We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ty-Nadan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ty-Nadan to your Saves list
Ty-Nadan
4.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Route d'Arzano, 29310 Locunole, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Koto-ku, Tokyo, Japan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

This is a great campsite for the active family. Clean and well-laid out site hugging the banks of the free flowing L'Elle river, good range of swimming pools (including one indoors), canoeing, horse riding and an adjacent zip wire and adventure park, plus an undercover badminton and table tennis area meant we were kept busy all week. And though the helpful staff speak English, this is not your typical little Britain campsite. Use the e.leclerc hypermarket in neighbouring Quimperle for your shopping.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ty-Nadan, Responsable relations clients at Ty-Nadan, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for spending your time to give us feedback.
The satisfaction of our guests has highest priority and we are pleased that you spent a lovely time on our campsite.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    50
    30
    15
    8
See reviews for
120
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Watford, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed in a 2 bed Keycamp chalet with decking for 11 nights to 24th August. The chalets are small but perfectly adequate and fairly well equipped for a family of four - however, I wouldn't have wanted to have the maximum occupancy of 7 in there!
The site was beautiful and, although it was very nearly full most of the time, never seemed to be crowded. The activities are great and, I think, reasonably priced, especially the Adventure Park and zipwires. The staff were all very friendly and helpful from the Keycamp couriers to the activity and reception staff. The takeaway was very hit and miss - the pizzas were fine but most of the food was cold and needed to be reheated. The restaurant was a revelation! We avoided it for the first few days as it looked really scruffy and the prices were very high. Then, a French couple told us that the food was excellent so we gave it a try and, voila, a truly delicious and beautifully presented meal!
The evening entertainment was rather mixed - a couple of great rock covers bands, awful karaoke, interesting, traditional Bretagne music.
The region is beautiful and can recommend the beach at Fort Bloque for surfing or body boarding (though you should check the tides) or Le Pouldu for families with young children. A free destination is the Roches Diablo, only a short drive away and well worth the effort - take a picnic! Concarneau, Port Louis and Carnac are all within about an hours drive.
My niggles are a) The laundry - facilities are not good or especially clean - only one tumble dryer was available, signage is non-existent on how to use the machines and it was very expensive - more than 8 euros for washing and (not quite) drying of one load; b) They charge an extortionate amount for Wifi which is free in so many places these days - if you need to, use the free Wifi in the large supermarkets whilst you shop; c) There seems to be little, if any, supervision of the site in the evening and some kids and teens were quite badly behaved in the public areas.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ty-Nadan, Responsable relations clients at Ty-Nadan, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Your many positive comments are really appreciated and thank you for taking time out to make them.
We take every criticism seriously and we will report the problem at the laundry.
We have 3 security guards on the site at night and in case of noise during the night, especially from teenagers, we always meet the parents to tell them and to remember the campsite rules.
I hope you reported the problem with the teenagers to the reception.

Thank you again for your review
Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We have just returned from Ty Nadan and thoroughly enjoyed the campsite. The facilities on the site where excellent and certainly kept my 2 teenagers entertained, which was a massive bonus for us. The pitch size was great enabling us to take an 8 birth tent with porch, a 3 birth tent, a gazebo and still have space to park the car, The shop was well stocked and supplied croissants and french bread fresh each morning. The site was clean and staff couldn't have been more friendly. We travelled from Dover to Calais, it's a trek from Calais but worth it because of it being cheaper. But if you can travel mid week to mid week, it's easier than going over the weekend-as the french traffic jams at the toll stations can be a night mare. I would recommend this camp site to any one.
The only thing I was disappointed with was the toilet blocks. They need updating. There are no soap dispensers or hand dryers in the toilets-on speaking to other campers who regularly travel through France, this does seem the norm. It doesn't make it right though. It wouldn't put me off though. An excellent holiday and an excellent site in an excellent location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ty-Nadan, Responsable relations clients at Ty-Nadan, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
We are very grateful for your feedback and take every criticism seriously.
In one of the toilets we do not have hand dryers and we will ad one for next year. We are thinking about a system for next year to put soap in the toilet blocks.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We booked a riverside premium touring pitch at Ty Nadan in January this year and were very much looking forward to our stay at the beginning of August for two weeks. I phoned and paid a week before our stay and was told that the riverside pitches were not available and that there were no riverside pitches with water and drainage supply.

After a long drive from the Channel Tunnel at Coquelles with our caravan we arrived to be told that our pitch that we booked would not be available till the following day, this was so that we could be sited next to our friends that we traveled with - our option was to set up temporarily on a pitch overnight and move the following day.

At other Castels sites that we have stayed at we have booked premium pitches and had a 'shed' that houses a fridge freezer, along with tables and chairs and a bbq. How disappointed we were when we eventually found out pitches and found a small fridge sat on the pitch, out in the open along with the table and chairs. When we went to connect our electric and water supply we found that some pitches were plugged into a normal extension lead that was covered with a carrier bag. There was also not sufficient supplies of water for each pitch to have a constant supply.

We went and complained to the reception staff and tried to restrain ourselves as we had traveled all day and not in the best of moods. They dealt with the situation very well and over the next couple of days as we calmed down the manager agreed that they would refund the cost of the first night in 'activity vouchers' and although we did not fully recover the full refund through the activities the offer was there. They also provided us with a brand new fridge freezer for our pitch which we were able to store in our caravan awning. I would also say that all staff on site were very polite and professional in their approach, unfortunately although the site has great potential, compared to other Castels sites we have stayed at this does not meet the standard.

Bad points:
1) Be careful of your pitch, many are sheltered and get no sun, many are on a slope.
2) If you are around pitches 400, you do get a waft of sewage from time to time as there is a drain in the middle of the field which overflows on occasion.
3) Your fridge is sited in the open unless you have room to store it within your tent / awning and if it rains it will get wet.
4) Although it states fishing on the web site, the only fish to be seen were about 2 cms long.
5) Although the web site states Kayaking on site, beware the water is shallow and rocky in places and you are restricted on how far you can go.
6) Electric and water supply on pitches is not sufficient for all to use.
7) General maintenance is lacking in the upkeep of plants, shrubs and some of the buildings such as the shop, restaurant and bar

Good points:
1) Lots of activities for the children and adults.
2) Entertainment was 'interesting', the pool disco is a must.
3) Friendly and professional site staff.
4) Quite in the evening and early morning (apart from two nights when the people in the tent behind us stayed up laughing until 3am)
5) A great indoor pool facility.
6) A pool attendant who resembles Tom Daley.

PS Ty Nadan, since returning home I have checked the web site and it clearly states a fridge will be supplied and not a fridge freezer, my apologies.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We love this campsite. Excellent facilities, always cleaned well each day. The activities are great (my husband had lots of fun), good value for money and everything right on your doorstep. We contacted the sight to let them know that I had broken my leg and was recently out of plaster. We requested a pitch near the river so that I'd have something to watch and this is exactly what we got. We visited Doelan, lovely harbour and nice seafood restaurant. And Concarneau, lots of courtyard shops, restaurants and delicious ice cream. We're coming back next year, looking forward to being able to do all the activities and the experience the slides into the pool!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Second visit to this camp, not specifically chosen for second visit just what was left for late booking. High speed Ferry Portsmouth to Le Havre really good, overall parc was ok. Our cabin this year was closer to central area (shops, reception, bar, restaurant, evening entertainment etc) consequently we were more aware of the noise each evening but not really a problem. Again this year the cabin (39) was in a heavily shaded area so didn't see much sun but the cabin itself was fine as they always have been on our numerous visits to keycamp sites. Reception staff helpful, this site seems to have the most on site activities of any I've found so great or two 15 year old girls, amongst them tennis, badminton nets (new this year I think), archery, horse riding, Segway (stand upright motorised two wheel scooter type things), kayaking along the stream running thru the site and, of course, the pools.
Better then usual were the couriers who met us on arrival and took us to our cabin and also popped up now and again to see if we needed anything (on previous visits to key camp sites the couriers were invisible) wifi was chargeable and a bit hit and miss, I bought a two hour token but didn't receive two hours of connection and at €6 that was a disappointment. Ferry back (st malo to Portsmouth) was long, 9 hours (day crossing) but there was plenty to do, good seats, clean eateries and toilets. Overall a good holiday albeit quite expensive for a 5 night stay at over £1200 when it was a last minute booking

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We booked Ty Nadan having previously stayed in Domaine Des Ormes and were expecting similar standards. We were very disappointed to find this is not the case. Although it is in a lovely setting, the campsite is cramped and very overgrown. there does not seem to be any maintainance programme and the pitches hedges are overgrown, When we left we had to have assistance from two families yo hold down huge overhanging tree branches in order to get out.The toilet facilities nearest to our caravan pitch were very poor, there was no cleaning ever took place during our stay. The pool area looks in need of decoration and the "Bistro" looked very unappealing. the take away is ok as is the shop. There is little or no security and consequently during our stay my grandson had his Barcelona shirt stolen. Our friends son had his Vans trainers stolen and two other thefts occurred during the week. the management unfortunately do not address this issue. Give us Domaine Des Ormes any day!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ty-Nadan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ty-Nadan

Address: Route d'Arzano, 29310 Locunole, France
Location: France > Brittany > Finistere > Locunole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Locunole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ty-Nadan 4*
Number of rooms: 325
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Ty-Nadan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ty-Nadan Hotel Arzano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ty-Nadan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.