We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best food we had on our trip.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rocky & Carlo's Restaurant

Rocky & Carlo's Restaurant
613 W Saint Bernard Hwy, Chalmette, LA 70043-4822
(504) 279-8323
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 54 restaurants in Chalmette
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Diner, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Nashville
1 review
“The Best food we had on our trip.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Everything was excellent. We took several small orders to try many things on the menu and it was perfect.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

70% Recommend
    28
    17
    13
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hardy, Arkansas, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good Food & Lots of it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

I had to make several trips back to this one. The Hamburger stead with brown gravy was decent but could have been better seasoned (for my tastes), but having grilled onions added made it very good. On another trip I had one grilled onions and changed to tomato sauce, instead of brown gravy. Great. The Po' Boys were, in an overused word, awesome. There's nothing like an Oyster or Shrimp Po' Boy, fries, and a Barq's Root Beer to make you feel like you've come home. I can't wait to go back and gain another twenty pounds.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DEstin Fl
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Lots of quantity, not much quality”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I think one's opinion of R+C will totally depend on what you order. Many in our group made the mistake of having the hamburger "steak" because it looked so good--large burger covered with dark brown gray and lots of onions. Order that with their "famous" mac and cheese, what could go wrong? The "steak" is essentially tasteless and I bet analysis would show more bread in it than meat. The mac and cheese is nothing outstanding and in my opinion also lacking flavor.
The bright spot is their WOP salad (where did that name come from?)---this is an excellent fresh salad with delicious olives and anchovies that you have to ask for --either u like em or u don't.
We did order a muffelatta (sp?) to bring on our fishing trip with the olive mix on the side. This was absolutely delicious and huge!! Two of us could not finish it!!
The steak I saw come out covered the entire plate! The shrimp po boy was also jumping off the plate. What bothers me is the amount of food they must throw out every day---it is a rare person who can come close to finishing their obscene portions. They are certainly doing their best to keep America obese.
Would I eat here again? Yes, but I would order the WOP salad and perhaps some fried shrimp with nothing else.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“OMG-Roast beef po boy sandwich”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

My husband and his brother wanted to visit Chalmette, where they borh lived as teenager's(in 1966). We went to the Battlefield of Chalamette first then visited Rocky & Carlos's. See my husband for years kept telling me about this place and how his mother would bring his family back po boy sandwiches. His whole family kept raving and reminicing about the po boy's since I've known them.
We split a roast beef po boy sandwich, since they are big. The way it was made and ordered it was called dressed, which means extra gravy and mayo. This had to be the best roast beef sandwich I had ever had in my life!!!!! I could of had the whole sandwich and they are huge!!!
Rocky & Carlos's totally lived up to the hype that my husband have been telling me.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joplin, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Pretty Good Food, But Not The Best I've Ever Had”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

My family and I were in New Orleans for the day in early March. The hotel clerk at the Best Western suggested we try Rocky and Carlos because we were wanting some authentic Cajun style food. The food was pretty good, but not incredible. I had a shrimp po boy for about $10 that could have fed 3 of me. It was HUGE! About halfway through my po boy I realized that most of the shrimp had not been devained. Which was unsettleing, but not the end of the world. The overall taste of the poy boy was decent. I also had some of the mac and cheese with brown sauce and that was very tasty. If I were in New Orleans again I probably would not return to Rocky and Carlos. It was ok, but for me it just wasn't one of those places you make a point to go back to when you're in town.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rocky & Carlo's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Rocky & Carlo's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rocky & Carlo's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.