We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST Plantation visit ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Houmas House Plantation and Gardens

Houmas House Plantation and Gardens
40136 Highway 942, Darrow, LA 70725
225 473 9380
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Houmas House Plantation and Gardens like an insider
$59*
and up
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Darrow
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Dining
Attraction details
Cypress, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“BEST Plantation visit ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

If you love gardens, old mansions, and antiques this place is for you - this plantation was NEVER abandoned and it shows!

I am an antiques hound and found EVERYTHING in this house to be not only authentic, but top notch. Tiffany lamps, a Chihuly in the garden, the paintings and statuary were beyond compare, everything was just stunning.

Our tour guide, Judy, was a hoot! She laughed, sang (beautifully) knew her stuff, had some great stories about the house and items, interacted with each guest, and I can't wait to go again. She also sells scented soaps on ETSY "TheInnerGoddessSoaps" which are amazing.

Our kids opted to tour the gardens while we toured the mansion and they LOVED IT! Even my 6 year old wants to visit again. The Carriage barn is converted into a gift shop and the garden statuary is amazing. "Huge garden, lots of paths to follow, very cool, things to explore, (look hard for the gnomes and leprachaun) kids love it." quote from my 13 year-old.

EAT BEFORE YOU ARRIVE!! Their Sunday Buffet gets a 1/2 star. It was nearly empty yet we 5 were seated at two tiny tables pushed together which seats four intimately. There was NO CHILDRENS menu or kid friendly selections available. We sat for awhile waiting for our drinks then after perusing the menu, like the table next to us, we quietly left and went elsewhere to eat.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    433
    83
    18
    7
    16
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Tour was great. Beautiful home. A must see. Grounds are beautiful as well. Brunch choice's were excellent service good.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Loved the property and tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We drove from New Orleans to visit a few plantations along the way to our overnight destination of Nottoway Plantation, and Houmas was the 4th one we visited. It was gorgeous, well kept (the current owner is still living in it and we toured through his bedroom too!), and our tour guide was awesome! She was "in character" most of the time dressed in Southern Belle costume and a native to the area. The property is more "done up" then the others, and many items were not part of the house but of the "time period", so a "museum" of sort. It was a fun tour for the kids and teens in our group too. Whereas Laura House was authentic and "as is", Houmas House was more an "attraction". After this gorgeous place we were slightly disappointed at Nottoway and wish we could have stayed overnight at Houmas House!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Great day trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

On a recent trip to New Orleans we decided to go to Houmas House because it had high ratings and was one of the closer plantations to N.O.L.A. We had lunch at the on site Cafe & the food was remarkably good, the portions large & the atmosphere was in a beautiful setting looking out onto the gardens. We then took the tour of the house. This was very interesting, with many local artist artwork from the period & more recent on display, and info about a famous movie filmed there. Then we strolled the vast gardens and took some great pics of the beautiful oak trees with spanish moss, ponds & flora. This was a very nice day trip indeed.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plaquemine, Louisiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Plantation All Around!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I live in south Louisiana and I've been to quite a few plantation homes between here and Mississippi. I was very impressed that Houmas House did not rope off every other room and actually allowed you to touch many of the items in the house! Make sure you plan extra time to spend out in the gardens. They are so beautiful you get lost in them and time just slips away. There's an artist painting portraits in the gift shop. Check him out!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Houmas House Plantation and Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Houmas House Plantation and Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Houmas House Plantation and Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.