We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our own private dolphin show!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hot Water Beach Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hot Water Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hot Water Beach Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Hot Water Beach Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
48 Pye Place, Hot Water Beach 3591, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
San Juan de Alicante, Spain
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Our own private dolphin show!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

A very small B & B, only 2 rooms but a great place to stay. Gail and Trevor treat you like family! A wonderful atmosphere to stay in. The views from the deck outside our room were fantastic, straight across Hot Water Beach to the hills beyond. The breakfasts are out of this world, when you see Trevor picking the tomatoes in the garden you know how fresh evrything is going to be. Trevor provides a most unusual service!! Because parking is to say the least difficult, a steep drive followed by a very short parking space, we were instructed to just drive up the slope and leave the car. Trevor then reverses your car back down the slope, turns it around, and then reverses it back up the slope so that it is ready for you to just hop in and drive away. Sounds simple enough, but the slope is at a steep angle with a bend half way up and the parking area is about 3 car lengths in total. Not easy by any means, but Trevor just whips the car down and back up in reverse as if he was on a 4 lane highway, super driving!! Gail arranged for us to have dinner at a very nice restaurant where the meal was first class. One evening as we sat on the deck having a "Sundowner" Gail came running up and told us to look into the bay, there was our own Pod of Dolphins giving us a private performance (or so it seemed). Hot Water Beach is off the beaten track but is well worth visiting, and Gail and Trevor are the perfect hosts It is so relaxing to fall asleep to the sounds of the sea right outside you bedroom. There is Free WiFi available.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    3
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
34
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
somerset
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed here on a flying visit to New Zealand, so tried to pick out the best spots in our short time there. We certainly hit the bullseye with this one. The location is superb right next to the beach, and has stunning views across the bay. We stayed in the lower room next to the parking area. The room was spacious and comfortable and had glass sliding doors which you could open right up and listen to the waves crashing on the beach. There was even a full-size snooker table which you could use. The hosts Gail and Trevor are just lovely and make you feel right at home. They helped us book a restaurant for the evening, and told us the best time to go down to the hot springs. For us this was early morning just before sunrise, so we picked up some towels and spades (complimentary) and made the short walk along the beach to the hot springs, just in time to see the sun rise from our nice warm beach bath. Perfect! Then we headed back and Gail made us a fantastic breakfast of scrambled eggs, fruit, bread, tea, coffee and juice which we ate on the balcony. When it was time to go we were given a warm hug and bidden a safe journey. Of all the places we stayed this one was our favourite and we thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

Dear Gail what a treat you spoilt us rotten! Real tears when we left, who can beat that view with the sound of the surf pounding right into our bedroom. Not just a majic part of our Planet, but hot springs in the beach too - unreal! The food, the wine the hospitality just could not be faulted. The other lovely bays all around with the history attached - wow 2nd honeymoon time! Thanks G&T memories for life.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

The hosts were among the best we have encountered in the B&B business: warm, helpful, superb breakfasts, rooms tidy and charming; grand view from terraces. We had a problem with a rented car key broken; the hosts helped us with transportation the the best sites around, organizing meals, phoning to the appropriate problem solvers. Really recommended. Charming and silent at will. The experience at the hot water beach early in the morning away from the usual afternoon crowd is to be repeated....and possible only from the campground or from the few B&Bs around.

Room Tip: Do not miss the 30 minutes walk to the cathedral Cove nearby: grand natural sculptures! in limestone
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Our first night in NZ, we spent in Hot Water Beach B&B.
The location of the B&B is amazing, with beautiful views and our own balcony to enjoy them.
The room was not very big but cosy and it got all the luxury we needed.
Breakfast was really good (including feijoa's and tamarillo's!) with a variety of choice, sitting on the balcony overviewing the blue sea. Waw!
It was a great start of a great holiday.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

This was the final place on our seven week tour around New Zealand and what a wonderful end to the trip. Trevor and Gail epitomise the warm and friendly hosts we met throughout, welcoming us into their home and helping us to make the most of our stay. The weather was not very kind during some of our four nights, but on easily the best day we borrowed spades from their collection and after a great lunch at the Mercury Bay Winery we were able to enjoy the pleasure of digging holes in the beach at low tide; along with a few dozen others - what an experience. We were in an extremely comfortable self-contained wing with a great view of the beach. Even though Gail couldn't persuade the boats to take us along the spectacular coast, we were able to walk to Cathedral Cove and enjoy the local restaurants which Gail booked for us, followed by a glass or two of wine with our hosts back in their lounge. Trevor's car turnaround service was also highly appreciated and used many times. We hope some day we will be able to enjoy their hospitality again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights during our honeymoon, and we cant recommend it highly enough.

Gail and Trevor are amazingly nice people. They were always helpful and gave us wonderful recommendations for the surrounding areas.

The place itself is lovely, with views worth their weight in gold. You could spend hours just staring off of their deck, and if the mood strikes, the beach is a very quick walk away.

Overall, a fantastic experience.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hot Water Beach Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hot Water Beach Bed & Breakfast

Address: 48 Pye Place, Hot Water Beach 3591, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Hot Water Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Hot Water Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated within five minutes walk of Hot Water Beach and the hot springs. Magnificent views of beach and ocean from our bed and breakfast. Ten minutes drive to Cathedral Cove carpark, several restaurants and golf course. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hot Water Beach Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.