We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“safe and consistent” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Shores Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Sunset Shores Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Sunset Shores Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Villa Beach | Villa, Arnos Vale, St. Vincent   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save $100 on meals
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arnos Vale
Gibraltar, null, Gibraltar
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“safe and consistent”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel several times over the last 7 years. It is basic as are most hotels in this area but it has Wifi in the rooms and the rooms are very clean. The beach is pleasant and not crowded with tourists but frequented by local families which is nice. My only picky bit is that there are no coffee/tea making facilities in the room. If the hotel is not busy the restaurant and bar close quite early and the restaurant does not open for breakfast until 7am, so if sleep is not prolonged or jet lag sets in then it can be a long night without a cup of tea. I did wish that they would invest in some new sunbeds as most seemed to be broken but these are minor issues. I travel alone and stay here over and over as the staff are very friendly and there is a security guard on duty during the night.

Room Tip: All rooms are good. As far as I am aware they all have a view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jim s, Public Relations Manager at Sunset Shores Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion with us on TripAdvisor. Though some time has passed, we wanted to let you know that we take our guests' feedback seriously. Over the past year, we have been made some improvements to Sunset Shores Beach Hotel including new sun cots, and in-room coffee/tea making facilities. Other upgrades are in the works too, and we hope you will visit again soon so that you can enjoy the enhancements. Warm Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    10
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
4
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

I went to the hotel because I heard wonderful thing it is a nice hotel but when I was waiting for a drink in my shorts and tank top a older woman from the hotel came up to me and said I needed to cover up now mind you there where other women with less on bikini top and bottoms. I was considering this place for my wedding just wanted to see how the staff treated the guest but after that no way. I have to say the food and drinks where wonderful bartenders was very entertaining. Location on the beach was perfect just wish I had a better experience.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Our family arrived very late to the hotel after an extremely long journey but then it just got better after that. Thanks to Malcolm whose identity will remain a secret and very friendly staff like Melischa and Angelique, the waiters and waitresses who knew that we'd order the best roti ever everyday,several times a day, and the patience of the housekeeping staff as they waited for our teenagers to leave their rooms before nightfall! The best room is on the second floor that faces the beach and the pool. We loved sitting on the balcony late at night and watching the waves roll in. If you are looking for a quiet and relaxing atmosphere, this is the place to be. Family friendly and offers the best food. We would definetly plan to return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Travelled from London to St Vincent with wife + 2 kids and stumbled across this hotel which in our opinion was an oasis in a desert. Where do I begin, the bedrooms equisite,( most rooms sea view and beachfront) all rooms have wifi and cable TV which the kids thoroughly enjoyed most evenings. All staff exrtemely polite and helpful. Food very good. especuially breaksfasts and bar-be-que on a saturday night. The prices may appear to be a bit high, however, you get real value for money staying at this beautiful hotel. This hotel does not offer much in the way of nightly entertainment, however, neighbouring hotels do. Our stay was very restful kids enjoyed the pool and beach. A true holiday in every sense of the word. A special thanks to all the staff at Sunset Shores who ensured that our time there was truly pleasureable. Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a fridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Great atmosphere, Great Staff, Great food .. I stop by here every year during my visit to St Vincent !

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

Spent just one night here but the staff were really helpful. Maybe not the most stylish but very good location close to the beach and Young Island Cut. I'd stay here again for one or two nights without hesitation because it is close to some good bars and restaurants. Also good for sailors because not far from Sunsail marina.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

Caught in transit between islands and airline put me up in this hotel. Therefore, I had done no research and had zero expectations. Arrived around 10pm on a Tuesday eve and left in the morning around 7pm. Saw only 2 staff ( who were very polite and obviously made an effort to be up and in the lobby to hand us the keys) and one security guard the entire time. Lobby open air. Lobby, pool and bar completely empty of staff or guests.

Personally, I would equate the rooms to a slightly nicer Motel 6 in the states. The entire hotel is quite outdated, however, doing no research, all the hotels in St Vincents may be similar. It was in a nice setting, and the view in the morning was amazing. The room itself was basic, outdated, but comfortable for the brief stay. A patio opened onto the swimming pool.

Great for 1-2 nights, but would definitely research other options...and would probably choose to stay in a different area or go to a different island instead of a lengthy stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunset Shores Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Shores Beach Hotel

Address: Villa Beach | Villa, Arnos Vale, St. Vincent
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Vincent and the Grenadines > St. Vincent > Arnos Vale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arnos Vale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunset Shores Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunset Shores Hotel was established on December 21st 1973. This family owned, boutique hotel is nestled on three acres of lush, tropical, gardens. The exquisitely decorated rooms are arranged in a "U" around a courtyard pool and bar. Each room has air-conditioning, cable television, direct-dial telephone, free wireless high speed Internet access, in-room safe, private bath/shower and private patio or balcony. Known for our "Island Hospitality", Sunset Shores is a home away from home serving you from 7:00 am to 10:00 pm. We ensure your total comfort, serving breakfast, lunch and dinner in our restaurant, or, on the pool terrace overlooking the glistening turquoise waters of the Caribbean Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Sunset Shores Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Shores Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.