We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“are you kidding me??” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Hotel Baton Rouge

Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites Hotel Baton Rouge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites Hotel Baton Rouge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4914 Constitution, Baton Rouge, LA 70808   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% off for our military
Ranked #38 of 69 hotels in Baton Rouge
Houston and surrounding areas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“are you kidding me??”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2008

I have stayed in numerous embassy suites and this was by far the nastiest. Where to begin---we went to our assigned room and there was a room service tray outside our room from a previous guest that was not removed for 2 days. We repeatedly asked the front desk to recode our key cards because they only worked twice throughout the 3 days. The lock on our door locked half of the time with no resolve from the front desk. 2 of the 4 elevators had problems either getting stuck or just not working. The absolute highlight was when a member of our party's vehicle was broken into and many items were stolen. Apparently this hotel has this problem often due to the lack of security cameras on their building. I am surprised that Hilton would put their name on this hotel.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed June 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    89
    75
    66
    45
    40
See reviews for
96
52
14
110
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warren, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2008

After traveling for a family reunion in Houma, my wife and I stayed the night here prior to flying home to Detroit. The hotel is a bit dated, however there was nothing wrong the room. We had a problem with the air conditioning in our room; we called down to the front desk and were told that if they could not fix it in "FIVE" minutes that they would move us to another room. Within three minutes 2 members of the hotel staff had visited our room and were helping us carry our luggage to the new room 3 doors down. This is the type of service I wish every hotel offered. We were very impressed and will be staying here again in September. The bed was very comfortable, like sleeping in my own. Great service and a Great nights sleep, what more could one ask from a hotel.

  • Liked — Great staff and nice bed
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2008

My family spent one night in the Embassy Suites on our way to take a cruise out of New Orleans. I thought it was the perfect choice for our needs. My daughter loved the indoor pool. I personally love having a separate area to watch TV after my daughter (she is 5) goes to sleep. The hotel could be a bit loud. There was a swim meet in town and the hotel was FULL of kids. Their voices echoed in the atrium as they yelled across the hotel. They went to bed at a decent hour and it didn't bother us at all. This isn't a four star hotel, but it was perfect for us.

  • Liked — The fact tha the room was a large suite
  • Disliked — It was hard to access
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2008

I may be a snobby northerner, but this hotel seems to suffer from the same problem as many other establishments in the deep south - they may look good on the outside, but the inside hasn't been renovated for decades, and it shows.

The website for the hotel says a major renovation took place in 2007, but it's tough to see where this happened. The rooms look old, especially the furniture, the fixtures, and the telephones. The HVAC system was noisy and not that effective, and overall air quality was so-so. The lock was broken on the sliding window/door in the bedroom. The elevators are old and slow. The lobby area is OK. I didn't have time to check out the pool and exercise room.

Cleanliness was an issue. The carpet never seemed to get vacuumed properly, and I was there for a few days. Bathroom was fine. Bedding and pillows were clean but blankets and sheets were old and sub-standard for this hotel class. Then there was a little spider that set up camp on my bed during the daytime, and I had to chase him away every night. I finally had to whack him in the Sopranos sense of the word.

The hotel charges 10 bucks a day for high-speed wireless internet access, and phone charges are very expensive. For this price point, internet and local phone should be free. Not good. The two TVs worked but sound quality wasn't great and one didn't respond well to the remote.

Pluses for the hotel include relatively easy access from major highway, adequate and free parking, good free breakfast, and free cocktails in the evening if you're into that. I also ordered a surprisingly good grilled ribeye steak from room service.

  • Liked — Location and breakfast
  • Disliked — Cleanliness and internet charges
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2008

This was our first stay at an Embassy Suites. We stayed one night in a two room suite while traveling home to Texas from Georgia. When we checked in at 5:00pm, the parking lot was full and the open atrium lobby was a very noisy. The desk clerk explained that they were hosting a 50th wedding anniversary party. If you want a hotel that is always quiet, this is not it. We went to dinner early and missed the manager's special that was to include draft beer, mixed drinks and hot snacks. The party was over when we returned from dinner and the lobby was peaceful with a large coy pond, tropical plants and a waterfall. The room was very spacious, surprisingly clean, and well configured. The beds are SUPER comfortable! Watch out for the elevators, the doors close in a hurry and don't stop for the timid. The breakfast was the best part of our stay. It included made to order omelets, eggs, pancakes, bacon, hash browns, grits, biscuits & gravy, etc. Very good quality and friendly service. We will stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, LA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2007

My family stayed at this hotel while visiting me in the Baton Rouge area the weekend after thanksgiving. With two youngsters in tow, the heated indoor swimming pool was the selling point for this hotel - except that the pool heater was not working, and no staff seemed too interested in fixing it. The breakfast buffet was better than the average cereal dispenser, yogurt and make you own waffle fare, but there was a dank odor to the whole place that seemed to just seep into your pores. In sum, good breakfast, ice cold pool, weird smell, average room.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — Pool was ice cold.
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, LA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2007

This was our first stay in an Embassy Suites and we were very pleased with the service, room, and food at the restaurant.
We were attending a wedding at White Oaks Plantation, which was approximately a 30 min drive away - so not terribly convenient by location. The rooms were well designed with the bedroom away from the entrance and hallway to minimize noise. The linens were updated and the bed was very comfortable. We were on the third floor. I don't recommend the upper floors to those with height issues or small children. The rooms look over an internal atrium - which is gorgeous, but a little daunting from 8 floors up. The restaurant had great service and wonderful food. The only problem we had was the lack-luster slow-moving individuals at the front desk. They only had two people working the desk the day before the LSU/FL game with several weddings booked into the hotel, which caused a major back up. Several major mistakes were made - including a fellow traveler being put in the wrong room and being registered as "not checked in yet" at the front desk. Perhaps they were new employees. Despite this we will definitely stay here again if the need arises.

  • Liked — The atrium
  • Disliked — The inconsistency of the staff
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Embassy Suites Hotel Baton Rouge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Hotel Baton Rouge

Address: 4914 Constitution, Baton Rouge, LA 70808
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Baton Rouge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 69 hotels in Baton Rouge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Hotel Baton Rouge 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a spacious home on the road in Louisiana’s capital city at the Embassy Suites Baton Rouge hotel. We' e proud to provide an upscale relaxed environment, whether you're travelling for business or leisure, in a hotel centrally located for all that Baton Rouge has to offer.Wake up in a spacious bedroom and revitalize in an elegant bathroom in a two-room suite at Embassy Suites Baton Rouge. All suites offer two 32-inch TVs, a refrigerator, coffee maker and microwave for convenience. Modern cardio machines and weights in the fitness center combine with a pool to allow tailoring any exercise program. Or host any function, from a pre-meeting briefing for 16 to weddings or company seminars for 500. Enjoy a free cooked-to-order breakfast, savor Cajun specialties at Zydeco Bar & Grill, and join us every night at Evening Reception, when the Embassy Suites Baton Rouge community gathers to socialize by the koi fish pond in the classic Louisiana style of our open-air atrium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Embassy Suites Hotel Baton Rouge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Baton Rouge
Baton Rouge Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Hotel Baton Rouge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.