We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Plantation Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Plantation Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Plantation Inn
2179 Highway 70, Donaldsonville, LA 70346   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Donaldsonville
Launceston, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

We pulled in late in the day after leaving Baton Rouge and the manager put himself out to find us a room. The hotel was quiet, clean, beautiful bed, fair choice of breakfast, good quality orange juice, hot coffee, was made to feel part of a family.

Room Tip: All rooms would be quiet in this hotel, except perhaps in summer near the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    5
    2
    6
    3
See reviews for
8
2
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Surprise, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

This hotel is very dirty. I will never stay here again. The staff is very rude and don't know anything in the area. I caught the front desk girl on her cell phone talking away. This hotel also has a little of guys on business, and they are very loud.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Donaldsonville hotels

Donaldsonville, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

When we 1st walked in, the room looked like what I expected it to look like and smelled clean. We turned up the A/C and as time went on u could smell the underlying odor of the room which made my stomach roil. I called the front desk for a couple of blankets and was told they didn't have any, I asked for a couple of "standard" pillows (the ones in the room were so tiny, there was 3 in each bed, and they still didn't go from one side of the bed to the other) and was told they didn't have any of those either. Pool was not vacuumed; the breakfast looked cold and uninviting ( so we opted for McDonalds) and it was still nearly $100 a nite..ugh!

Room Tip: Don't stay!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shantesh p, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Plantation Inn, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations and we are sorry that you encountered an unacceptable level of guest service during your stay at our hotel. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

We have undergone a total clean up of all our guest rooms, and have made provisions for extra linen and pillows . breakfast has been upgraded with hot items which are rotated on a daily basis and we have added community coffee for coffee lovers.
We have addressed these issues with our staff and they have been rectified. We hope that next time you are in the area, you will visit us again and experience a higher level of customer service. Thank you again for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Bare in mind this is Donaldsonville - there aren't a whole lot of options. We were in town to film a wedding at the Oak Alley Plantation and wanted to stay close. The Comfort Inn was all out of non-smoking rooms, so we reluctantly resorted to the Best Western.

I kept my expectations low. The room is definitely nothing to look at and it was EXTREMELY humid and damp (although it really wasn't very humid outdoors). We were running the air conditioning but they definitely needed a dehumidifier. However, the bed was comfortable - old, but comfortable - more so than some of the newer hotels we've stayed at.

A word for these hotels - if you can't AFFORD to offer free breakfast, then just don't offer free breakfast. It was mostly long gone before we got there at 8a. The waffles were thawed out Eggo waffles. Anything hot was gone, except for frozen sausage patties that had already been soaking in water for two hours. The coffee tasted like a pack a Marlboros - I'm really not all that picky when it comes to coffee but we ended up having to go to McDonalds to get some.

My only serious complaint is that it seems the front desk workers think the lobby (which is basically a 10x10 space with two couches and a tv) is a substitute for daycare/babysitter. Both the second and third morning we were there, the front desk lady's (different both days) kids were plunked in front of the tv all morning. And I could be wrong, but I suspect they were a large reason here was zero hot breakfast left either . . .because the hotel was not crowded at all. I would think this would be highly against policy to have your kids there while you are on the clock - the doors are automatic: what if one of them ran out to the pool while you were away from the front desk and drowned?

In summary - if for some reason you need to stay in Donaldsonville (probably having to do with the plantation), stay at the Comfort Inn. . . or just stay a little further away.

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shantesh p, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Plantation Inn, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectationsand we are sorry that you encountered an unacceptable level of guest service during your stay at our hotel. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.
We have upgraded our breakfast and coffee selction to Community Coffee for all the coffee lovers.
We do our best to make sure all of our guests have a pleasant and rewarding stay. We have addressed these issues with our staff and they have been rectified. We hope that next time you are in the area, you will visit us again and experience a higher level of customer service. Thank you again for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The netherlands
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

We stayed here just after new years. The first room had stains on the pillows and it was obvious that the sheets were'nt changed and we asked for another room. The comment was that there was no houskeeping because of the hollidays. The two people we saw behind the desk were not that busy. So if it was my hotel and the did not have staff at the hollidays, I would have done t myself instead off texting and surfing the web from what I have seen. We got another room on the first floor which had been cleaned. It was a dark room with no real nice feeling to t. No better go somewhere else next time. But to be fare, in the end the did give us a discount because of the inconvenience.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011 via mobile

We recently stayed here. It was horrible. The first day we found a broken desk chair which my husband discovered when he sat in it the wheels broke completely off. The bed poles were broken but just sitting in the holes which could have fallen on us. The next day our room was never cleaned even when we left the sign on the door. Housekeeping came to the door and told us to hand then our used towels. NEVER CAME IN! The desk clerks constantly sits in lobby along with housekeeping staff. This location needs new management!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shantesh p, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Plantation Inn, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations and we are sorry that you encountered an unacceptable level of guest service during your stay at our hotel. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

Each and every item in the room has been checked for stability and working order and we have reinforced our policy of DND ( Do Not Disturb) rooms, wherein the supervisor will make a final round of the hotel to verify if the DND sign is still on the door. We hope that next time you are in the area, you will visit us again and experience a higher level of customer service. Thank you again for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Plantation Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Plantation Inn

Address: 2179 Highway 70, Donaldsonville, LA 70346
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Donaldsonville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Donaldsonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Plantation Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Donaldsonville
Donaldsonville Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Plantation Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.