We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We felt like home!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Stockade Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Stockade Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
The Stockade Bed and Breakfast
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   8860 Highland Road, Baton Rouge, LA 70808   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Baton Rouge B&B and Inns
Wahl, Luxembourg
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“We felt like home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This was our first stay at a Bed & Breakfast, as we have always been a little suspicious of how good this type accommodation really could be. Well, all our worries were proven wrong, we were absolutely delighted by the experience! We felt so welcome at the Stockade, it was almost like coming home.

The rooms are so beautifully decorated, every room (we had two) had a unique vibe and "personality" to it, you can feel this place is run with love and passion. We immediately felt like we had lived in this place forever.

And while it was our first stay, it certainly won't be our last. We are already planning on exploring Louisiana more in-depth next year, and we will certainly chose the Stockade as our "home-base".

Breakfast was delicious too, especially the home-made pecan pie, we love that one! Also, be sure to check out Sammy's on the other side of the road, their po-boys are delicious, and you wouldn't believe that they also have file on the menu - a delicious one too! In Europe, you would need to visit a high-end restaurant to get that quality meat!

So a big thank you to Janice for the wonderful stay, we enjoyed ourselves, and we will be back as soon as possible.

PS: And a little notice to all Truebies out there, this is the place Bill Compton proposed to Sookie - and his actual signature is in the guest book too! Don't miss that!

Room Tip: Of the two rooms we had booked, our favorite was the Garden room - nice, quiet on the backside, with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    21
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
33
99
8
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Riverside
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My second stay here was as good as the first. Lovely, comfortable rooms. Wonderfully prepared and generous breakfast with the hosts friendly conversation. On the Highland historic drive, but only 15 minutes from LSU and downtown. Sammy's Grill is a great eatery just across the street.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Monroe, Louisiana
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

My mom, sister and I have stayed at the Stockade for the past 3 years when we go to Baton Rouge for our Mother-Daughter get away. It is easy access to downtown, LSU, and all the shopping and dining places that we love. Breakfast is always wonderful and a refrigerator is always stocked with drinks and snacks are readily available. Janice has gone out of her way to accommodate our needs every time we come.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orange, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

This Bed and Breakfast is truly a gem and innkeeper Janice made the experience extra special. The landscaping was beautiful. You can tell that the Stockade is a labor of love. The decor was eclectic and fully in keeping with the personality of the inn. Janice has an artist's eye and a heart of gold. The breakfasts were delicious and it was lovely to sit and relax and chat comfortably in the beautiful dining room. My wife and I would highly recommend a stay at the Stockade. You will be in for a treat!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
missjd, Owner at The Stockade Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay! It is my pleasure to share The Stockade with my guests from all over the globe. Thank you for your kind words. We hope to see you again!

Best Wishes,
Janice, Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmbrechts, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed for our honeymoon and really enjoyed it. The staff is nice, the atmosphere is great and the rooms are just amazing. We stayed in the Rex Room which we can only recommend. The breakfast was more than enough, there were snacks and beverages for us all day long, and all of very good quality. For honeymooners it is ideal, since you won't get disturbed and the whole atomsphere is luxurious and cozy. Not to mention the huge and nice bed, I didn't sleep that well in months (or probably years). Perkin's Rowe and other Malls are in a short driving distance, some food places close enough to walk. The arboretum is close by and worth a short stay. All in all I am glad we chose thise place, especially for this price. Thanks to Janice and her staff to make this happen!

Room Tip: From what I saw they are all nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

My husband completely surprised me and made reservations at this beautiful B&B! I'm from Baton Rouge and never knew this was here! I had such a wonderful weekend! We will stay again!
The breakfast was perfect. It is very close to LSU, so getting to and from the game was very easy. We also ate dinner at Gino's Italian restaurant, and it was amazing!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed our first bed and breakfast experience at The Stockade. After seeing the beautiful pictures of the Blue Room, I was very excited to be able to experience it. We made our trip a second honeymoon and the ambiance of the Stockade was perfect for us. I was looking forward to having a private balcony looking out on the woods and took photos from it. The gardens are beautiful. Janice made us feel right at home with wonderful breakfasts and snacks and anything we could want. We hope to return next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at The Stockade Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
I love it when "First Timers" enjoy themselves! Thanks for choosing The Stockade as your introduction to A BETTER WAY TO STAY. Thank you for your kind and generous comments. We strive to provide our guests with a comfortable, authentic Louisiana experience.

Safe and happy travel to all your destinations and please come visit us again.

Warm Regards,
Janice, Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Stockade Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stockade Bed and Breakfast

Address: 8860 Highland Road, Baton Rouge, LA 70808
Location: United States > Louisiana > Baton Rouge
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Baton Rouge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Stockade Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Venere, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Stockade Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stockade Hotel Baton Rouge
Stockade b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Stockade Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.