We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Zydeco Breakfast: not-to-be-missed experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe' Des Amis

Cafe' Des Amis
140 E Bridge St, Breaux Bridge, LA 70517-5057
337 332 5273
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
New York, USA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Zydeco Breakfast: not-to-be-missed experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Saturday mornings, people come from all around Acadiana to listen to and dance to the best in Zydeco music and enjoy breakfast at Cafe des Amis. I'll give the food 4 stars, but the rating is 5 stars because of the fabulous music and dancing

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    164
    71
    16
    17
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Punta Cana
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Cajun Breakfast - Don't Miss it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We recently attended the Saturday morning Cajun breakfast at Cafe des Amis. What a great time! Be prepared to wait outside for awhile because this is a popular venue for locals as well as tourists. The Zydeco band played non-stop (no breaks) and everyone was thoroughly enjoying themselves. If you like upbeat, happy music and fun dancing......don't miss it!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Park, Maryland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We had lunch here after a swamp tour. We were cold since it was December. The meal here warmed us up right away! Crawfish pie, crawfish cornbread, crawfish enchiladas, turtle soup, gumbo! Everything was just delicious. Our waiter was friendly and helpful but not overbearing. Just loved this place!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Such delectable gumbo.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

The Chicken and Sausage Gumbo is undoubtedly the best that I've eaten as is the Potato Salad. We had lived in New Orleans for seventeen years and took a slight detour to try some of Breaux Bridges' food and how sweet a side trip it was. Even the rice was somehow extraordinary and the Shrimp Creole could hold its own with the best. What a wonderful old cafe set in a quaint little part of south Louisiana.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCal
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Perfectly cooked Duck”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Nice athmosphere especially when they have live music. My duck was cooked perfectly, crispy skin and the meat falling off the bone tender. I only gave it 4 starts instead of 5 because the people at my table that had the pasta thought it was a little too heavy/rich.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe' Des Amis also viewed

 

Been to Cafe' Des Amis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe' Des Amis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.