We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still the Best Pizza in town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fleur-de-lis Cocktail Lounge

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Fleur-de-lis Cocktail Lounge
5655 Government St, Baton Rouge, LA 70806-6099
2259242904
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #92 of 849 Restaurants in Baton Rouge
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Takeout
Baton Rouge
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Still the Best Pizza in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Fleur de lis is a whole in the wall bar that serves some of the best pizza I've ever eaten. Clearly not a pretentious place and I don’t really know if they serve anything, but pizza. I’m not in that part of town very often, but when I am, I always stop in for their signature Round the World pizza and a cold one.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    12
    11
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best pizza in Baton Rouge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Basically a bar but they have the best pizza in Baton Rouge. Drive up window for take out too. This place is as old as it looks, been around forever.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best Roman Pizza in the south.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This old joint makes the best Pizza in the state. It is different. Not much sauce but loads of flavor. Small, old, and crowded. Cool Cold Beer and great Pizza, but don't expect much else to eat.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best pizza in Baton Rouge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Whatever they do to these square pizzas is magic. The ingredients are simple. There is nothing fine or high end.

It is an old school pizza joint. The veggie and round the world pizza are my favorites.

I've been going to this place for years. There is a good reason they have been around for decades.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Disappointed!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I am a fan of Ledo's pizza, a Washington DC chain that makes thin-crust rectangle shaped pizzas cut into square pieces, and you just cannot find that in Baton Rouge. At least i didn't think you could until i heard about Fleur de lis. So i was very excited to try it, especially after reading the glowing reviews.

I ate two large pizzas, a pepperoni and the "around the world" pizza, which includes multiple toppings and is their signature pizza. In a word, i was disappointed! The crust was dry and bland for the most part, though it did have a nice chewiness to it in the center of the pizza. The toppings were sparse, and the cheese to sauce ratio was negative (too little cheese!). I do not know why some rave about the sauce as it was average to me.Overall, the pizza did not gell into anything special.

And, it is NOT a good value! The large "around the world" cost $13, a lot of money down here in Baton Rouge, and the "large" pizza was quite small, maybe 12 inches long by 6 wide, and since it is a thin-crust pizza it is not very substantial. I am not a huge eater, but i was able to down BOTH large pizzas at the table, which cost $25 total. Seriously, a pizza hut large pan pie would have tasted about as good and at $10 would be a much better value.

Sorry, i LOVE little hole in the wall places and would have loved to recommend this, but i just can't. :(

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fleur-de-lis Cocktail Lounge also viewed

 

Been to Fleur-de-lis Cocktail Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fleur-de-lis Cocktail Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.