We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bird's the word!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pollo Regio

Pollo Regio
2035 Airline Dr, Bossier City, LA 71111-3203
318-741-3339
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 196 Restaurants in Bossier City
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Shreveport/Bossier City, LA
Level Contributor
124 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Bird's the word!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We eat here quite often as there is no other place that serves chicken as delicious in this market. Last week we saw that Church's has something called "Texas chicken", we tried it and it pales in comparison to Pollo Regio. Folks, this is the real deal when it comes to chicken done right. Marinated, smoked, great value and good sides. I wish there was a spray air freshener that smelled like the smoke coming out of this place...yeah, it's THAT GOOD!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    6
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Destin, FL
Level Contributor
68 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Positively different 'fast food'!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

This place is not like any other 'fast food' place, but in a really good way. First the workers are really nice and friendly. And more importantly the food is delicious and unique. The chicken is tender and deliciously flavored. I would love to try some of their other menu items but the chicken is just so good I'm not sure I will. Get the green sauce. It is creamy, tangy, and a little spicey, but it compliments the chicken wonderfully. Although the chicken is mouth watering by itself. You get a lot of food for your money. And if you do the drive through, they package everything really well (like wrapping the cups if sauces with Saran Wrap so if a lid pops off it doesn't make a mess everywhere). This is really a wonderfully different place and I can't wait to go back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
howelldw
Level Contributor
83 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“You are missing out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I have ate at the ones in Texas and was thrilled to see Bossier finally got a restaurant. It is a treat to try different selections off the menu. The chicken is great! Eat in or go through the drive through. Watch for their specials. Also be sure to get both sauces and some fresh limes.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best for your buck”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Growing up next to the boarder of Mexico, I have become skeptical of places claiming to be "authentic" Mexican food. Pollo Regio, however, takes me back home from the fresh horchata, friendly bilingual service and really, truly authentic tasting Mexican chicken! I'd recommend the Medio Pollo combo, but be prepared to share it with a friend since the portions are quite satisfying.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver Co
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Real Mexican Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We had lunch and it was great. We have eaten at there locations in Irving Tx. but the first time in Bossier City we will go back there to eat.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pollo Regio also viewed

 

Been to Pollo Regio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pollo Regio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.