We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Baton Rouge's Best every year for a reason” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Juban's Restaurant & Catering

Juban's Restaurant & Catering
3739 Perkins Rd, Baton Rouge, LA 70808-2950
225-346-8422
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 912 Restaurants in Baton Rouge
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Baton Rouge's Best every year for a reason”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Just the best and most imaginative seafood I ate in my time in Baton Rouge. Very cozy, old South-style restaurant with just tremendous food and a great wine selection. Can't recommend it more highly.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    39
    15
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
frederick, maryland
Top Contributor
371 reviews 371 reviews
236 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 121 cities Reviews in 121 cities
423 helpful votes 423 helpful votes
“Still Baton Rouge's Best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

This is great food and a local gem. I was introduced to this place on one of my first visits nearly 20 years ago and still remember my first taste of soft shell crab. I have been a dedicated fan of Juban's ever since. Fabulous food, service, and charm. Our waiter was patient with this gathering of old colonels and friends and met our every need. Between about eight of us, we all had great starters, notably the Boursin and crab soup, and then tried all the specials and other recommended dishes. I wanted one of each but settled for my two favorites and the Juban's trademark dishes (in my opinion); our very accommodating waiter arranged a split of the two dishes between me and my neighbor - the Halleluhah Crab and the Adrian (redfish and crabmeat). This paired nicely with a Sauvignon Blanc. We should have been full but how often do we get to visit Juban's? - so we all shared a round of one of each of the very extraordinary desserts. Juban's, with good company, is almost neurosensory overload, and always great taste memories.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge,Louisiana
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Dinner with visiting friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

We have been to Juban's many times over the years and generally like the food and service. That said, on this occasion we were very pleased with the continuing great wine selection (our selections were excellent), the salad was great and my wife's Hallelujah Crab selection(have had many times as it is a Juban's regular selection) was great and our guests crab and fish dishes were equally great. However, my Flat Iron Steak Frittes au Poivre was tasty by steak had many tough areas in the meat which it should not have had ( I have had before and was fine). Perhaps the worse issue was that one of the wait staff that was responsible for taking our orders did not take the large wine list after we ordered and I had to ask her to please take the list so as not to clutter the table at which she seemed less than accommodating. Other than my steak and the lacking service we had a nice time with our friends. I would recommend Juban's but hope they correct these issues to remain not just an old standard but a fine dining destination.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Mostly good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

The bar is elegant, and the staff was very attentive. The drinks and appetizers were excellent, especially the appetizer tray and crab cakes. My steak was average and hard to chew, and the mashed potatoes were fair. Dessert options were cheesecake and some type of pie, both we're filling and tasty.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Not worth the wait or price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Juban's bills itself as an upscale restaurant, but I've had much better for less. After an hour wait even with reservations, we sat down to what turned out to be a mediocre dinner. My pumpkin soup had little flavor. My husband crab topped snapper had shells fragments in it. For a cajan/creole restaurant, I expected the food to be more favorable. The atmosphere was nice, service was ok. I wasn't impressed.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Juban's Restaurant & Catering also viewed

 

Been to Juban's Restaurant & Catering? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Juban's Restaurant & Catering, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.