We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long-time staple” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Joe Cobb Bossier Bar-B-Q

Joe Cobb Bossier Bar-B-Q
203 Mccormick St, Bossier City, LA 71111-4631
318-221-6512
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 194 Restaurants in Bossier City
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Louisiana
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Long-time staple”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

You can always count on a great meal at Joe Cobb's. Miss seeing Mr. Joe, but Miss Sue is still there everyday making sure everything is run right!! The ham po-boy is over the top. Great beans and potato salad. Can't go wrong with anything on the menu.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    4
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Longview, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A TASTE OF NOSTALGIA”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

Been eating at this establishment since the 70s and it never fails to satisfy your craving for Cobbs unique sauce and the sloppy joe....a favorite of mine since they were 5 for a dollar and after church my mom and my four brothers would converge on this establishment with tounges waggin....IT IS...IT HAS BEEN AND WILL CONTINUE TO BE AN ALL TIME FAVORITE FOR Louisana BBQ

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport/Bossier City, LA
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Averag BBQ, a m om & pop operation that is still hanging in there.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

Average BBQ (don't get me wrong....it's not bad, it's just that there is much better in this market)...Beef sandwich was pretty good, had good flavor but not as much beef as I remembered from years past. Very runny/drippy cole slaw, beans did not do much for me. I remember eating hear years ago and it seems that it was better then. A local "hang-out" for years, but there is much better BBQ to be had here. I will probably eat there again, but it's not a place I'd really go out of my to make a special trip for.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minden, Louisiana, United States
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Going to Cobb's Since I was 10 Years Old!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

My mom and I would go to Cobb's Meat Market in 1953 when A&P was across the street. Joe had a small table set up just right inside the front door selling bar-b-q sandwiches. His brother ran the meat market. My wife and I were there in 1966 when we saw the SS396 Chevelle convertible we had ordered from Red River Chevy go down the Interstate. They were "checking it out"! At 68 years of age and 49 years of marriage, my wife and I still like to meet there for one of those messy poboys!! Today, was one of those days and the food is still the best!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bossier City, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best Bar-B- Que in Bossier”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

At noon, service was excellent, lunch crowd was abuzz. I had a hot link plate with cole slaw and beans and an iced tea. It was delicious. The atmoshere took me back to the '60s and my Bossier High days.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe Cobb Bossier Bar-B-Q also viewed

 

Been to Joe Cobb Bossier Bar-B-Q? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joe Cobb Bossier Bar-B-Q, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.