We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great fun!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pont Breaux's Cajun Restaurant

Pont Breaux's Cajun Restaurant
325 West Mills Avenue, Breaux Bridge, LA
13373324648
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 55 Restaurants in Breaux Bridge
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Port Aransas, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great food, great fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

The exterior of the building dosent look very promising, but as soon as you walk in the door, you get absorbed into the Cajun dancehall experience. The fried alligator is great, and the Cajun blackened catfish is the best! Catfish is usually not on the top of my list, but this was to die for! Encrusted in spices and breadcrumbs then blackened on the grill until perfectly done. It was amazing and I still crave it today. The live cajun music gives the place a lively, authentic feel while you eat the lively authentic food. I would stop here anytime I'm driving on I-10 or I-49

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    59
    25
    18
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shreveport, Louisiana
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“very impressed with this restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

i was not a fan of cajun food but after visiting this restaurant i can say I LOVE IT. The alligator was cooked perfectly and would just melt in your mouth. Everything we ordered was top of the line food. The only thing that I didnt like was that the bread pudding had coconut in it, but that is just my preference. I would highly recommend this, and by the way the music was fantastic. Cant wait to go back again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, AZ
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Cajun Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Great food, great service and great music made this a very enjoyable meal. It was the first timer we heard Cajun music and saw Cajun dancing so we stayed a while after our meal was over.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, TX
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Not What It Used to Be”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I'm a big fried shrimp lover and thought Milate's had the best. So on our way from Fort Worth to New Orleans my husband and I had to stop. I didn't know they had changed hands, but decided to try it anyway. Big mistake! The shrimp were terrible--no taste whatsoever. My husband wasn't thrilled with his meal either which consisted of small shrimp with some sauce over rice. We thought the waitress said it was shrimp soup, but it wasn't even close to soup. On our next trip, we'll just continue driving to New Orleans.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great zydeco music and a good meal in a true cajun place.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

When we arrived in the parking, we were sceptical a bit. Then, once inside, we felt all the spirit and ambiance of the place at once. Okay, this is it. This is truly cajun.

We sat, enjoyed the music with a LA 31 beer, ordered plates of crawfish, catfish and alligator, ate and danced. We were delighted by everything we just mentinned about.

Would clearly go back and enjoy that zydeco all over again!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pont Breaux's Cajun Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Pont Breaux's Cajun Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pont Breaux's Cajun Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.