We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice campground” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hot Water Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hot Water Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park to your Saves list
Hot Water Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park
4.5 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   790 Hot Water Beach Road, Hot Water Beach 3591, New Zealand (Formerly Hot Water Beach Holiday Park)   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Very nice campground”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here one night as we explored the Coramandel Peninsula. We used the kitchen which was well stocked with kitchen utensils for those who did not have them. The bathroom facilities were very clean. One complaint. My friend tried to have a hot shower but could not find the on button for the hot water which was supposed to give one 5 minutes of hot water. Fortunately for me, he warned me and after looking around, I finally located the on button on the wall next to the shower. The campsite is adjacent to hot water beach which can be reached after a 10 minute walk. My wife tried the digging a hole in the sand routine and ended up with some very serious insect bites for the sand flies.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotWaterBeachTop10, Owner at Hot Water Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our park, we take a great deal of pride in keeping the park looking nice all the time. Usually when customers check in the staff inform them about using the buttons to activate the hot water for the showers. There is also a sign over there in case this has not happened. I am glad you found that as a cold shower is not so nice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    63
    15
    4
    4
See reviews for
60
83
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed at four campsites on North Island before we arrived here, so had a good look at other places, this site was definitely the best. We stayed for three nights and loved the space each camper/caravan had. The landscaping was great, with small bushes and trees between each pitch. We were lucky enough to have no neighbours on either side during our stay and found the site very peaceful.
The shower, laundry and kitchen facilities were of a high standard and all immaculately clean.
All the staff we met were friendly and helpful, including the resident dogs and cat!
We would highly recommend this lovely site.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotWaterBeachTop10, Owner at Hot Water Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
What a fantastic review, its lovely for our guests particulary international to have a nice quiet campsite over this time of the year. The park is very large and if we can spread people out I know they appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I'd never have found this place if I wasn't searching for somewhere to stay near to Cathedral Cove to go kayaking. Next time, I'll be making a special trip just to visit Hot Water Beach and stay at this great place. The Deluxe Villas are outstanding and have everything you could possibly need for a stay as short as a night or as long as a week, including a kitchen with microwave, hotplates and utensils to cook your own food, and a BBQ on the deck. Not only do the villas have all the amenities you could need, but they look fantastic too! Very different! Make sure you check the tide times and hire a spade from the friendly front desk staff... the experience of Hot Water Beach is not to be missed!

Room Tip: The Deluxe Villas are outstanding and include a small kitchen complete with microwave, hotplates and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotWaterBeachTop10, Owner at Hot Water Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
These Villas have been such a hit, we posted a picture of the interior of the villas on facebook, and we had over 11,000 views. Thank you so much for taking the time to post a comment and we hope you come back and stay soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desert Hot Springs, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

This hostel was chosen by my Kiwi Experience tour and it was a nice surprise. The hostel seems to be fairly new and so everything is still very clean and fresh. I stayed in the Tui dorm room with my fellow tour travelers. It was basically two dorm rooms that flanked the bathroom/fridge area. We had a room with bunks beds; four single beds and one double bed and I think the room on the other side had the same amount of bed space. The bathroom in the middle had two showers and two toilets with a common two sink area.

Bed sheets and a blanket were provided but towels were not included. The blankets were surprisingly warm and the heater in our dorm room wasn't working so we ended up being cold unless you were under the sheets. Internet was available for a cost and the connection was pretty decent.

My tour group and I used the communal kitchen to cook up some food and there are plates, pans, and cooking utensils available. The only thing we had trouble looking for were eating utensils and we ended up borrowing enough of those from the front office.

The hot water beach is walkable from the hostel and a definite must visit to dig a hole to make your own pool and to try to find the right balance between the steaming hot water from the ground and the cold sea water. The hostel does have spades/shovels for rent and make sure you grab one before you head down to the beach. There also is a bouncy pillow thing onsite - it reminded me of the bouncy castles you went into as a child.

There was a friendly cat that hung around the communal dining area but it usually didn't come into the kitchen unless someone coaxed it into the room. The communal dining room also had a TV set up and a nice warm heater.

There is a fish and chips shop onsite but we ended up cooking our dinner that night so I did not eat there.

If I had the chance, I would stay here again in a heartbeat. It gave me a high bar to set for staying at a hostel and I doubt it'll be beat on my travels for the next few days.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotWaterBeachTop10, Owner at Hot Water Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Its great to see our backpackers posting such positive reviews. This is a growing market for us and we are really enjoying the guests that come through. We hope to see you back here in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed three night in a Deluxe Villa ..... wonderful place!

The toiletries were 'eco' and there were extra "beach towels" so we could enjoy the surroundings

The atmosphere of the park was great .... it didn't matter if you were on a budget (backpackers) or could afford a little bit extra. There was a really positive feeling to this place.

Everything was clean and so inviting! The staff were friendly and helpful.

This place is special ..... I am almost tempted to give it a bad review in case too many people spoil it! (but I won't)

.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotWaterBeachTop10, Owner at Hot Water Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
What a fantastic review, thank you for taking the time to place it on our tripadvisor page. I am so pleased you did'nt write a bad review, but I absolutely understand why you and us would like to keep this little piece of paradise to ourselves, it is beautiful to share though. Hopefully you will come back and visit soon, and bring your friends (but not too many haha)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosebud, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

This is one of the nicest holiday parks we have stayed at on the Coromandel Peninsula. The staff were very friendly and happy to help any way possible. The Deluxe Family Villa was a delight to stay in with all mod cons, very clean, and in a wonderful setting and only a few minutes walk to the
beach. A great place to stay for a memorable and peaceful holiday. Excellent, warm and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotWaterBeachTop10, Owner at Hot Water Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
We really are very lucky to live in a little piece of paradise here at Hotwater Beach. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Just 2 min to hit water beach makes it a perfect location. The cabin we stayed in was a deluxe family Vila with a clean and convenient ensuite.
Full kitchen facilities - mezzanine floor with 2 x singles and a queen down stairs.
Highly recommended

Room Tip: Stay a day or two -
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotWaterBeachTop10, Owner at Hot Water Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
The Villas certainly are proving to be very popular. We are planning our next developments for next year now, thinking it may be more of these villas. Thank you so much for visiting us and we would love to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hot Water Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hot Water Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park

Address: 790 Hot Water Beach Road, Hot Water Beach 3591, New Zealand (Formerly Hot Water Beach Holiday Park)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Hot Water Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Hot Water Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hot Water Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Hot Water Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hot Water Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.