We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding! Should be on the B & B "Select Registry"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bocage Plantation

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Darrow
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bocage Plantation
Save
You added Bocage Plantation to your Saves list
39050 Hwy 942, Darrow, LA 70725   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Darrow B&B and Inns
West Chester, PA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding! Should be on the B & B "Select Registry"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

When we couldn't book a room at Houmas House because of a large wedding, we accidently found this on the web. We like to stay at B & B's in the "Select Registry" ( for luxury destination B&B's) - this would have been right at the top. Roberto Trevino, the young Innkeeper /Manager has a vested interest in the place as he and his father were the ones who helped restore the place for the owner. His relaxed welcome style and and the quiet (outdoor) presence of his "people dogs" Augie and Sasha were a real plus in making us feel at home among all the exceptional museum-quality antiques. And he even makes the breakfasts. He is a great cook!
Bocahe Plantation alone is a reason to come to Baton Rouge and New Orleans.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
116
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

My husband and I recently celebrated our 36th anniversary touring the plantations along the Great River Road. We had stayed at several of the plantations 20 years ago.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Bocage. The furnishings were very nice, with period antiques galore. The atmosphere was relaxing and the innkeeper very accommodating. We enjoyed wine on the porch and a yummy breakfast. We will definitely stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

We stayed in February while on our honeymoon back from the Caymans. Bocage Plantation was a wonderful surprise while Roberto was very accommodating.

The breakfast was amazing, the bacon was so yummy we could have eaten it all day, while the eggs had a touch of spice that was a delight to eat.

Our only complaint is we wish we could of stayed longer.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngsville, Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

I wanted to get away from the every day hustle and bustle, and go somewhere quiet. I told my husband this is what I was seeking for birthday, so once he gave me the go ahead, I already had this place in mind just by the little bit of reviews that I had read a few days prior.
The reviews helped, but didn't do the experience we had justice. This place was absolutely amazing!... We didn't want to leave. Roberto was so kind, and visited with us on several different occassions throughout the stay. I can't wait to go back!!! We definitely will be back, that's for sure. :-)

Lesley & Kasey Lopez

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Ulm, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

Are you looking for a personal trip back in time? Take a drive out River Road to Bocage Plantation. You will not only see and actually sleep and live in a real plantation but you will have a chance to meet a very personable host! From our entrance onto the property, our greeting by Sasha and Augie, the plantation dogs, our visit was just magic. We were met by Roberto, the hard working plantation inn keeper. What an extraordinary young man! He not only showed us to our room (there are only four rooms and all of them are just full of period antiques and absolutely stunning...but we loved our room the best...The Red Bringer Room.) but also he walked the home and the grounds with us. Sitting on the upstairs porch, looking out over the property, drinking complimentary wine and snacks and most of all visiting with Roberto was just a dream come true! If you want a personal experience in a beautiful setting...choose Bocage!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

After a very early morning of travel (4:30 a.m.) and half a day at the shooting range, my husband and I and our friends, Jim and Erica, walked through the front doors of the beautiful Bocage and into the arms of the past. We loved everything about the Bocage: the exquisite period pieces, tester beds, artwork, ancient oaks, lovely grounds, the dogs, the cats, and the hospitality of our very gracious host, Roberto. Not only did he made us feel comfortable and right at home, but his breakfast was so delicious! We'll be going back to the shooting range again in the near future and will most definitely go back to the beautiful Bocage. Très manifique!

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs have access to the veranda.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Love, love, love... Romance lives throughout the entire stay at Bocage Plantation. My wife and I celebrated our 2 year wedding anniversary in true style. I highly recommend this magical location to all looking for 5 star treatment in the gem of the south. Our praises for Roberto are endless, from making last minute adjustments to get us in, to exceptional warmth and service, to fantastic food and wine. The grounds are immaculate. The interior is gorgeous, which combines fantastic antiques with the modern conveniences. Our room was amazing with a wonderful bed. My wife and I were treated like royalty. We will be back soon!

Room Tip: Bring your camera!!! Stay for at least 2 nights!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bocage Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bocage Plantation

Address: 39050 Hwy 942, Darrow, LA 70725
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Darrow
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Darrow
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bocage Plantation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.