We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Good, I Guess!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Baton Rouge Marriott

Save Saved
You added Baton Rouge Marriott to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Baton Rouge Marriott
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5500 Hilton Avenue, Baton Rouge, LA 70808   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #44 of 69 hotels in Baton Rouge
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Pretty Good, I Guess!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013 via mobile

This Marriott is very clean, has a nice set of people at the front desk and is near some good places to eat. The gym, while small, did the trick for a good workout this afternoon.

That's really all I can say about this place. It's just simply forgettable. From a design standpoint, this hotel is perfectly preserved in the early 1990s, which says a bunch for their housekeeping and maintenance teams. They must be awesome if this old furniture looks this good! The hotel is really in great condition, it's just a Marriott with zero design aesthetic or recent updates.

Also, the freeway is annoyingly loud and I'm on level 17!

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    43
    38
    27
    10
See reviews for
14
14
12
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Goodyear, Arizona, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

People were wonderful. Outstanding service. I was delayed on my flight out and they tracked the delays for me as well as held my room for the eventual overnight delay. Great view on the 20th floor concierge service and breakfast. Great business stay. Best place in Baton Rouge and better then most Marriott's.

Room Tip: I asked for a better rate when checking in and they immediately took $30/night off
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pace, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

My stay at the Baton Rouge Marriott was top notch. I used the hotel as the host hotel for the Baton Rouge Beach Marathon. My room was very quiet and clean. The bed was very comfortable. It was unseasonably cold on race day and when I returned to the hotel. They was plenty of hot water. The front desk personnel were kind and considerate at checkin and checkout. This was my second stay at this hotel and now my choice hotel for this event.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Let me start by saying customer service and satisfaction is above all at the Baton Rouge Marriott!! Although I am not a people person, it's hard to be rude to anyone who just wants to help in any way humanly possible to assist in assuring that your stay is complete with everything you need, want, and so much more. My stay was in room 2016 right next to the concierge parlor. Amazing view out over the Baton Rouge city skyline with the city capital out in the distance and even LSU's famous Tiger Stadium or better known as "Death Valley" haha. The room was more than spacious with a pull out sofa and luxuriously comfortable king size bed that I just didn't want to leave!! I just happen to be staying the weekend Texas A&M football team was staying there at the hotel to play LSU...I never heard a disturbing sound not once through the walls so that was a huge plus for sleep time. The concierge breakfast, snacks, and dinner was beyond superb. Even had the wonderful hostess prepare me a nice unwinding drink after a long day of work that was well needed thanks! Overall, I couldn't be more pleased with my stay here. Marriott should graciously thank general manager Mr. Al and sales associate Mrs. Teri because they are most definitely going to make sure your every need has been met while all at the same time delivering southern hospitality at it's finest. I say thank you to them and the team you have put together here at the property. Anytime I travel to Baton Rouge this will always be my #1 hotel of choice!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
League City, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Attended the LSU family weekend and booked at this motel. The room was clean but there was not a working fan in the bathroom. Made for bad oder, if you know what I mean, since the room was fairly small. Went for breakfast and found the restaurant to be woefully understaffed. Waited to be seated, waited to be attended to and breakfast ended up being an hour of futility (food was good). Attempted to use the drink vending machines on my floor but it was out of order. Had to go to 5 different floors o find a bottle of water, all we're out. Remember, this was Friday of LSU homecoming weekend, you would think the vending machines would be stocked. No free WiFi, $12.95 per day. Went to the game but became I'll and had to return to the motel, and you guessed it, they did not have a channel showing the game. Very disappointed in ths stay, probably would not return.

Room Tip: Stayed on the 18 th floor, it was quiet and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas, USA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Are there newer and fancier hotels in Baton Rouge? Sure, but I keep coming back to this hotel because of the exceptional customer service from the front desk staff to the maintenance staff to the concierge staff. At the end of a long business day it is the service that makes a difference. Staff are super helpful and go out of their way to address every imaginable need from checking to see if I left my cellphone charger in the room after I checked out to running down some restaurant needs for clients. Super cheerful front desk staff, always eager to make sure I get just the right
accommodations for my needs.

Kayla Carter and Brandon King at the front desk are superstars for their service.

Will continue to return.

Location near large variety of restaurants, Starbucks (not as many in LA as other states), and proximity to interstate are also a plus.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans LA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We stay here a couple of times per month for football games and are never displeased. There could certainly be better service in the bar but overall it's a reliably comfortable place to stay. Food service is adequate...........neither great nor bad.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Baton Rouge Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baton Rouge Marriott

Address: 5500 Hilton Avenue, Baton Rouge, LA 70808
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Baton Rouge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 69 hotels in Baton Rouge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Baton Rouge Marriott 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Marriott, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Baton Rouge Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baton Rouge Marriott Hotel Baton Rouge
Marriott Baton Rouge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baton Rouge Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.