We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic tourist trap” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Landry's Seafood House

Landry's Seafood House
2942 Grand Pt Hwy, Breaux Bridge, LA 70517
+1 337-667-6116
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 55 Restaurants in Breaux Bridge
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Fredericksburg, VA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Classic tourist trap”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I vaguely remembered hearing bad things about Landry's; lunch there recently confirmed them. I ordered shrimp and andouille gumbo and an oyster po-boy. After a very long wait the gumbo arrived. It was watery and salty and had a few shrimp but no andouille sausage. When I came across two tiny oysters I realized I had been given the seafood gumbo my mistake. When my po-boy arrived it was a shrimp po-boy, not the oyster po-boy I had ordered. I tasted one of the tiny shrimp. It was encased in a hard and tasteless carapace of flour and who-knows-what. When I pointed out that both my orders were wrong, the manager took them both off the bill and offered to bring me something else. I wisely declined and went up the road to a stand that sold boudin and chitlins and had a delicious link of boudin for $2.95...a meal you cannot go wrong with (at least I never have) in SW Louisiana

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    17
    14
    13
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Always pleasing.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

Landry's does not boast to be a great Louisiana restaurant. It does how ever have great seafood!! There is nothing cajun about this place. This is a nice dining experience. With a great wine choice and staff that is trained to help you make a pairing. I often enjoy the stuffed shrimp, myself. And the Oyster Rockefeller is pretty great in my opinion.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverthorne, Colorado
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Substandard”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Crawfish bisque was good. Blackened redfish was reddened whitefish. Paprika is NOT a blackening spice. NO SPICE, NO BLACKENING, just substandard fare from a sorry excuse for a Louisiana restaurant.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Cajun food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

First time stopping in and eating at this restaurant. The food and the service were second to none. This is some of the best Cajun food I have ever had outside of my family kitchen. I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for great food.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great food, Great atmosphere, Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stopped by for lunch. The food was great, the fish, shrimp was delicious. The service was great and we were stuffed. I would recommend to anyone headed on I-10.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Landry's Seafood House also viewed

 

Been to Landry's Seafood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Landry's Seafood House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.