We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really, Really Enjoyed Our Visit!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Azotea Cultural Center

La Azotea Cultural Center
Calle del Cementerio, Final, Jocotenango, Guatemala
(+502) 7831 1486
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Museums, Cultural
Attraction details
Brockville, Canada
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
54 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
“Really, Really Enjoyed Our Visit!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

My husband and I had so much fun visiting both the coffee and music museums at the Azotea Cultural Centre one morning during our six week stay! Our guide was terrific and the coffee was great too. We walked there at 9 AM from the North end of Antigua... only about a 20 minute walk from Parque San Sebastien...and ended up staying until 11:30AM. This park is also a great place from which to catch a tuk tuk for a 10 quetzales ride. Or you could even catch the chicken bus for 2 quetzales if you prefer!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    39
    8
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent museums and tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

This centre is in Jocotenango. Catch the shuttle in front of the cathedral in Antigua. There are only 2 shuttles a day no matter what the web site states. There is one at10 am and it returns at around 1 pm. And another at around 1 pm returning around 4 pm. There are 2 museums there : music and coffee. Both have good exhibits and guides. They also have a small cafe and gift shop.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Local culture, music and coffee tour”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We went here to see how they make coffee and have a walk in the coffee fields etc. When we got there we were led into a museum about local culture and music and led around by our tour guide for about 1.5 hours. This was interesting but it was not really the reason why we went. When this was finished we went into the coffee part and because we were the last group of the day and had spent so long with this other tour guide we were rushed around the coffee exhibits and only got to see some coffee drying and a couple of outer lying coffee plants, then we were led back to the gift shop to waste some time. My recommendation is to go here in the morning and do the coffee tour first then if you are interested do the culture and music tour after that.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
55 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Coffee”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

While the coffee museum is well worth the hour or so visit you need to read the history and see how coffee is picked and processed, the real highlight is getting to sample and purchase this delicious brew. For a real treat, make it to azotea and finca filadelfia to view the two principal coffee producers in antigua and compare.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northbrook, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Coffee Tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We took our kids, ages 3, 6, 8 and 18 to the Azotea Cultural for a mid-day outing. It's a short trip from town to get there, and the grounds are pretty. There is a playground for the kids while you wait for the tour. This place is definitely kid friendly, and hands on. The kids were able to play with beans during all stages of the process, including making "coffee angels" in a huge field of drying coffee beans. The samples are super fun. The music and indigenous portions of the museum are also worth a visit. In particular, the demonstation of the musical instruments of the area was fascinating.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Azotea Cultural Center also viewed

Jocotenango, Sacatepequez Department
Guatemala, Central America
 
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 

Been to La Azotea Cultural Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Azotea Cultural Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.