We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Step into a page of architectural digest with great nature outside your doorsteps” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maison Madeleine

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Breaux Bridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maison Madeleine
Save
You added Maison Madeleine to your Saves list
1015 John D. Hebert Road, Breaux Bridge, LA 70517   |  
Hotel amenities
CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Step into a page of architectural digest with great nature outside your doorsteps”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2011

I celebrate Madelines sense of style and accomplishment in restoring and building a cajun home that is true to its heritage. I especially appreciated the claw tub, beautiful design, the aqua painted doors and the hardware.... It was an amazing experience. It was comfortable and cozy and clean. She was very hospitable and prepared a great breakfast !! If you appreciate interior design and architecture this is a must see, a visual delight and an experience worth having.

My only request would be to update the mattresses quality and trade out the full mattresses to Queens for 2 people to sleep more comfortably. But other than that it truly was a perfect bed and breakfast !!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
22
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

Would we have known, we would have stayed longer. And be it only to have that great breakfast again.
The house is situated in the middle of nowhere but at the same time very close to everything. Getting to the motorway, finding a restaurant, starting a swam tour ... all that is not more than 15 minutes away.
The rooms are very homely and it feels like you are visiting dear family or friends. At the same time Madeleine is not overbearing with her attention (do you know what I mean?) so you dont feel obliged all the time.
Its amazing what Madeleine has done with the place and it needs to be mentioned that all the effort really pays off, but does not reflect in the prices.
And did I mention the breakfast? Its ... I cannot find the words. Go there and try for yourself!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
225 helpful votes 225 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2010

Maison Madeleine is a truly outstanding place to stay. The house is beautiful and full of character. The owner Madeleine is absolutely charming and has poured her heart in to creating an exceptional inn.

We only stayed for one night but we dearly wished that we could have stayed for longer and we plan to return. The area around the inn is fascinating and well worth a visit.

Maison Madeleine gets my highest possible recommendation.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2010

My extended family (5 adults) visited Maison Madeleine in January. It's a very unique b&b, it can only handle up to 6 people total (which is probably a stretch) , but was perfect for us.

Its about a 10 minute driver from Breaux Bridge and Henderson, on the shores of Lake Martin which is a bird sanctuary that is partially owned by the Nature Conservancy (they are building a nature center which is scheduled to open over the next year).

One has the sense of the primordial Louisiana swampland. We were there on an unusually cold week in January, even we saw an owl, herons and egrets. Most of the year there are alligators etc.

We were scheduled to do a swamp tour right on Lake Martin, but the unusual cold (<40 degrees) caused us to cancel so I can't talk about that. We did have a memorable dinner at Pat's in Henderson, and caught a zydeco band there also.

The B&B itself is very charming, it has been featured in Southern magazines. The owner moved an existing antique building and restored it in such a way as to retain most features of the house. There are lovely gardens surrounding the place and we had a truly spectacular breakfast.

We have traveled a lot, and this was really a find.

However, that being said.. it is not the kind of place that will appeal to everyone. The accommodations are intentionally on the "old world" side and the bathroom has a bath rather than a shower.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maison Madeleine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Madeleine

Address: 1015 John D. Hebert Road, Breaux Bridge, LA 70517
Location: United States > Louisiana > Breaux Bridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Breaux Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in your own private oasis in our couples suite located on the second floor of this family home or make the couples suite a two bedroom suite with one bath to share with family and friends. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maison Madeleine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.