the resort because of the varieties of dinning option i have which doesn't make me bored, they do have the Japanese restaurant as well, but while we were there the restaurant was closed .

We were there during July 2011 .. The review dates doesn't allow us to select that period.

Room Tip: There are only Two Anantara Over Water Pool Suite, try booked that room we had amazing time staying...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick E, Manager at Anantara Dhigu Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Goldy_an,

Thank you so very much for your comment. Although your stay was in 2011, we really appreciate your words and are delighted, that you have enjoyed you time at Anantara Dhigu.

Especially the view of our luxury Over Water Villas is breathtaking, but the other rooms ( Beach Villa’s with Sunset view or Beach Villa’s with Sunrise view ) are a great choice as well.

Each of our Anantara Resorts draws its strength from the rich cultural traditions, historic heritage and natural beauty of its destination. As such, every experience is a unique voyage of discovery and inspiration that is distinctly Anantara.

Our new Japanese Restaurant ‘Origami’ is open now and we receive a lot of positive comments from our guests.

You also have to try our Spa, once you are back! An idyllic retreat amongst azure waters and sweeping horizons are the backdrop for Anantara Spa at Anantara Resort Maldives. Escape the cares of everyday with indigenously inspired luxury treatments for your body and soul.

All of us are looking forward to welcome you again on your paradise island!

Best regards,

Patrick Eggebrecht
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anantara Dhigu Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Dhigu Resort & Spa

Address: 2014
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > South Male Atoll > Dhigufinolhu Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Dhigufinolhu Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Dhigu Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An idyllic tropical island paradise set in the South Male Atoll, just half an hour from Male international Airport, Anantara offers the Maldives resort experience you've only dreamt about, with two lush islands, Dhigufinolhu and Veligandu Huraa. Unwind on endless white sand beaches, palm-fringed islands and pristine coral reefs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Minor Hotel Group Limited, Booking.com, Splendia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Anantara Dhigu Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Dhigu Resort And Spa
Anantara Dhigu Hotel South Male Atoll
Anantara Resort Maldives
Anantara Maldives
Anantara Hotel Maldives

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anantara Dhigu Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.