We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice large room, but musty smell masked by cleaning products” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Denham Springs

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Candlewood Suites Denham Springs to your Saves list
Candlewood Suites Denham Springs
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   246 Rushing Road, Denham Springs, LA 70726   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Denham Springs
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice large room, but musty smell masked by cleaning products”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Overall, this hotel was "nice", but not worth the $130.00 price tag. The room was very large (king studio suite) and clean. But there was no masking the horrible damp, musty smell in the room. Even the bed linens were damp and smelled musty. Is there a hotel room anywhere in the State of Louisiana that is not damp and musty???? This hotel had window box AC units. These old style AC units never seem to work correctly.

The front desk clerk was nice and professional.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Denham Springs, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Austin7878,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. I am very pleased that you have rated us with excellent scores on Location, Sleep Quality, and Service. However, I would like to apologize for any inconvenience the smell in the room may have caused you. Rest assured that your comments have been documented and will be forwarded to the appropriate departments for necessary actions. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. Thank you again for your comments.


Sincerely,

Janice A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    9
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
9
5
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Denham doesn't have much, but this hotel is your best bet. Unless you go across the river to La Quinta which is newer. A few visits ago I had reservations at the Hampton Inn located across the street from Candlewood. Usually have good stays at the Hampton, but this location was awful. Had three nights reserved, but checked out after the first and went over to Candlewood. Worked out much better with a kitchenette and it was a bit cheaper. I've been back to Denham twice since and stayed at the Candlewood. During my last visit I needed to extend my reservation by one night, but they were booked. Ended up at that La Quinta on O'Neal Lane in Baton Rouge. That is a nice place if you don't need more of a kitchen and sitting area.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

You can tell this hotel is still new just by the smell. Nice location--just off the main road but not too far to be a long ways from anywhere. Room was nice and offered all the amenities as advertised. Only stayed for one night but wouldn't mind staying for a multi-night stay. Only thing I'd change if I was to stay multiple nights is to upgrade from a single-queen studio (that's what I had and it was kinda on the small side even with all the amenities).

Room Tip: The single-queen suite is small so if you have the chance, upgrade to something a little bigger for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

This hotel is clean, with really great front desk staff. They were very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. Our suite was spacious, very nice and I totally appreciated the free washers and dryers. There is an amazing seafood restaurant almost just across the street. This hotel is very close to the fun antique district in Denham Springs as well as many other interesting retail establishments.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

Wow where do we start. Me and my wife had to make a sudden stop here at the candlewood because we were tired and my wife was not feeling good. We had drove about 13 hrs with 7 more hrs to go.We were greet with a smile from alyassa at the front desk. She was very polite and willing to help us out . As a rewards remember it was great to be greeted again with a smile . You really just donot know how this made us feel after driving so long. The hotel was clean and the rooms were great.This hotel is also has lots of resturant jus across the street.We cannot wait to stay there again.Thanks aylassa for all of your help.

Room Tip: All rooms are great just come and see for yourself
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Rose, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

This is a fairly new property however the staff lacks some necessary training. We were staying there with a large number of people and covering all room charges for the entire party. Upon checkout there was confusion between employees as to which rooms people stayed in and which rooms were supposed to be on our bill. There were extra rooms and nights charged to our account. When we arrived home and checked with our credit card company Candlewood Suites had overcharged us and also put other charges on our account. We had a very difficult time getting these charges reversed and clear up. After finally speaking with the general manager and finally getting it cleared up he blamed it on the employees. Shouldn't he be the one overseeing and training them?
Upon leaving make sure that your bill is correct. Also beware that this facility does not have a pool, or offer a free breakfast. They do have a small "store", however it is expensive. If you are staying for more than 2 nights you will have to purchase your own in-room coffee as they only provide 2 coffee packets. Also since this is considered an extended stay hotel you will not receive daily maid service. So if you do need anything you will have to go to the front desk and request it. All in all we will probably go across the street to another chain hotel when we return (which is about every 2 to 3 months) where all amenities are offered for about the same nightly rate.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denham Springs Louisiana
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

My wife and I stayed here about 3 weekes so we had a chance to intereact with all staff. Everone was very frindly and treated us special, this made our stay a wonderful experiance. Looking forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlewood Suites Denham Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Denham Springs

Address: 246 Rushing Road, Denham Springs, LA 70726
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Denham Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Denham Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Denham Springs 2*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Candlewood Suites Denham Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Denham Springs Hotel Denham Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Denham Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.