We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good restaurant for special occasion” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Juban's Restaurant & Catering

Juban's Restaurant & Catering
3739 Perkins Rd, Baton Rouge, LA 70808-2950
225-346-8422
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 849 Restaurants in Baton Rouge
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene, Doing business, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Louisiana
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Good restaurant for special occasion”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

My wife and I went to Jubans to celebrate our anniversary. We had been there before so we knew what to expect. We went early and I would recommend going early even with reservations if you want to dine without too much noise,
The food was very good and the service was even better. We both had the special fish dish. It was very fresh and excellent. It is a little pricey if you have drinks but it's what you expect for a restaurant of this type.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    47
    15
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Destin, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Authentic Cajun: Unique,Delicious, Loud!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

The menu is large and had many authentic LA dishes. We all chose seafood which was fresh and prepared perfectly! The wine selection was great too. Only complaint was the room we were seated in was way too loud to have a conversation. There were too many large parties and staff had to yell over them. Not enjoyable!
Best: Juban martini and Pecan pie

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“High Quality, Great for Entertaining Out-of-Towners”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

I've been to Juban's numerous times and they have never failed me. I have grown to use them as a dependable choice for business entertaining out-of-towners who enjoy the south Louisiana specialties and cajun faire. I highly recommend taking time to first gather in the bar where they have an excellent selection of bourbons. At this most recent dinner the service was excellent and helpful without being intrusive. Often overlooked back in its forsaken shopping center location by folks just driving by, but don't be fooled by the parking lot, an excellent experience is waiting inside.Our group of ten were placed in a private dining room and a great experience was had by all.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Juban's Exquisite Cuisine, Ambiance and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We enjoyed some delicious lunch at Juban's, including some delectable soup and salad - turtle soup and their shrimp corn bisque are fabulous. Bread Pudding is also a must! The open area near to the bar is advisable with light coming in from the clear roofing. And the Service was superior!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful New Years eve”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

What a delicious and fun way to bring in the new year. We went to the 8pm seating and dined and danced until midnight. The prix fixe menu was outstanding. The hallelujah crab was delicious as was the filet and special fish dish. This is a winner way to celebrate

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Juban's Restaurant & Catering also viewed

 

Been to Juban's Restaurant & Catering? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Juban's Restaurant & Catering, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.