We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely amazing location, decent hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Garni Cruzeiro do Sul

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trindade
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Garni Cruzeiro do Sul
Save
You added Hotel Garni Cruzeiro do Sul to your Saves list
Av. Dr. Sobral Pinto, Trindade, Paraty, State of Rio de Janeiro 23970-000, Brazil   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
stay longer, pay less
Ranked #2 of 16 Trindade B&B and Inns
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing location, decent hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

The hotel has a great location - right on one of the best beaches in the area. Fortunately the hotel is also on the quieter end of the beach so it was less busy around there on the weekends.

The rooms themselves are quite basic, but were clean. The breakfast was really good - lots of fresh fruit, cakes and really tasty bread with cheese and ham cooked into it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    15
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
15
27
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

Very nice family hotel at the quiet end of Trindade beach, situated immediately at the water front. The excellent breakfast is served on the porch, which also provides a nice shadowy place for a day on the beach. Rooms are very clean and the view onto the sea is marvelous.
Waves at the beach in front of the pousada can be very high so that you might want to walk to a different part of the bay with small children.
The pousada is run by a friendly Austrian-Brazilian couple who speak Portuguese, German and English. Book in advance if you plan to stay over a weekend.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

We spent part of our honey moon here and informed the owner we were expecting a baby and looking for a quiet place, which he assured us it was (“a tropical paradise”). However 5 nights out of 10 were completely horrendous as the neighbouring bars (!) played music on stupid volume until early morning. As much as this wasn´t the owners personal fault, he still failed to tell us beforehand we could expect noise and he was also reluctant to do anything about it (in the end we went to the worst culprits ourselves and tried to reason with them). It would have been more honest to tell us there was a party scene and the owner would have gotten the room rented anyway as the whole village was fully booked.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wjs48, Owner at Hotel Garni Cruzeiro do Sul, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
What's written is correct, but I told the Swedish lady from the very beginning, that, during CARNAVAL, she wouldn't find any quiet place all over Brazil. I couldn't offer change of rooms as all our apartments go out to the beach from where the noise came. Unfortunately it didn't help, still blaming us for the "bagunça".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2010

We absolutely loved our stay with Walter and his family.
He made us feel welcome and comfortable.
We arrived around 3:00 in the afternoon after a long and adventurous drive from Ubatuba, Walter welcomed us quite warmly.

With incredible room choices we wanted the closest connection to the ocean so the second floor room with french doors that open out onto the deck that was only about 30 meters from the ocean was our natural choice. The sounds of the waves pounding into the creamy soft sand lulled you to sleep and gently brushed you to wake.
It was like listening to your favorite music with out having to remember any of the lyrics.

Once walter brought the wine and glasses, we stood on the balcony, looked into each others eyes and knew that we had found our home (the next two days at least).

After an afternoon of hiking to the snorkeling spot and a drink on the beach, we headed back to the hotel for some late afternoon r & r.
The sauna steam trickled out of the wood stove at generously scheduled intervals was welcomed daily between 5-7. After playing in the cool waves on the beach
I had to convince Walter to get the sauna going on the second day but he could appreciate our enthusiam for using all of the wonderful amenities. A quick dip in the pool was a welcome addition to the sauna and drink.

Breakfasts were great on the ocean front deck and the service was warm and welcoming.

We felt we could have easily spent a week there with out getting board. There are lots of beaches, hiking and restaurants to explore and is an easy drive to explore the larger city of Paraty.

I would easily recommend Hotel Garni to anyone who is going there.
I am sure there a cheaper rooms to rent but the location, charm and warmth of Walter's paridise will stick with us for many years until we can make it back there.

Frank & Angela

Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malpas, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2010

Trinidade is is a very pretty small resort which is quite simple - no large hotels or restaurants so has avoided mass tourism which we appreciate - it is an old fishing village. The hotel is situated at the entrance to the village right by the sea. It is family owned and everyone did all they could to make our stay extra special - a great Euro Brazilian welcome!
Our room was on the first floor and we could hear the waves during the night which we found very restful.
Delicious breakfast - home made Brazilian cakes, fresh fruit choice of egg dishes.
We would definately recomend it for a few days relaxation.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Garni Cruzeiro do Sul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garni Cruzeiro do Sul

Address: Av. Dr. Sobral Pinto, Trindade, Paraty, State of Rio de Janeiro 23970-000, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Paraty > Trindade
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Trindade
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charming Hotel Garni Cruzeiro do Sul is built closest possible to the Atlantic Ocean on Praia de Fora beach, the largest of the 7 beautiful beaches of the ecological sanctuary Trindade.Only about 15 miles from the famous Centro Histórico of Paraty, the hotel, within a tropical paradise in blue and green, is even for visitors of Paraty's numerous cultural events the better option of stay. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Garni Cruzeiro do Sul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.