We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An anniversary to remember” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bocage Plantation

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Darrow
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bocage Plantation
39050 Hwy 942, Darrow, LA 70725   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Darrow B&B and Inns
Banff, United Kingdom
1 review
“An anniversary to remember”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Arrived at Bocage after a VERY long drive from Dallas looking and feeling travel worn!! Within minutes we had been welcomed by Roberto and Igor and the weariness just slipped away-within a short time we were enjoying a glass of wine and hors d'oevres (after a much needed shower and change-sumptuous room and bathroom) and anticipating dinner at Houmas House -recommended and booked for us by Roberto- and it certainly didn't disappoint either! We had a lovely stay at Bocage-breakfast was very good (thank you Igor) and we went onto New Orleans refreshed after an unhurried wander around the grounds. An anniversary to remember!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    154
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
106
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Marshall, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Great Staff, beautiful furniture, authentic feel, and relaxing steam showers......what more could you ask for. Defintely worth another visit. Not commercial, yet a step above the competition in my opinion! Also, a perfect Gourmet breakfast- Thanks Igore!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We were going to New Orleans and surrounding areas for a few days to take in the historical sites. We booked two nights at the Bocage Plantation and wished we could have stayed longer. Everything was beautiful. The plantation and furnishings were breathtaking. It was like staying in a castle fit for a king and queen. The innkeeper Roberto was terrific and Egor, the cook was wonderful. His breakfast was excellent. He also served us wine and cheese, crackers and fruit in the afternoon when we returned from siteseeing. It was a delightful stay

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Went on a wonderful tour of Bocage and thoroughly enjoyed it! Our tour guide Roberto was extremely friendly and knew the history of the home and its inhabitants extremely well, there is a lot of history and great stories about this beautiful home. The interior of the house and its furnishings are definitely worth seeing.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I have traveled the world and stayed in many bed and breakfasts. The Bocage Plantation is without a doubt one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in, period. Roberto the general manager met us at our car and took our luggage inside. The house with its unbelievable antique furniture was just jaw dropping. Everything in the house is from the mid 1800's. The bed, dressers, chairs, etc. in the bedrooms is just as beautiful as the rest of the furniture in the house. The modern bathroom with steam shower in our room (the blue room) was just an added plus. After arrival, Igor, the cook/carekeeper promptly served us wine and cheese in the upstairs parlor. The next morning he cooked us a awesome breakfast that we ate in the beautiful dining room with antique silverware and dishes. Igor's service was flat out outstanding and Roberto is doing an excellent job managing the place. After touring Oak Alley and Laura Plantation that same day, the Bocage has way better antique furniture and you actually can use the pieces. My only regret was not being able to stay longer. Next time I am in New Orleans, I am staying here again without a doubt.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

It is hard to say enough good things about Bocage Plantation.

We were very warmly greeted and felt very welcome. We had decided to stay here on the spur of the moment due to poor weather in the gulf area where we were supposed to be staying.

The plantation has been carefully and beautifully restored.

Then there are the furnishings!!!! They are worth the visit alone. Viewing the pieces in this collecton are worth the price alone.

If you can't stay over for the night, go and see the restoration and furnishings.

It is operated as a bed and breakfast. The food for breakfast was very well prepared and we were given a selection of eggs, pancakes, oatmeal and breakfast meats.

You can certainly feel the welcome feeling given by Roberto and his staff.

I don't know who Michelle T is but it is clear that she has never even visited this property!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We spent two nights at the Bocage during Super Bowl week - we couldn't find a hotel in town - but this was fortuitous because we ended up having a lovely time at Bocage! Roberto and Igor were lovely hosts, and we enjoyed Auggie-Doggie's presence!

Rooms are lovely, large, and had insanely comfy beds. I made use of the steam shower twice. Despite being surrounded by antiques, you feel at home, or at least like you're in a friend's house (or maybe that friend's wealthy, Southern grandmama's house).

Both nights, Roberto and Igor put out a nice spread of treats and wine for us before dinner. Igor makes a mean oatmeal for breakfast. We had omelettes the first morning, but it was a bit too much food for us! With only four rooms, we basically had the whole house to ourselves.

Most definitely recommended if you're looking for a more down-to-earth stay in the country!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bocage Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bocage Plantation

Address: 39050 Hwy 942, Darrow, LA 70725
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Darrow
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Darrow
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bocage Plantation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bocage Plantation to your Saves list