We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BE CAREFUL!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of MainStay Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added MainStay Suites to your Saves list
MainStay Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1001 Gould Drive, Bossier City, LA 71111   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 33 Hotels in Bossier City
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
100 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“BE CAREFUL!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This hotel is an old Residence Inn that has being turned into a Main Stay but it is far from over or complete. There is much to be done.

The whole look of the complex is dirty and rundown. There was trash on the sidewalks and stairs. There seemed to be people living in the property full time.

My room which was quite large had the flat screen television hanging half off of the wall.. The furniture was dirty and worn. The front staff seemed a bit disinterested.

I support the hotel in their efforts to upgrade their property but I would urge them to hurry with the work. This hotel is not worth staying at until the work is done.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    17
    14
    10
    20
See reviews for
20
8
11
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Terry, Mississippi
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

The Mainstay would be a descent choice for a construction worker in the area for the week. The place shows signs of wear tear. The motel is a group of closely situated buildings similar to lower quality patio homes. They are one bedroom suites with ample space including a double bed, a couch with sitting area and a full kitchen including dishwasher. The quality of accommodations is poor primarily due to wear and maintenance. Trash litters the sidewalks and there was a beer bottle sitting on the patio of our room. We booked this accommodation through a "name your own price" website that rated this place 2 1/2 stars. They missed the rating badly. A fair rating would have been 1 1/2 stars. Since we got a rate of $55/night, I feel we got our money's worth. However, I would not choose this place again for a one stopover. There are too many better choices in the area for a little higher price.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Mainstay Suites in Bossier City Sucks !!!! Make sure you never stay there. Hotel was dirty and falling apart. We rented a 2 bedroom suite with 2 baths only put us 4 towels total. No mattress on the sofa bed, ran out of propane for the grill, wire brush to clean the grill looked like someone brushed a dog with it. We paid full price and got [--] service and filty - DON'T STAY THERE.
Called to complain said since we didn't notify them we would be more than one person (default setting on reservation system I guess - why would I get a room with 3 beds and 2 bathrooms???)
no recourse - I guess this is the only way I can get some satisfaction.

Thanks
Charlotte Clavier

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Richland Hills, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

I booked this room through an online deal where they keep the hotel name secret until you actually book and pay for the trip, so I didn't really expect anything when I got there. I have to say that I really enjoyed my two night stay at this hotel. The room is very spacious, had a fireplace, flat screen tv mounted on the wall, nice size full kitchen with pots and pans, etc. Air conditioning worked perfectly, the room was very clean and the bed was super comfortable! The vanity area is a nice size as well. There is a free breakfast offered (the day we stayed they had sausage, omelets, waffles, bagels, cereal, grits or oatmeal, etc). Pool area is very nice, it actually lights up different colors which is really pretty at night. I really enjoyed my stay here and will definitely book again for my future stays to Shreveport/Bossier.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

First, the suites were huge. Our room had two beds on the main floor (one a sofa bed) and a kingsize bed upstairs. There were two bathrooms (one on each floor), a kitchen, a sitting area, 2 TVs. Air conditioning worked well. It would be a good place for a family to stay. The bed was comfortable.

On the down side:
- The decor was dated and run down
- Some of our neighbors thought partying outside their room was the thing to do. The rooms were quiet enough that the noise didn't bother us, but it was messy outside afterward.
- The shower in the downstairs bathroom didn't work properly.
- The setting of the property wasn't the most pleasant. But it is popular, with several other hotels in the immediate vicinity, another new one being constructed next door.
- The breakfast was minimal; the first morning the potatoes I got were dried out, having sat out too long.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

This hotel had a nice lay out as far as rooms. Full kitchen,living room and nice size bathroom. My #1 complaint was the sheets either were not washed between guest or was pulled out of stoarage. It was clear they were not freshly washed, really grossed me out. The bathoom floor was sticky as if cough medicine has been split on it. I really had to wonder If the cleaning staff was not taking short cuts by not changing out bed sheets. My only other complaint was for a woman traveling alone it was dangerous. The room numbers were not clearly marked. The only way I could see the room numbers require I roam around in the dark going room to room. Now for the positive. This could be a nice hotel for the price. The rooms were not all that unclean as the only areas I had complaints about was the sheets and bathroom floor. You just can't get around clean sheets! I would suggest that management do some spot checks to be sure sheets are being changed out between guest. Also put up some clear markings so guest can find the rooms at night. Now if your the guest I Woukd suggest you Check your sheets upon arrival and request clean sheets if you find they appear unwashed. As the title states, it could be really nice with better oversight.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

I've never stayed at a MainStay Suites before and was really surprised at the room, especially after some of the recent bad reviews. The Bossier city lowest-rate room is basically a furnished efficiency apartment. Full kitchen (with oven/stove, full sized refrigerator, microwave and dishwasher), office area with internet, small living room, big screen TV, comfy Queen sized bed, and a large vanity area in the bathroom. The hotel grounds appear to be an old apartment complex with separate buildings. Lots of amenities, including Hot Breakfast.
The only down side was the guy working the counter when I checked in Monday night June 11. Either he was having a bad day, or just generally not very personable. I hope I just caught him on a bad day.

Room Tip: I'd suggest staying in a unit away from the pool - was very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bossier City hotels
0.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Bossier City
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Shreveport / Bossier City
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn Bossier City
La Quinta Inn Bossier City
#14 of 33 in Bossier City
3.5 of 5 stars 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Horseshoe Casino Luxury All-Suite Hotel
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Shreveport/Bossier City
0.8 mi away
Shreveport Country Inn
Shreveport Country Inn
#21 of 33 in Bossier City
3.5 of 5 stars 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MainStay Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MainStay Suites

Address: 1001 Gould Drive, Bossier City, LA 71111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Bossier City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 33 Hotels in Bossier City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — MainStay Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Manager Social(Lite Dinner) Mon and Wed evening 4.30 pm till 7.30 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Choice Hotels so you can book your MainStay Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MainStay Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.