We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay was awesome!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Baton Rouge Capitol Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Baton Rouge Capitol Center to your Saves list
Hilton Baton Rouge Capitol Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   201 Lafayette St, Baton Rouge, LA 70801   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Breakfast & WiFi Included
Ranked #17 of 70 Hotels in Baton Rouge
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Our stay was awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Hilton for NYE. The room was great and the staff was awesome! Sean at the front desk was very friendly and helpful! if you want a great place to stay while you enjoy Baton Rouge, this is the place to be! We will definitely stay at the Hilton again!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    131
    69
    36
    17
See reviews for
66
130
27
188
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I live in Baton Rouge and have attended many functions at the Hilton but have not stayed at the hotel. Hubby and I had a Mardi Gras ball to attend at the River Center and decided to stay at the Hilton for a little stay-cay.

Stayed in room 207
Overall - recommend a stay if in the downtown area

Pros:
- Great Location, central to all the downtown restaurants, bars, tourists attractions
- Beautiful historic building overlooking the river
- Lovely interior. Mix of historic and modern decor.
- Greeted by very friendly valet and bellmen. All doors opened along the way!
- Quick checkin
- Cool bar area
- All "prior to arrival" requests were completed
- Rooms very well appointed
- Very comfy bed with lots of pillows
- Extra blanket and pillows in closet
- Nice bathroom products & amenities
- Shuttle service to the River Center

Cons:
- Room on the small side
- Very small bathroom
- Shower only

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

From the front desk reception, to the wonderful views of the Mississippi River our stay at the Baton Rouge Hilton was wonderful. Our room was very clean and well-appointed. There is a coffee shop across the street and restaurants nearby. The nearby Shaw Center is a great place to visit and the view from the Japanese restaurant (Tsunami) in the Shaw is spectacular.

Room Tip: High floor with a River view. We had a corner room which had windows on two sides providing the best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bemidji
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

This is a lovely historic hotel in downtown Baton Rouge. The lobby area, restaurant, room amenities and attention to comfort of the guest are very good. But - the bathroom is in trouble. Mine was a shower only room. The shower was dysfuntional. There was no way to use the shower without flooding the bathroom floor. There was no way to turn on the shower without getting soaked. This is a design problem - an obvious one that should never have happened. Upon checking out, after one night stay, I reported the problem. Front desk said they had had many complaints. The hotel was not full. Why would they put someone in a shower only room when they knew of the problem? Why has the problem not been addressed?

The paper dispenser was also faulty - making it necessary to dive for the roll as the dispenser fell apart jettisoning the paper onto the floor. Small thing, but annoying.

Left my computer cord in room after departure. Reported to guest services who told me to call housekeeping. Housekeeping had no knowledge of anything left 2 days ago. Said they would check and return the call. They did not.

On the bright side, room service was wonderful. Room was clean, comfortable and the amenities lovely. The room had a beautiful view - much appreciated. On all other counts, I was very happy at this hotel. But...there are some areas in which improvement is needed.

Room Tip: Get a room with a tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcus H, Director of Rooms at Hilton Baton Rouge Capitol Center, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate the opportunity to welcome you to our hotel and appreciate your business. I was very happy to read from you review that you found our rooms to be clean and comfortable and that you enjoyed some of our amenities. Our main priority is for our guests to experience a welcoming and comfortable stay with us. I do however understand that you were inconvenienced by our bathroom design. I truly apologize if this issue inconvenienced you in any way. We are always looking for ways to improve our hotel and I will definitely keep your feedback in mind to further discuss alternatives to resolving this issue.

Again, I thank you for your review and if there is anything we can do to enhance our services please let us know. We are always listening to our guests. Thanks again for choosing our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JENSEN BEACH
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The views of river and downtown are great if you stay on upper floors. Service was excellent, and bar staff was friendly. Plenty to do in close proximity: museums, gambling, and good food. Breakfast buffet was well above average. We had the omelette made to order, which was perfect. I would definitely take the elevator to the top floor and check the views from the ballroom.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

This hotel is very clean and comfortable. The lounge area was a great place to visit and the rooms were clean and comfortable. I loved the bed! Very well maintained and the meeting areas were convenient. The staff went out of the way to be helpful. Room Service was also very good. Love the location.

Room Tip: I have a riverside room which was good but I could hear a train in the night. It was not a problem f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
326 reviews 326 reviews
110 hotel reviews
Reviews in 169 cities Reviews in 169 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

This is a Garden Inn, but feels like a high class Hilton.

Good southern hospitality throughout.

When the shuttle bus was called away to the airport at short notice, the manager was kind enough to get the head of security to drive us to our restaurant, and pick us up later. Having a long service police officer driving us made us feel special and he was such a pleasure to talk too.

Everything else in the hotel was just fine, with a good room and facilities, and a hearty breakfst.

Well recommended for its location too

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Baton Rouge Capitol Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Baton Rouge Capitol Center

Address: 201 Lafayette St, Baton Rouge, LA 70801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Baton Rouge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Baton Rouge
#14 Business Hotel in Baton Rouge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Baton Rouge Capitol Center 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the finest accommodations in Baton Rouge at the Hilton Baton Rouge Capitol Center! We are located in the heart of downtown and the Baton Rouge City Center, just off I-10/I-110 and adjacent to the Mississippi River.We are in the heart of the Central Business District, minutes from the Louisiana State Capitol, LSU, the Louisiana Arts & Science Museum, Shaw Center for the Arts, and the Old Governor's Mansion, amongst many other popular attractions in this vibrant city.Our hotel is a AAA 4-Diamond historical hotel, originally built in 1927 and renovated completely, keeping the historic character and touches of the time period, while bringing the hotel up to the level of excellence and luxury that you would expect. Our hotel offers a beautiful outdoor pool complete with a sundeck overlooking the Mississippi River. Looking for authentic cajun cooking? Visit The Kingfish Grill located on-site! Look no further than the Hilton Baton Rouge Capitol Center! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Baton Rouge Capitol Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Baton Rouge Capitol Hotel Baton Rouge
Hilton Hotel Baton Rouge
Baton Rouge Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Baton Rouge Capitol Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.