We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Destrehan Plantation Tour” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Destrehan Plantation

Destrehan Plantation
13034 River Road, Destrehan, LA 70047
504 764 9315
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$80*
and up
New Orleans Power Pass™
Ranked #1 of 1 Attractions in Destrehan
Type: Architectural Buildings, Historic Sites, Cultural
Activities: Leisure education
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built in 1787, this is the oldest plantation house in the Lower Mississippi Valley.
MO
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Destrehan Plantation Tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We drove out to the Plantation which was only a short drive from New Orleans. There is a savings of $3 if you mention (bring) a brochure that we picked up from our hotel. They also offer a military/AAA discount of $2 off the cost of $18 per person. There is a guided tour through the main house and you can also walk through the grounds. There was a movie partially filmed there in the mule barn that is coming out soon. This plantaion tour is the greatest i've been to but it was informative and interesting. I liked the fact that it "appeared" that this plantation owner seemed to treat his slaves well and there was alot of positive (if you can say anything positive about the slavery time period) things at this plantation. It was also the site of a revolt trials where slaves had revolted.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    41
    18
    8
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“plantataion”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

the staff were very friendly but the hours they keep isn't too convenient. over all i enjoyed my tour.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waupaca, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Clint&stacy aniversery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Awesome ,great history, very informative and interactive. Very well preserved if you like architecture or period construction it is a must see.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“no time for a tour, just enjoyed seeing the beautiful grounds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

we stopped by because it was close to where we were, we didn't have enough time to do the tour [they said it takes close to 2 hours]. The grounds were immaculate. The gorgeous live oak trees were spectacular. We were able to take a few photos of ourselves without infringing on the gates off areas. Made me feel like we were back in time. The gift shop was well stocked and the people were friendly and helpful.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Back In Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stopped here by the suggestion of the LA Visitor's Center and I am so very glad we did. It was a great tour, we really felt as though we had just walked back in time. This home is so well restored and the grounds were just beautiful. We loved hearing the history and stories from our tour guide. There was a man in a wheel chair on our tour and he had no trouble keeping up with the tour, I thought it was wonderful that they had made it so wheelchair accessible.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Destrehan Plantation also viewed

 

Been to Destrehan Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Destrehan Plantation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.