We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This was a good dining experience.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ralph & Kacoo's Seafood Restaurant

Ralph & Kacoo's Seafood Restaurant
1700 Old Minden Rd Ste 141, Bossier City, LA 71111-4855
(318) 747-6660
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 190 Restaurants in Bossier City
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Tyler, Texas
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
409 helpful votes 409 helpful votes
“This was a good dining experience.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

In Bossier City for an evening, we chose to try Ralph and Kacoo's. She had never been here, I visited once years ago. The restaurant is just off I-20 and relatively easy to find. Located in a shopping center, there is ample parking. We went on a Friday night and it was busy but we were seated immediately.

My wife ordered the Shrimp Trawl that included fried shrimp, stuffed shrimp, shrimp stew and shrimp au gratin that came with one side and her choice was cajun rice. She thought it as good but would have been happier if the fried shrimp had more seasoning. My Crab Trap that included fried crab claws, crab au gratin, a stuffed crab and a soft shelled crab (also served with cajun rice) was excellent. These dinners were $19.99 and served with a basket of hush puppies and dinner rolls. Our service (thank you Chris) was excellent. Portions were quite large as to go boxes seemed to hit all the tables.

I would not hesitate to recommend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    69
    39
    13
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, Louisiana
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

First visit here and, although it was a bit difficult to find, it was pretty good. I've eaten at other Ralph and Kacoo restaurants (New Orleans, Baton Rouge, and Lufkin, TX) and the food and service lived up to their reputation. The interior was a bit dark, but the food was really good and fresh. We will return when in Bossier.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food & friendly atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We don an annual trip with friends to the Bossier city area. Every year, we get a group together at Ralph and Kacoo's. The food is exceptional and the service is always very pleasant. If you are not sfrom Louisiana, I would recommend you eat here. You will see what our food is all about.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Really bad overall”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Can't believe how bad this was. We ate here 2x in 3 days. The only thing half good was the fried catfish, fried shrimp and hush puppies. Cobb salad with crab was mushy and lettuce was soggy. Grilled Mahi Mahi was very overdone and dry. Coleslaw was ok. Vegetables were horrible. We had to wait about 25 minutes for a table for 4. Server was not good. Didn't get our orders right, but was very apologetic. Not what we expected!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bossier City, Louisiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Best Cajun food ever!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I think that some people don't know what good food is. This place has GREAT food!!! I am from South Louisiana, and Ralph and Kacoo's knows how to make Cajun food right. No, its not frozen, no its not mass cooked, its made like my Grandmother used to make in her kitchen. Seafood is fresh and tender. Eating here was like getting a hug from my Grandmother.

Although we had to wait for 30 minutes, it was time well spent. This is not fast food people! It's the real deal. My only complaint is that they dont have live music or an outdoor eating area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ralph & Kacoo's Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Bossier City, LA
Bossier City, LA
 

Been to Ralph & Kacoo's Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ralph & Kacoo's Seafood Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.