We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A vacation of a lifetime. Heaven is one word to describe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anantara Dhigu Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Anantara Dhigu Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Anantara Dhigu Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   2014   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay Longer up to 30%off!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A vacation of a lifetime. Heaven is one word to describe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Me and my wife just returned from short break from Anantara Dhigu. We had experienced a vacation that we'll never forget. Start from arrival in Male city, we can easily spotted Anantara reception office right after coming out from arrival gate. Their reception office is cool and beautifully decorated. We been served with cold juice and nice sofa to relax while waiting for our speedboat to be ready. Here we already experience the warm service from Anantara staffs. They are attentive and nice. Our speedboat is once of the luxury/newer type. We been given cold towels and cold drinks to start our boat journey.

Once we arrive in their resort, we couldn't believe what we saw; beautiful turquoise waters, beautiful long shallow water, beautiful resorts and a breathtaking view. Our arrival is welcomed by a drum beat and their residence manager, Matthew. He welcomed us with warm greetings and so are their staffs. Our check in is a breeze and we straight away transferred to our water villa.

Once we step onto their water villa area, we still in awe. The seawater, water villa and sea view is breathtaking. We couldn't believe our eyes that this place is so beautiful. We been escorted into our water villa, again still in awe of their decor and atmosphere/feeling of the water villa. Once their staff opens the balcony, our jaw dropped. Wooden deck, with table and pool chair and the highlight: stairs straight to the lagoon. Oh my god the water just so clear! Their bathroom is beautifully decorated with large bath tub with window of the lagoon. I think April is the best time to visit Maldives as it is the hottest month and sun is clearly visible that made the seawater so beautiful.

Food is above average, with most menu cater to western dishes. We would like to see more local, Maldivian food.

And yes it's expensive. Food, excursion and spa is expensive. But we already expect this before deciding on coming. I guess everywhere in Maldives is expensive so this normal. 2 plus thing is you don't have to pay for SeaPlane transfers as the island is just 30mins from Male and accessible via speedboat. You able to be transferred to the resort even you arrive late night.

We checked out with part of us left there in the island and resort. We been to number of luxury resort in Asia, but Maldives and Anantara Dhigu is one of a kind. A truly memorable vacation. A Heaven.

Room Tip: Get the Sunrise Water villa if you have the budget. Get the most further for utmost privacy. Got bud...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mfryar, Manager at Anantara Dhigu Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear apisgogo,

Thank you for taking the time to share your memorable experience with us!

It was great to meet you both during your stay and we are delighted to see that our resort & team has left an indelible impression on you.

We all look forward in welcoming you back to Anantara Dhigu in the near future.

Warm regards

Matthew Fryar
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

997 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    766
    162
    38
    23
    8
See reviews for
304
542
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I love this resort as I booked for 3 villa at the beach. We were at 6 adults and 6 kids. Resort is great. Thai food is the best among all. Love swimming pools and spa. Kid club staffs are very helpful. Warm greeting and goodbye staffs are very helpful to guid direction back to airport. We are Thai and we love anatara We took all photos and all friends want to come as well. Thank you for all staffs to have us here. We stay at villa 23 24. 25 on April 13 to 17 Love all. Ratchaphon. Janechokpinyo

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mfryar, Manager at Anantara Dhigu Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Janechokpinyo,

Sunny greetings from Anantara Dhigu!

It was wonderful to have your family stay with us recently and are delighted to read you have enjoyed the resort to its fullest. Your special mention of our Baan Huraa & Kids Club teams is greatly appreciated and on their behalf I thank you.

We hope to see you all back in the not too distant future her with us in the Maldives.

Warm regards

Matthew Fryar
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
switz
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We have just returned from 2 weeks at Dhigu with our 2 children (14&11). We had the most amazing time, the staff were incredibley attentive and friendly - nothing was a problem.

The food was exceptional and a huge highlight for us - ranging from the various buffets to the Thai, Japanese and seafood Grill, the standards were always high. Our room was very spacious and tastefully decorated, the viewing window beneath the toilet kept everyone entertained! The attention to detail was second to none, every time we returned to our room it had been tidied and sprayed with delicious lemongrass.

We spent mornings and afternoons snorkelling on the house reef. A very special time was had on the small "desert island" where we drank fresh coconut and enjoyed a picnic while a pod of 100 dolphins swam past.

We all took our PADI scuba certificates - the staff at the Aquafanatics were very professional, accommodating and our instructor made everyone feel so at ease. It was the best family holiday we have spent together and we were genuinely sad to leave.

Room Tip: We changed from a sunrise to a sunset overwater villa which we highly recommend - the sunsets were i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tbilisi, Georgia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I honestly cannot say enough about this resort. Heaven on earth is an understatement, It was by far the nicest place I have ever been. I came to this resort as a day guest. I was staying on a local island and decided to splurge ( hey it's the Maldives) and pay the $178 to go for the day. The neat thing about it is that you get to use the $178 as credit to use during your time at the hotel. During the two days ( okay you caught me...one wasn't enough. Had I gone at the beginning of my trip I probably could have talked myself into going every day) I used my credit for an amazing buffet lunch each day, drinks at the swim up bar, parasailing, and a white coconut essence wrap at the spa. You can see why I didn't want to leave. They also had diving, jet skis, wake boarding etc. keep in mind that the "in house" guests are first come first served so things fill up quickly. They also have free kayaks and snorkel equipment you can use and a little uninhabited island you can paddle over too. The Anantara is made up of 3 resorts...two 5 star and one 7 star that is private. You can use all the facilities at both of the five stars. They are both very nice, and I have saved the best for last. The pool is AMAZING! Infinity pool looking over the Indian Ocean...breathtaking. And then......the ocean. The ocean is crystal clear. You can see your toes. And if you swim out a bit you get to a sand bar with a hammock just hanging out in the middle of the ocean. An amazing photo opp and super relaxing, If you can't tell from my review...I will be going back! Maybe next time I will be able to afford one of the water villas where I can walk into the ocean. Ohh and as I said...I didn't stay there but I did ask to see one of the rooms. We looked at one of the family rooms with its own pool and outdoor bathroom, vaulted ceilings, bar...yah I would have kids just to stay there

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We got there at night, and getting there and check in was pretty easy and fast. Good for tired travellers who have been in transit for about 8 hours.

Room was excellent - high ceilings, design features were great and the back door opened out onto the beach. There were no ants in the actual room (some in the outdoor bathroom) and rarely were there mosquitoes. Bed was good and big (bigger than most hotels), they had an adaptor ready for us and they were very abundant with water. Another huge plus was the yoga mat in the room as that helped me do my workouts.

Outdoor bathroom was nice. We appreciated that while it was an outdoor bathroom, there was still a ceiling (unlike at the Condrad where it got to be too hot - and we can just imagine how it was if it rained). The tub was huge but not too big. We ended up using the tub daily while we were there - it was that great!

One thing I should warn you about - we got "gassed" with mosquito gas one Wed afternoon whilst we were in the tub. No one warned us about that spray so we kinda panicked until we figured out what it was (and then we ended up holding our breaths until the smoke cleared). Would have been warned that they were fumigating that day so we stayed indoors.

Buffet breakfast was great save for the fact that if you get there at about 9am, it gets really crowded with families. If you can, try their sliced tomatoes with their salad - I ended up eating salad daily as it was really fresh (and the tomatoes were really juicy).

We got a buffet dinner at the other Anantara island - it was a bit of a disappointment. The food was so - so + you had to pay for water to drink during the buffet. So if you're on a budget, bring water from the room to save on a few dollars or wait until you get to the room to drink :)

All the staff were very accomodating and nice. It was great that the managers were the ones who sent us off when we were leaving. They even take the time to really talk to the guests and ask how they are. The resto staff were very helpful and accomodating as well.

We also got to see a lot of great creatures. My tip is for you to go out at sunrise and walk around the beach and the over water villas. We got to see black tip reef sharks early in the day and large manta rays just by the shore. It's also great that the pool is open 24 hours so you can just jump in any time.

Overall, Anantara Dhigu was a good first stop. However, apart from the great stuff I mentioned, they should add little touches to all the rooms (not just a few) such as decorating towels (some rooms had folded towel animals). Also would have been great if they could have given some fresh fruit in the room or informed us of happy hour (didn't even know if they had it). Also a usual given for high-end resorts is that the non-motorized sports equipment (kayak, paddle boards, snorkles, etc) are free. We were surprised to find out that we had to pay $50 USD to use the paddleboard for 45 mins + 15 min lesson.

We are already considering Anantara again as a holiday destination next year but hopefully by then we can see some minor changes :) Overall, very well done to the Anantara staff for a smooth and almost stress free holiday.

Room Tip: If you like quiet waters request for a sunrise room - in front of the lagoon. The sunset rooms have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Every was perfect ! Only things bad here is the food ! So expensive and it not worth , taste normal only ! Others than that... All was perfect ! over water villa must try here ....beach villa normal only ....!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melb, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

This was our first trip to the Maldives, and we have travelled a lot so we chose the Maldives as the final destination on our honeymoon to end it on a romantic and special note - and what a great choice we made!!! With SO many hotels in the Maldives to choose from, it was a hard choice from websites and brochures from the quiet of our loungeroom, but this hotel stood out and we liked the pricing and the option that you have three restaurants at Dhigu, and can get a boat to Veli ( another Anantara resort 2 mins away by a small boat) to have a further three restaurants to choose to dine at at night, along with another cocktail bar choice too!

Upon arrival, there were drums, greeting party, cold towels and cold drinks.
We were immediately escorted to our overwater bungalow - Sunset villa! It was ready for our arrival, and we didn't have to wait - which is a welcome relief compared to most hotels that we arrive at.
Our room was amazing! it was large, comfortable, air-conditioned, and well appointend and decorated! However, the piece de resistance was the view, and sweeping french doors opening onto a LARGE deck with it's own outside shower and daybeds and table/chairs with steps leading down to the most turquoise water that was about waist deep, and upon our arrival a stingray glided past below us!!!
WE got snorkels, masks and fins and were immediately in the water meeting the fish, baby reef sharks, stingrays and all the other creatures swimming past our villa, then back up on the deck and enjoying cold drinks on our private deck watching the sun go down - a pretty great first 3 hours in a new hotel - in the Maldives!

Overall - this hotel is extremely well done - perfectly groomed grounds, which still look natural, but are all in the nature of a tropical paradise island that you'd expect in the Maldives. All overwater bungalows are private and no-one else can see you on your deck. Everything has been thought of in your rooms, from peepholes below the toilet down into the water so you can watch for fish swimming past, to big showers and a massive sunken bath that overlooks the water. An entry area with full fridge and amenities, great tv system, and the cocktail bar and pool area was all well maintained and exceptional service!
There were also beach villas, whcih we didn't go inside of any - but i think that next time we stay, we'd probably give them a go.....
The three restaurants on our island ( Dhigu) were great - good food and pricing in USD so you just put it to your bill of the room.. No cash needed. We were pleasantly surprised that the prices of wine/food/dinner wasn't as expensive as what we expected - so that was great!!!!
And the restaurants at Veli were also enjoyable, and again - both resorts' restaurants are set with romantic ambience, lanterns, candles and set around the water or the beach. Definitely lovely experiences dining in any of these at either resort!

We walked around the whole island in about 10 mins, and we enjoyed days by the inifinity pool overlooking the beach/water, and on our deck swimming in the ocean below our villa!
We also did heaps of snorkelling, but should have taken a canoe around the island to check out other small atolls that we could have snorkelled to - Next time!!
Overall - an exceptional hotel that is definitely catering to what guests need when they are staying here with everything thought of in fine detail.

But one negative note - the breakfast buffet is CHAOS in the mornings and not really a relaxing experience. It was a full hotel so perhaps with all of the kids and families/couples it was just the timing that we went to breakfast that everyone was there at the same time and it was very busy!
But to chef cooking the bacon/eggs - you were great! the hardest working man on the island, with great personality and a smile for every customer!!!

But overall - we can't fault this hotel- and really appreciated the late check out as we weren't flying out until 10pm - so thankyou to the reception staff for pulling that together for us!
We'll be saving to come back for sure!!! (Maybe for our one year anniversary?!?!!?)...

Room Tip: Definitely ask for an overwater SUNSET Villa - it was luxurious and private and so enjoyable!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anantara Dhigu Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Dhigu Resort & Spa

Address: 2014
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > South Male Atoll > Dhigufinolhu Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dhigufinolhu Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Dhigu Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An idyllic tropical island paradise set in the South Male Atoll, just half an hour from Male international Airport, Anantara offers the Maldives resort experience you've only dreamt about, with two lush islands, Dhigufinolhu and Veligandu Huraa. Unwind on endless white sand beaches, palm-fringed islands and pristine coral reefs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Minor Hotel Group Limited, Agoda, Orbitz, Splendia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Anantara Dhigu Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Dhigu Resort And Spa
Anantara Dhigu Hotel South Male Atoll
Anantara Resort Maldives
Anantara Maldives
Anantara Hotel Maldives

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anantara Dhigu Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.