We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grapevine Cafe

Grapevine Cafe
211 Railroad Ave., Donaldsonville, LA
225-473-8463
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Charleston, West Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

The food here was outstanding! Loved the atmosphere and service was good! Had a great bar and the food as good as any of the restaurants in New Orleans!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    21
    1
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Unexpected meal in Donaldsonville LA”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

If you don't get anything else, try this dining room's amazing Crawfish cornbread sauced with crawfish etouffee'. It is absolutely amazing. This is a quaint dining room, with solid and friendly service and a unique twist to creole cooking that is tasty and tantalizing. Also be sure to try their signature dessert, Award Winning White Chocolate Bread Pudding.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gonzales, Louisiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent place to get great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We go there often. Even if you are stuffed, you have to have the white chocolate bread pudding! Everything's great - you won't be disappointed. The locals eat there regularly so you know it's good.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donaldsonville
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Southern Hospitality and Delicious Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Having been to The Grapevine on many occasions and having tried just about all of their menu, I can honestly say every dish was a taste bud delight. I especially love the Corn, Shrimp and Crayfish Bisque, but every appetizer is delicious. Entrees are generously portioned and appealing to the eye and the palate. Topping it all off are the fantastic deserts: the White Chocolate Bread Pudding and Lemon Icebox Pie are a must try, but I can't deny that I have totally enjoyed the Brownie and Ice Cream desert as well as a variety of Cheesecake flavors. The restaurant also offers a generous variety of drinks. Great food with reasonable prices, excellent service and an elegantly comfortable setting are an unbeatable combination.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponchatoula, Louisiana
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Incredible!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

This restaurant is incredible in every way:
- food: I had the crab cake dinner which I loved. I tasted the crabmeat stuffed portobella mushroom entree which was incredible. My favor wad the fried catfish with the roasted garlic sauce. For desert we had the chocolate pecan pie which was heavenly!
-service: the best service ever in a restaurant. She was incredible. We had an 8 year old with us that she went out of her way to indulge making him a special desert.
-atmosphere: you will love walking around looking at the beautiful and colorful artwork.
We cannot wait to go back to the grapevine!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grapevine Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Grapevine Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grapevine Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.