We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Destrehan--275 years of Louisiana history” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Destrehan Plantation

Destrehan Plantation
13034 River Road, Destrehan, LA 70047
504 764 9315
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$80*
and up
New Orleans Power Pass™
Ranked #1 of 1 Attractions in Destrehan
Type: Architectural Buildings, Historic Sites, Cultural
Activities: Leisure education
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built in 1787, this is the oldest plantation house in the Lower Mississippi Valley.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
573 reviews 573 reviews
211 attraction reviews
Reviews in 121 cities Reviews in 121 cities
373 helpful votes 373 helpful votes
“Destrehan--275 years of Louisiana history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Destrehan Plantation, located just off the Hale Boggs Bridge on Interstate 310, was built in 1787 and Ronnie, our tour guide, didn't miss a beat as he recounted one historical moment after another. It is one of the few remaining examples of a colonial Louisiana house that has changed substantially and yet remained a functioning house for the past empires of indigo, sugar and petrochemical production after the property was sold in the early years of the 20th century. After vandalism and neglect, Destrehan has been beautifully restored to its former splendor. The mansion bleeds with history. There is an exhibit to detail the 1811 Slave Revolt. There is a copy of a document signed by then President Thomas Jefferson and Secretary of State James Madison that appointed plantation owner Jean Noel Destrehan and others to the Orleans Territorial Council. There also are demonstrations conducted daily on such trades as blacksmith, candle-making, weaving and open hearth cooking. It is a stroll back into the history of our country that can't be found at most other plantations.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    41
    18
    8
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Horrible tour of house”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

OK, I now think I've had the worst tour guide. The woman who took us on the tour was way more interested in what other tour groups were doing (and commenting on them) and frustrated that she was heading to show us something and another group got there first, causing her to have to shift gears (unhappily so). She was also very disrespectful of the history, saying things like "this chick over here" - pointing to a portrait of a woman. After the house tour we then went to visit the rest of the property on our own but between the school bus loads that were visiting one of the demonstrations and the lateness of the day with demonstrations being closed down, we didn't get much exposure to the sights. The "slave" quarters are not original and were added to the property from some other plantation for show. And while the brochure states "it is documented that 'slaves were treated with fairness' one has to question why then, they were part of a slave revolt. As with other plantation visits, there is never really any sense of an apology for the treatment of slaves.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponoka, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“not much to say”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This plantation tour was part of our swamp tour. It was a very small operation. The tour guide was very knowledgeable about the area and house

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greenup, il
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Great place to take bus groups. The ladies in the gift shop aren't overly nice. Cool history of the area and great pralines made there.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt. Calvary, WI
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Boring! If you are looking for a plantation tour, try a different house”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I visited the Destrehan plantation as a part of a school group. I love historical homes and have gone on many tours over the years all around the country. Unfortunately, even I was bored at this tour. The guide didn't have any passion for history or the house. I was looking forward to seeing the document signed by Thomas Jefferson, but the guide gave a quick speech about it, turned off the lights in the room, and ushered everyone out the door without allowing us to file past it to get a good look at history right in front of us. The highlight of the tour was the special presentation they happened to have that day - an African American man who talked about home remedies used by his ancestors, such as spider webs to stop bleeding. He was fascinating, and obviously knew his material very well. I also thought the grounds would be bigger with more to see, but that was not the case. They did have huge trees on the property covered in Spanish moss, which was neat to see.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Destrehan Plantation also viewed

 

Been to Destrehan Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Destrehan Plantation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.