We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value in a clean and comfortable room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Shreveport-Bossier City/Louisiana Downs

Save Saved
You added SpringHill Suites Shreveport-Bossier City/Louisiana Downs to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Shreveport-Bossier City/Louisiana Downs
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8010 E. Texas Street, Bossier City, LA 71111   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #9 of 33 hotels in Bossier City
Weatherford, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good Value in a clean and comfortable room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Well maintained exterior and lobby area. The rooms were well appointed for hotels of this type. Clean room and a comfortable bed. The staff was friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable about the local area. They even realized that I was eligible for a discount and lowered my rate.

We just spent the night while on a long trip, but I would return if I came back to the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua R, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Shreveport-Bossier City/Louisiana Downs, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you so much for reviewing our property! Feedback is extremely important to us and I have shared yours with our team. We are excited you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to seeing you again during your next trip to the Shreveport/Bossier City Area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    28
    15
    10
    3
See reviews for
23
39
11
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Apex, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Nice rooms clean rooms, breakfast is a little less than we expected but it was good. Nice area by Harras Casino and restaurants you should find before you come there aren't many restaurants near by.... Right on I-20 great location for road trips!!!! (going east or west)... Only stayed here for one night on thanksgiving little crowded but it was expected.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua R, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Shreveport-Bossier City/Louisiana Downs, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Our Housekeeping Team works very hard to ensure our guests have a wonderful in-room experience. It is our goal that all of our guests have a clean and comfortable environment in which they can relax and enjoy. I apologize that our breakfast was less than expected. We offer many wonderful items including but not limited to waffles, eggs, sausage, multiple cereals, bread items, biscuits and gravy and so so much more! A lot of these items vary from day to day.I hope that you will visit us again during your travels to the Shreveport-Bossier area and give our breakfast and team the opportunity to WOW you! We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I have stayed at this property over 7 times. It is a very nice and convenient property. I jus tdo not understand the maid staff here. This last time (we just stayed here to two days total), I asked for a top floor to be away from the noise. They put in room 401 right next to the housekeeping staff. OF course we gambled all night to come in to the noise from the maids banging around in the next area. They were even vacuuming at 9 in the morning. Who can sleep? Who can relax, isn't that what we are here for? This is not the first time the noise level in this hotel has been bothersome for us. For some reason the housekeeping staff bangs those carts around up and down the aisles. We also left for the whole day yesterday and no one came in and serviced our room. The property is nice, The set up in the rooms are great where you have a living area and sleeping area. Too bad the cannot do something about the noise level.

Room Tip: Did not get room 401
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua R, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Shreveport-Bossier City/Louisiana Downs, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
I would like to express my appreciation for taking the time to review the SpringHill Suites Louisiana Downs. Thank you so much for your wonderful words about our property and room layout. We look forward to all feedback, good and bad, as it gives us the opportunity to take actionable steps to ensure all of our guests have an exceptional experience. I can understand how frustrating it must have been to not get the rest and relaxation you certainly deserved as one of our loyal guests. I have personally shared your experience with our housekeeping team and would like to apologize for this inconvenience. We are looking forward to your next visit so that we may provide both a quiet and memorable experience for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

This is a very nice hotel. The staff is considerate and efficient and the rooms are updated, clean and in good repair. They have a very nice breakfast in the mornings and small market with drinks, snacks and necessities for other times of the days.

This hotel is literally in the parking lot of the Louisiana Downs, which made for a fun trip. convenient.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua R, Manager at SpringHill Suites Shreveport-Bossier City/Louisiana Downs, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review the SpringHill Suites Shreveport/Bossier City - Louisiana Downs. I am always excited to hear when our guests have a wonderful time! We enjoy ensuring all of our guests feel comfortable during their time away from home. We are looking forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

This hotel is about 1/4 mile from the Harrah's casino. Close by is the Holiday Inn Express. The lobby is spacious and has and open air large seating area for the morning breakfast, there is a business center with two screens using iBAHN high speed cable which is free and is in the room as well, check-in was hassle free very friendly staff. Lots of coffee 24/7 in lobby. We were here complements of the Horseshoe Casino which was booked. Room was on the first floor. Excellent air conditioning with a built in Trane in the wall and thermostat.
46 inch screen TV. Sectional couch, two separate brush steel end tables, very swank. Brush steel framed pictures on the wall. Study desk with sliding sectional glass to give the person in the beds an unlit sleeping area. Phone on desk and near beds. Ergonomic adjustable chair. Outside sink in a kitchenette with a 6 cup coffee maker, with microwave on glass shelf above sink, small fridge below. Doors have pneumatic closure so watch the fingers.
Two queen beds and two closets very nice at the end of the room. A negative is the air conditioner was dropping water onto the carpet at 65 degree setting. Condensation should be dropping outside not inside. Marble countertops to sink in kitchenette and to bathroom sink. 46 inch LG TV with clear operational remote. LodgeNet for cable TV. Padded oak colored headers for beds and dresser beneath TV. Lime green is the color to the room and padded headers on the beds. Standard sized tub. Good shower but no mat to avoid falls. Lots of hot water. Vertical safety rail in front of shower but not to the rear. Curved shower rod. Linen shower curtin outside the plastic one. Very nice texture. Tiled floor. Carpet dirty at kitchenette and room. Lots of spills. Lamps have a 1960s motif with elongated shades. Neon lighting over the bed headers and at study desk.
Sundries are limited to two rolls of toilet paper and some shampoo and lotion plus a bar of soap. Towels are plush and over the toilet area. Toilet is 1.6 gallon with a weak flush...Kohler brand. Sink and bath separated by small hallway. Toilet and bath together. This particular setup looks big enough to accomodate a wheelchair or walker even though it is not a disabled room. Recessed ceiling lighting is in the room but not very strong for reading. Beds are springy but comfortable. Top sheet with blankets below and 4-5 pillows per bed. Alarm clock and phone plus table between beds.
Folding luggage valet in closet for 1 bag. Full sized iron and ironing board. Full sized wheeled porters at entrance to hotel for clothes on hangers and luggage from car. No valet parking and no room service. Circle K across street, Race Track station about 1/ 2 mile to the right from the casino and horsetrack street that leads back to Harrah's. Steakhouse to the left at the light about 1 mile. Waffle House also across the street near the hotel. Also a Taco Bell. Harrah's also has a buffet and a sandwich and pastry shop. Free hotel breakfast consists of waffles, toast, bagels, muffins, scrambled eggs, sausage (or bacon), grits, chocolate milk, regular milk, cereals, yes fruit loops for kids, 3 brands of yogurt, apples, bananas, coffee, orange juice, and yes people walk in off of the lot from other hotels and eat there. There is a very nice exercise room with treadmills and a TV, an indoor pool that is small and 4.5 ft. deep. Ice machine at the end of the halls. Rooms are quiet and not much outside or room to room noise. There is an area by the front desk with refrigerated sodas for purchase and a few snacks plus combs, nail clippers, etc. Side door entrances with card use. Lots of parking for disabled. Can be busy and crowded on weekends with horse races. No security but in one of the better areas of Bossier. About 5-7 miles to downtown and the Horseshoe. A 4 star experience easily.

Room Tip: Bring a car. Downstairs rooms are best if you have lots of luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Worth, TX
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

The room had a king bed, roll-in shower, sofa, desk and room to drive and recharge a scooter. There was an ironing board but no iron. There was no light near the desk, so I asked the desk clerk for one; it never arrived. The free breakfast was adequate but they kept running out of items and the attendant just stood there. I nicely pointed out that one of the coffee dispensers was empty, but she did nothing. Later I started to ask her to empty the overflowing waste receptacle near another coffee machine, but she cut me off saying she could't refill the first dispenser for some weird reason. She finally did refill the coffee and empty the trash. The indoor swimming pool is a plus for arthritic guests.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Front desk clerk was very nice and provided quick serivce. 4th floor room looking out on race track. We had two closets, small pit group couch, very nice work station, cofee maker, refrig and microwave. Kitchen is a great way to save money when you are traveling. Love having separate sink/ toilet area. Breakfast was ok- it is free and you can find something to eat. only complaint, could hear radio in the next room. Loved the beds, pillows were pretty strange.

Room Tip: Not much around it except race track and a Waffle house. I prefer an outdoor pool, but it is better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Shreveport-Bossier City/Louisiana Downs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Shreveport-Bossier City/Louisiana Downs

Address: 8010 E. Texas Street, Bossier City, LA 71111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Bossier City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Bossier City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Shreveport-Bossier City/Louisiana Downs 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Expedia so you can book your SpringHill Suites Shreveport-Bossier City/Louisiana Downs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Shreveport-Bossier City/Louisiana Downs Hotel Bossier City
Springhill Suites Bossier City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Shreveport-Bossier City/Louisiana Downs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.