We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bum guest room; fully blocked window” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Executive Center Baton Rouge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Executive Center Baton Rouge to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Executive Center Baton Rouge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4728 Constitution Avenue, Baton Rouge, LA 70808   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #28 of 69 Hotels in Baton Rouge
Seattle WA
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Bum guest room; fully blocked window”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

When other Priceline bidders write about the occasional bum room they get stuck with, I wondered if my turn would come. It did last night.

Room 234 for $79 bid (incl tax) had a full width window completely obstructed by a wood louver. Peeking through the slats I could see a 2 story hallway in their function room wing. The HVAC thru-wall unit was circulating indoor air from the corridor and not the outdoors. (See my pictures). I did not think this would meet occupancy building codes.

Upon arrival into the room, I collapsed from fatigue and did not think to gather my things back up, go to the front desk, and ask for a new room with daylight. The next morning when I checked out, I brought up how poor the window was, and they apologized and said I should have come back downstairs to get a new room.

The desk clerk needs to notify people they are getting one of these rooms (there are several) vs. sneaking it. The young man seemed pretty sharp, experienced; I was respectful and did nothing to deserve such a lame set up, other than get a deal on Priceline. It was finally “my turn”, I guess!

In other respects, the room was okay, more like 2 stars than 3. Having just stayed at a Crowne Plaza in Alexandria VA, this one was showing its age, had many 80’s finishes and design, and truly a major step down considering it’s sharing the same name.

Location is immediately next to the roaring state # 10 freeway. Many stores and restaurants are close by, (and PENTHOUSE strip joint). The outdoor pool is minuscule.

Oh, and the flat screen TV was never sharp focus. They must not pay for HD. Coffee maker was not working, either.

As you can tell by the tone of this, I would never return, and did not linger at all.

Room Tip: Do not accept any rooms on the 2nd floor with a fully blocked window, such as 234.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Executive Center Baton Rouge, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am sorry you felt like you were treated differently because you had a Priceline reservation. We treat all our guests with same level of hospitality and appreciation. We have replaced the coffee maker and the hotel soon will be converting to HD signal for better quality TV reception. We hope you give us another chance to change your perception of our hotel.

Sincerely,
Scott Michelet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    40
    30
    23
    18
See reviews for
20
26
9
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I did a 3-night stay at this property while working with a client. The hotel appears to have been renovated in recent years. I had a good experience.

Staff I encountered were well-trained and helpful. Housekeeping and convention staff were friendly.

The gym is excellent. Well-equipped. You will get a $4.95 charge to your final bill for every entry however which is not explained anywhere and is not clear on the final bill.

I had a little niggle with their in-room coffee service. You've got to pull the entire thing out of the armoire and there's not a convenient place to plug in the coffeemaker in the bathroom. The in-room fridge is appreciated.

There were several conventions using the property during my stay but the infrastructure handles it and I didn't notice any deterioration of service.

Overall a very good experience vs. other Baton Rouge alternatives. I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: Try to get above the third floor. Lighter. I had a room that looked out onto the convention center r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Executive Center Baton Rouge, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of our hotel. We appreciate you acknowledging our friendly staff and nice accommodations. We are proud of our 3,000 square foot well-equipped gym! Thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza Executive Center and we hope to see you again soon!

Sincerly,
Scott Michelet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisville, Tx
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

This Crowne Plazza is beautiful, most friendly, and most of all, PROFESSIONAL. The dining, while north of just good, is so much enhanced by the staff service, attitude and congeniality.

I LOVE IT, AND I stay in IHG FACILITIES NOT NEARLY SO WELL PREPARED.

Room Tip: Suites are well worth the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Executive Center Baton Rouge, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for your great review. We love to hear when we have exceeded expectations. I will be sure to pass this review on to our restaurant and kitchen staff. Excellent customer service is the Crowne Plaza Executive Center's top priority and we are glad to know we provided that level of service on your recent stay with. We look forward to you staying with us again soon.

Sincerely,
Scott Michelet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

I travel for work and spend half the month in hotels. This hotel has the most impressive gym I've seen. Several hundred square feet with at least 40+ machines and dozens of TVs. The attached restaurant serves huge portions at reasonable prices

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at the Crown Plaza in Baton Rouge several times and it is always a wonderful experience. Everyone is very accommodating and the prices are perfect. It is a great location. There are many restaurants close by and it is also close to LSU campus. I will continue to stay at this hotel for all of my Baton Rouge visits.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for a trip to Baton Rouge to visit family. It was very nice and in a great location. The staff was very nice and accommodating. It is close to LSU for games and campus visits. We would definitely stay there again on our next trip to Baton Rouge.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for the first time 7 years ago before my wedding and try to stay at least one a year since. A sentimental favorite of mine and always will be! My most recent stay was for 5 nights and I took part in many services while there for that extended length of time and from bar to pool to exercise facility to executive lounge everything was great

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Executive Center Baton Rouge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Executive Center Baton Rouge

Address: 4728 Constitution Avenue, Baton Rouge, LA 70808
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Baton Rouge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 69 Hotels in Baton Rouge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Executive Center Baton Rouge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Crowne Plaza Executive Center Baton Rouge (formerly Holiday Inn Select) Enjoy the premier hotel location in the Baton Rouge area. Situated with direct access to I-10 at College Dr. & Constitution Ave., the hotel is conveniently located to shopping, dining, local attractions & corporate headquarters. Business travelers appreciate the hotel s proximity of the Crowne Plaza Executive Center Baton Rouge to Shell Oil, Exxon Mobil, Shaw Group, & Dow Chemical. The hotel is also within minutes of several renowned medical facilities such as Mary Byrd Perkins Center, Our Lady of the Lake Hospital, Baton Rouge General, Pennington Biomedical Research Center & Ochsner Health System. The River Center is a 10 minute drive from the hotel. Leisure guests will find the Crowne Plaza Executive Center Baton Rouge the perfect base for exploring local attractions such as Louisiana State University (LSU), USS Kidd, Southern University (SU), the Blue Bayou Waterpark & Dixie L&in . Shoppers will love visiting The Mall of Louisiana, Perkins Rowe, Tanger Outlets, & Towne Center. A day trip to New Orleans French Quarter entertainment is a quick trip down I-10. The hotel features a business center, free wireless Internet, a 24 hour health club, restaurant, lounge, & gift shop. The plaza level offers a private lounge & concierge service. Relax in our tropical outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Executive Center Baton Rouge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Baton Rouge
Baton Rouge Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Executive Center Baton Rouge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.