We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great getaway within the city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Baton Rouge Capitol Center

Save Saved
You added Hilton Baton Rouge Capitol Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Baton Rouge Capitol Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   201 Lafayette St, Baton Rouge, LA 70801   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% off your next stay!
Ranked #23 of 69 hotels in Baton Rouge
Denham Springs, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great getaway within the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

Have stayed here a couple of times for a weekend getaway and it is great!
Be sure and request a riverview; that is one of my reasons in staying at this location.
Also, the pool area overlooks the Mississippi River with a wonderfull view.
Valet or paid self parking one block away.
Lots of historical interest in the downtown area; LA State Capital, Old Governor's Mansion, USS Kid Battleship and you're 2 blocks from The Mighty Mississippi River. The hotel itself has quite a history; formerly being the Capitol House Hotel.
Plenty of entertainment in the downtown area, all within walking distance; arts, museums, resturants, nightclubs, casino, Shaw Center, River Center Convention Center
If your interest are perhaps at one of the resturants in the outer Baton Rouge area, many fine ones within a short drive or take it easy and hail a cab (especially if spirits are on the menu); a few dollars for the cab and no worries! Also, i believe the hotel runs a shuttle for the area.
And to add to all of this... It is a completely smoke free facility!
Well worth a visit!!!

Room Tip: Riverview room selection is a great choice!!! Link to hotels website: http://www1.hilton.com/en_US...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBR, General Manager at Hilton Baton Rouge Capitol Center, responded to this review, September 19, 2011
Thank you for your continued support of the Hilton Capitol Center hotel! If there is ever anything we can do to make your stay more enjoyable please do not hesitate to let us know!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    166
    115
    57
    31
    15
See reviews for
53
112
27
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

I thought this hotel was very nice. The rooms were small, as expected in a historic hotel, but clean and comfortable. During my stay there was a false fire alarm that went off, and everyone had to evacuate the hotel. The manager did a great job of personally calling the guests to make sure that their plans and trip was not impacted by this incident. I really appreciated that. I ordered room service, which was prompt and courteous. Good location downtown. I had the breakfast buffet included in my stay, and it was excellent. So many choices and good quality.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonBR, General Manager at Hilton Baton Rouge Capitol Center, responded to this review, September 8, 2011
Thank you so much for choosing the Hilton Capitol Center! I am so glad that the fire alarm was not an inconvenience to you during your stay. On your next visit, if you order Room Service, may I recommend the Bananas Foster Beignets for dessert! We look forward to having you stay with us again and if there is ever anything we can do to make your stay more enjoyable please let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

Historic hotel with expected small rooms and bathrooms. Restaurant was good. Concierge was very helpful.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

I travel to Baton Rouge every month and there is no place that you woud want to stay. Adrienne and Tracy do such a great job. It is a renovated property, right on the river and very close to all the historic sites that you would want to see in the Bayou!! 2 thumbs up for this place, no where that I would rather stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

We had our statewide Annual Meeting at the Hilton two weeks ago and it was fabulous!
The food was excellent, the staff was very friendly and helpful and the meeting space was perfect for our group.

Room Tip: Rooms were very comfortable, ask for a river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011 via mobile

Stayed two nights in a room with a king size bed. Room was very nicely furnished and very comfortable. The bathroom was on the small size with the toilet awkwardly placed. Would be difficult for large people.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Friendly Staff. Very comfortable room. Executive lounge has great food, great service and the food is delicious.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Baton Rouge Capitol Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Baton Rouge Capitol Center

Address: 201 Lafayette St, Baton Rouge, LA 70801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Baton Rouge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Baton Rouge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Baton Rouge Capitol Center 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the finest accommodations in Baton Rouge at the Hilton Baton Rouge Capitol Center! We are located in the heart of downtown and the Baton Rouge City Center, just off I-10/I-110 and adjacent to the Mississippi River.We are in the heart of the Central Business District, minutes from the Louisiana State Capitol, LSU, the Louisiana Arts & Science Museum, Shaw Center for the Arts, and the Old Governor's Mansion, amongst many other popular attractions in this vibrant city.Our hotel is a AAA 4-Diamond historical hotel, originally built in 1927 and renovated completely, keeping the historic character and touches of the time period, while bringing the hotel up to the level of excellence and luxury that you would expect. Our hotel offers a beautiful outdoor pool complete with a sundeck overlooking the Mississippi River. Looking for authentic cajun cooking? Visit The Kingfish Grill located on-site! Look no further than the Hilton Baton Rouge Capitol Center! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Tingo, getaroom.com, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Baton Rouge Capitol Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Baton Rouge Capitol Hotel Baton Rouge
Hilton Hotel Baton Rouge
Baton Rouge Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Baton Rouge Capitol Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.