We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice restaurant, view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tsunami Shaw Center - Baton Rouge

Tsunami Shaw Center - Baton Rouge
100 Lafayette St, Baton Rouge, LA 70801
(225) 346-5100
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Tsunami Shaw Center - Baton Rouge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 849 Restaurants in Baton Rouge
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Romantic, Entertaining clients, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Convention/North St/Third
Description: Sister restaurant to Tsunami Lafayette, we offer a diverse menu which focuses on obtaining the freshest seafood and all around ingredients available. Our menu has remained water cooler conversation with its Japanese and Eastern fare, striving to add innovative new dishes as we travel the globe sampling ideas and bringing them back to our beloved customers. Food offerings include standard sushi rolls, nigiri and sashimi. In addition to our fresh Japanese tempura and teriyaki dishes, TSUNAMI also offers delicious Asian inspired specials on Friday and Saturday evenings, ranging from duck to wahoo to ribeye steak prepared by our award winning chefs.
Stonington, Connecticut
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant, view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

This restaurant is on the 6th floor of the Shaw Building in downtown Baton Rouge. Beautiful night so we sat on the deck overlooking the Mississippi River. Went for happy hour. Sushi was OK, but it was nice to watch the sun go down and the city lights come up. Good service.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    36
    15
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Great ! Great ! Baton Rouge choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Had the pleasure of dining here for the first time ! Food and service were excellent ! Greeted warmly at the reservation desk ! Large menu choices ! Everything was excellent and fresh ,! View of the river is great also . Weather wasn't permitting outside dining but we sat at window and sunset was Beautiful !! Although I was with my niece I would have to add it is a romantic spot for sure !!! Need a place to propose . Great choice !!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
347 reviews 347 reviews
234 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“Excellent Views, Service Not So Good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We met a bunch of family members for an evening reunion. The rooftop location above the Mississippi River lends a spectacular view of the river, the old State Capital building, and the downtown. It was also a wonderful perch from which to watch the sun set.

The drinks were good, the beer cold, the wine selection only decent, but the service was minimal. We finally just had to walk to the bar to get drinks.

Family members who had appetizers rated them as average in quality and value.

But the view and atmosphere ... the best.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food & atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Interesting location at the top of the Shaw Center. The atmosphere is lively, and the outdoor patio is quite enjoyable. We took our drinks on the patio while waiting on our food. Great view of the MS River. The servers were knowledgeable and accommodating. The menu (sushi & regular) have many options, and the sushi is some of the best I've had anywhere. Call for a reservation, because this place is hopping and stays packed!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fresh makes a difference”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We eat sushi a lot. I had never eaten at the sushi bar, though. We ate several rolls and all were good, better than many sushi restaurants. There is truly a difference in their food and it is a freshness that can be tasted.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tsunami Shaw Center - Baton Rouge also viewed

 

Been to Tsunami Shaw Center - Baton Rouge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tsunami Shaw Center - Baton Rouge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.