We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They should take a Nobel prize for service and friendliness :)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anantara Dhigu Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Anantara Dhigu Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Anantara Dhigu Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Dhigufinolhu, 2014   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Last Minute 20% off!
Medina, Saudi Arabia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“They should take a Nobel prize for service and friendliness :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

i went to Maldives on the 5th of October till 9th for as a honeymooners , and it was my first time to Maldives ,,

everything was super from A to Z , beginning of the great reception we had at the airport and the nice boat trip to the luxurious Anantara with the warm welcome and souvenir picture we had

we stayed at a sunset over-water villa and it was lovely , service overall was great in all aspects

i recommend it and planning to get back soon

Room Tip: sunset villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle K, Resort Manager at Anantara Dhigu Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear blast1825,

Thank you for sharing your excellent review.

We are indeed delighted you had a truly memorable honeymoon stay with us in the Maldives. It is great to hear you enjoyed our lovely sunset over water suite and most importantly, you have received great service from our team.

Please do display our little souvenir for you where you could see it to remind you of a return trip to Anantara Maldives as we definitely look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Once again, thank you for your excellent review and kind recommendation.

Yours sincerely,
Michelle Kam
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

863 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    662
    139
    34
    20
    8
See reviews for
246
481
8
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bratislava
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We've stayed in overwater bungalow - it was amazing..big,spacious and you will love the open bath. Whole island is "shoe-less" friendly. Staff in dive center is very helpful and experienced.
Unfortunately the corals in house reef are not in the best condition.

Room Tip: Ask for over water bungalow on the west side
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle K, Resort Manager at Anantara Dhigu Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Stan V,

Thank you for taking the time to share your amazing stay experience with us.

We are delighted you have enjoyed our spacious and lovely over water suite on this beautiful island. Most of our guests does enjoy going around shoe-less and we do have foot wash pot around the resort.

It is great to hear you have enjoyed the activities and great services with our water sports centre Aquafanatics.

Thank you once again for your wonderful feedback. We hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Michelle Kam
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Let me start with the good part ist...the sea is nice n blue as the rest of Maldives.but it's no big deal as I believe most hotel wil hve similar environment.
It's the service that's lacking in consistency...i hve been check in by a mainland Chinese reception called Sarah.her attitude for the start was not very warm n enthusiastic...no information was given with regards to the hotel restaurant n fasciitis or wats so ever.
Secondly on the second day,I ask her wats my departure time by ferry going to be like?do I get to choose my timing or is there a fixed ferry schedule?the answer is just a blatantly probably 113oam n we will sent u a memo one day prior to departure .i do not blame her cos this sort of response is common in mainland china n wil not get a big response from the mainland Chinese but as a member of the international community..u be the judge if it's acceptable?!(no discrimination cos I am a Chinese descent.)
Is this a 5 star hotel service where guest do not have a clue?anantara dhigu doesn't require their staff to use international acceptable words like please,may I ,certainly n thank u?
To be fair,I have an excellent time at 73degrees cafe . their manager Zara n their team.impeccable n professional is the word I wil describe them.they really go out of their way to make make my day.
The Maldivian cleaners,boat man,room service n dare I say everyone is trying their best to make this hotel a success....sadly,Sarah has indeed left a sour note in my mouth.as I am writing this,the memo has not yet arrive n I suppose I either have to start asking again or keep myself in suspense abt my check out.
I believe that there are a lot of mainland Chinese in this hotel tats y they have a mainland Chinese staff to cater to their style of behavior n sophistication .if u are a Chinese like me but from Hong Kong,Singapore ,Taiwan n etc,,I advise u to reconsider Cos they wil probably label u the same.they can't tell that if we are traveling individually or as a mainland Chinese group.
A good guide line in choosing a hotel will be seeing how the management respond to bad comments...if the response is like thank u for feedback n May I assist u personally when u come back to our hotel or group then u roughly know how personalized their service is.
Something is indeed very wrong with unhappy people in a happy place.
If u like to stay in a Maldivian paradise away from those mainland group then probably this isn't the place for u but if u do like eat fast,walk fast n do everything fast then go for this hotel! Unbelievable88

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle K, Resort Manager at Anantara Dhigu Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Unbelievable88,

Thank you for sharing with us feedback on your recent stay.

Firstly, our sincere apologies in regards to your experience with lack of service consistency and not being provided with sufficient information on our restaurants and facilities.

Pertaining to your inquiry of boat departure time not appropriately attended to, once again we feel deeply apologetic. We have checked and found out the reason the departure information letter was not delivered was due to privacy requested sign at your door. Nevertheless, corrective step has been taken to avoid reoccurrence of similar incident.

Your special mention of Zara and his team of our 73 degrees restaurant is highly appreciated and we are glad you had a wonderful dining experience here especially.

Rest assured that we do have a clear understanding of our guests’ origin with the passport information obtained upon arrival and we strive to provide all our guests with the same level of services.

Once again, our sincere apologies for not being able to meet your expectations. We are committed as always to improve our guest experiences and hope that in the future we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Anantara Maldives.

Yours sincerely,
Michelle Kam
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Just back from a fabulous stay at Anantara Dhigu. This was just the best vacation we could have to bring on our 5th Anniversary and our son's first vacation. Everything from the time we stepped out of the Airport was excellent. We did not have to wait even 5 minutes for our speedboat transfer. The crew was extremely understanding as our toddler son clearly looked tensed taking the ride. The welcome at the hotel was truly sweet. All the staffs were incredibly helpful giving us a detailed explanation for our stay with them. The room was very comfortable and a special thanks to our room boy Mahzoom who kept our room so welcoming every time we came back. We were a little skeptical about our son in a new surrounding but he enjoyed every day to the max. Also, our special thanks to the Kids Club sweethearts Innu and Aisha. They kept our son busy with loads of activities. Food was also a good mix of different cuisines to try out. All the Restaurant staff take personal care of each guest making everybody feel special. Our fussy eater son was also spoilt for options. The best thing was the option of exploring and eating at Velli and Dhigu. At the restaurant also a special thanks to Chef Dinen, Tross, Abhilash, Bobby, Santhosh and all the other staff whose name I cant remember. We truly had the best time and would love to go back to this resort again. There isnt one bad thing we encountered that I can recall. Hats off to Team Anantara Dhigu, you guys just make your guests feel so special and loved.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle K, Resort Manager at Anantara Dhigu Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Anu_ta31,

Thank you for your fabulous review.

It is indeed a pleasure to hear of your great vacation with us while celebrating your 5th anniversary and your son’s first vacation, and you would love to return to our resort again. We are glad that the loads of activities in our Kids Club kept your son entertained and happy too.

Having the options to dine in any of the restaurants between Dhigu and Veli is one of the pluses of staying with Anantara Maldives. We are delighted you have enjoyed your dining experience with us, with our varieties and good mix of cuisines.

Your words of appreciation for our team mean a great deal to us all and we have shared your review with all concerned with special mention to Mahzoom, Innu, Aisha, Chef Dinen, Tross, Abhilash, Bobby and Santhosh.

Once again, thank you for your fabulous review. We look forward to welcoming the family back soon to Anantara Dhigu again.

Yours sincerely,
Michelle Kam
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I came to this hotel for my honeymoon and enjoyed every moment I spent here. The overwater room was amazing. The staff were very friendly and understandable. We received a Champaign bottle when we arrived with a fruit basket however we do not drink alcohol so they replaced it with a yummy sparkling date juice from Bateel. We tried the snorkelling and parasailing trips which were amazing. The breakfast was so good with a huge variety including waffle/pancake station, eggs station, asian food station, fresh fruits were cut upon request. They had a beach guru that had a fridge with coconuts and we would get coconut drinks everyday. I tried the spa for a 2 hour rejuvenation session and enjoyed every minute of it. when you open the door you enter the living room and on your left is the bedroom. as you enter the room you will see a door looking outside on the sea. on the left side of the room there is another door that opens up to a corridor that then takes you to the bathroom. in the bathroom you will have a toilet, stand shower, and bathtub. you can showering while looking at the sea, you can relax in the tub and look outside the window to the sea or the toilet with the sea under you. if you want to have a romantic dinner setup please ask them to have it in a very private area because ours was at sunset by the pool which ruined the mood; however, when we complained the setup fee was cancelled and we only paid for our dinner.


I recommend this hotel to anyone who doesn't want to take a water plane, wants to have a great time in an amazing hotel.

Room Tip: rooms on the sunset side are more private where as the rooms on the sunrise side faced the aquatics...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle K, Resort Manager at Anantara Dhigu Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Orchidazzle,

Thank you for your wonderful review.

We are most pleased you had the most memorable honeymoon stay with us at Anantara Maldives in one of our spacious and lovely Over Water Suites.

I am glad you enjoyed our huge varieties of breakfast spread and the refreshing coconuts from our beach guru to quench your thirst in the afternoon heat of the Maldives.

Please accept our sincere apologies again on the lack of privacy at the sunset beach. Our sunset beach is indeed one of the most favored guests spot especially during beautiful sunset evenings. We do have a few options designed for our guests whom prefer privacy and one of them is Gulhi Fushi, a small private island nearby which we can set-up to give you romantic as well as the most private dinner experience.

Our Anantara Over Water Spa is definitely an experience worth indulging as our therapists work wonders to sooth away tiredness with a wide range of massages.

We are truly appreciative to you for sharing your wonderful stay experience with us and your kind recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Michelle Kam
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Me and my husband went here for our honeymoon in February and we completely loved this place. We divided our stay between dhigu and veli and we were there for about 8 days. There was something or the other going on everyday such as an international food fest where you can cook with the chefs, or mojito night or a live band. One day we had a couples night where we were invited for some champagne and cupcakes.

Dhigu is more quiet and meant for honeymooners while Veli is kid friendly and more lively. The service overall was excellent, the resort is dreamy and gorgeous. We rented a beach villa in both the resorts and we loved it. Breakfast is really good. Huge variety. Couples massage was awesome.

Overall loved this trip. Couldn't have had a better honeymoon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle K, Resort Manager at Anantara Dhigu Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear AnkitaMi,

Thank you for your wonderful review.

We are most pleased you and your husband had a memorable and dreamy honeymoon stay with us at Anantara Maldives.

Both Dhigu and Veli are equally beautiful islands with its own distinct setting and ambiance. Dhigu is very children friendly and Veli are well known to honeymoon couples.

It is great to know that you have enjoyed the wide range of dining facilities and services of both islands as well as our awesome couple massage.

Once again, thank you for your excellent feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Michelle Kam
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

My husband and I has visited Anantara Dhigu in April this year (2013) and were so blown away by the beauty of the islands, the hospitality of the Anantara team and the luxury of the resort, that we went back there in September of the same year!!

We stayed at the Sunset Pool Villa in April and in the Over Water Pool Villa in September...and we still can't decide which one is better. Both villas have their own pools, which is a huge advantage in itself... The layout of both is great - there is a lot of room to move about, unlike other hotels which literally only contain a bed. There is a lot of sitting and storage space and the bathrooms are incredible. The Sunset pool villa has a fun outdoor shower and a nice big tub; the Over water pool villa has the same huge tub (which opens up onto the beautiful lagoon), his and her sinks and a small glass tile in the floor which gives you a view of the ocean while you're doing your business.

The deck of the over water Villa is just out of this world. It's private and has a great view of the lagoon and majestic stingrays that swim by so often. There is a stairway that takes you straight into the ocean and you can swim or snorkel to the nearby 'Picnic Island' - Gulifushi, when the tide is low.

The Aquafanatics team at Anantara is very helpful, friendly and cooperative. You can rent snorkelling equipment free of charge for the duration of your stay and kayaks can also be rented free of charge for 2 hours. We went on a sunset fishing tour and a snorkelling tour - both of which were very enjoyable, to say the least. The crew on board is also super helpful and makes sure that nobody gets left behind - even if you are a slow swimmer...there is constantly a staff member looking out for you.

One of the biggest advantages of staying at Anantara, is that you can hop over on a pontoon to the other two islands - Veli and Naladu - at any time of the day. Maybe for a change of scene, a bit of in-house snorkelling, a dip in either of the pools, a meal at the famous Thai restaurant Baan Huraa or even for a slightly different Breakfast Buffet.

The remarkably friendly and helpful staff take such good care of you and genuinely take in every bit of feedback. A beautiful place, an amazing resort and absolutely incredible staff.

We're already planning our next trip!!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle K, Resort Manager at Anantara Dhigu Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Sana M,

Thank you for your excellent review.

We are most delighted you and your husband had an absolutely wonderful stay with us again. We appreciate having you staying with us again for the second time this year.

Both our Sunset Pool Villa and Anantara Over Water Pool Suite are equally great with its own respective advantages and delights.

We are pleased that throughout your stay our team of associates has been attentive in ensuring you have both enjoyable and comfortable stay. It is great to know you have enjoyed your sunset fishing tour and snorkeling trip with our Aquafanatics colleagues.

We highly appreciate that you are already planning for your next trip. We certainly look forward to welcoming you and your husband back again soon.

Yours sincerely,
Michelle Kam
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anantara Dhigu Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Dhigu Resort & Spa

Address: Dhigufinolhu, 2014
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > South Male Atoll > Dhigufinolhu Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dhigufinolhu Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Dhigu Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An idyllic tropical island paradise set in the South Male Atoll, just half an hour from Male international Airport, Anantara offers the Maldives resort experience you've only dreamt about, with two lush islands, Dhigufinolhu and Veligandu Huraa. Unwind on endless white sand beaches, palm-fringed islands and pristine coral reefs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Escapio, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Anantara Dhigu Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Dhigu Resort And Spa
Anantara Dhigu Hotel South Male Atoll
Anantara Resort Maldives
Anantara Maldives
Anantara Hotel Maldives

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anantara Dhigu Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.