We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Etouffee and Boudin Balls” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Parrain's Seafood Restaurant

Parrain's Seafood Restaurant
3225 Perkins Rd, Baton Rouge, LA 70808-2256
225-381-9922
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 912 Restaurants in Baton Rouge
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Little Rock, Arkansas
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Etouffee and Boudin Balls”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Some of the very best Etouffee and boudin balls I've ever had is at Parrain's. I liked this place so much I ate it twice while in town for 3 days. I don't think you can go wrong with any dish and the service is outstanding as well.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    309
    174
    45
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Authentic Creole Seafood & Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Staffed by mostly LSU students, I was pleasantly surprised at the
attentive and personal service. A local favorite had a big menu of local specialties including fried seafood and the most delicious crab and corn bisque I've ever tasted. Food was served quickly
even during the dinner peak and the servers are eager to make sure your needs are met while there. The food was soooooo good - we went twice while there. The only blemish on this otherwise perfect meal was brown salad which we and two other tables sent back. They were happy to replace with any other side dish with no fuss or hassle about an upcharge but there seemed to be a disconnect with the kitchen and quality control because salad was served to other guests after our complaint. My salad was brown on visit #2. I just chalk it up to "salad is not their specialty" but I would definitely go back when u am in town - and I highly recommend it to anyone who is a fan of
delicious regional seafood dishes.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Neat place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

I'm so glad we tried Parrain's... When we visit Baton Rouge, we have our "go to" places but on our last visit, decided to try some place new & close to the school, since our time was limited... Parrain's is a super cool restaurant with a neat atmosphere & really good food. Our server was attentive and kept our glasses full. I'm not a seafood person, but the grilled chicken I had was unusually flavorful and not the least bit dry---which tends to happen a lot... My table mates had fried shrimp and the fish of the day..both of which they reported as delicious. Portions were huge and we had enough left over to fill a to-go box to it's edges.

Highly recommend a stop in for a meal here... I know we will be back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Lunched with locals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

I was in town for the afternoon and met up here with some friends who are locals and had picked the restaurant. Started off with the boudin balls appetizer for $8.95. First time I've ever had them so no way to compare but they were salty and good and served with a dipping sauce. I ordered the grilled pork chop at $19.95 but it was a whopping 14oz and looked like a steak. The server said a lot of people order it medium to medium well but it's still pork so I opted for well done and it was still juicy and tasty. White chocolate bread pudding ($5) was only so-so but I prefer chunky with raisins and a strong bourbon sauce. Overall, I would dine here again.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
219 helpful votes 219 helpful votes
“Nice Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

4 people met for lunch and oyster po-boy, fried shrimp & Oysters, blackened shrimp salad, bleu cheese salads, and gumbo were ordered. Good level of quality, not greasy, and good service. A solid place for good food. The shrimp were very large and the oysters plump and also good sized and lightly breaded and fried. Platter came with dirty rice, fries, hushpuppies, and 5 shrimp and 5 oysters. Excellent bleu cheese salads. Everyone at the table thought the food was solid.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Parrain's Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Parrain's Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parrain's Seafood Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.