We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff Just Doesn't Care” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Baton Rouge East

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Motel 6 Baton Rouge East to your Saves list
Motel 6 Baton Rouge East
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   9901 Gwen Adele Ave, I-12 at Exit 2B, Baton Rouge, LA 70816   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 71 Hotels in Baton Rouge
Newberry, South Carolina
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Staff Just Doesn't Care”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Went to Motel 6 website and was lured in to staying at this location with thier "Refurbished all rooms" come on.

Arrived at 8:30 pm with reservations. Got into our room at 9:00 after waiting for staff to take 30 minutes to check in one person in front off me. No wi-fi, so had to call desk to get it turned on only the phone in the room didn't work. Called from cell and was told that they could not add the $2.95 fee for wi-fi to my credit card that I would have to come to desk to sign for it. Asked about phone and they said they would check it out in the morning. Got back to room and realized dead bolt was not working. Asked to move to another room and was told that they were completely booked and could not move and would forfeit room fee if I left. Asked if they could send someone to fix dead bolt and was told, you guessed it, the would check it out in the morning.

Will not return and recommend all Tripadvisor friends to stay away from this location.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    1
    2
    2
    16
See reviews for
3
10
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

When I pulled up, I knew what I was getting into, but because it was very late and I was very tired and a low budget trip, I decided to to stay. I just needed a clean comfortable bed and a clean shower. The property has a gate. I wondered about my cars safety, so I parked it as close to my room as possible. My room was ok (very old and run down). No pet smell, whew. When I lifted the covers, it looked as if they pulled the sheets up from the previous resident. I put down a sheet I had in the car and covered their sheet and pillow and fell asleep. I needed to be on the road by 7am, so I was pushed for time when I got up. There was one foot towel for outside the shower and that was it. Humph, I went over to the office and the night gal (very friendly) gave me towels. The door closed but the dead bolt didn't work. Also, the upper latch was missing (I never understood those other then holding the door unlocked). Needless to say, I won't be back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

Wife and I arrived after a full day's drive, looking for a couple of hours sleep before heading out again on our trip. An ancient "security" guard stopped me to explain where to park. The clerk grunted and gestured to a small window rather than let me into the lobby. Meanwhile, as I had my wallet out to hand over id, 3 shambling figures, with pants almost around their ankles emerged from the darkness, mumbling to each other and surrounding me. My wife was in the truck and said she thought I was about to get mugged as she watched. I got the room card and we proceeded to walk into a crackhole with a door that didn't latch and the stench of filth. It took less than 2 seconds for us to turn around, run to the truck, and then for me to return to the window to demand a refund. No suprise that again, I was approached by a shuffling, mumbling crackhead with pants around his ankles. He seemed to be trying to get a room, but I just got the hell out of there. This is the kind of cesspool you'd see on COPS as they round up druggies and murderers. Stay far FAR away if you value your life and your loved ones.

Room Tip: Go to the Marriott a few blocks away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Ohio, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

At 10pm, there is a lockdown and you must stay in your room with the door closed. You must not walk around outside nor visit the pool or walk to a friends room.I was in a non smoking room having a meeting after work.some emplyees steped outside to smoke and was told to go to their room by armed guards. I had planned to stay here for a week but checked out early.I have never been treated in such a manner in my life. I recommend staying somewhere else.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else !
See more room tips
Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011 via mobile

Where do I start, first we couldn't get the dang door open without shoving it. Then nasty water or something started coming out of the bathroom floor. The staff are rude, sarcastic liars. We went out to the pool and it had a flooting condom in it!!!! Omg!!!! Gross!!!!! Oh and did I mention that there was a used condom under the bed!!! Sick!!!! We got locked out of the room cause the key card wouldn't work. And when you switched the light on the tv Turns on, talk about bad wiring. Never again!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plaquemine, Louisiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

The trip started off on the wrong foot. I booked my reservations on line the Wednesday before the Friday I was going to stay. When I arrived 4 hours later than check-in time my room was still not ready. When I asked the clerk when it would be ready she replied, " I don't know, we are short handed." I then got on my phone and called customer service who in turn called the clerk. The room was available in 30 minutes but it showed. The door looked as if it had been kicked in a few times because it took about five minutes just to get in. The lock was bent and the door didn't close tightly so light beamed from under and all around it. The bed spreads were full of cigarette burns even though my room was suppose to be non-smoking. The floors were dirty and so was the toilet, tub and bed sheets. We slept on top of the covers. I was suppose to stay the entire weekend but I could not. I packed my bags and checked out of that dump at 7 AM. I really think management should really make severe changes to this particular chain if it values it name and reputation. This place is a disgrace! I give this place a negative 0. Don't take your family or anyone for that matter to this facility.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2010

I had read the reviews and thought "It can't be that bad". I was wrong. There was dirt in every corner of the baseboards and mold in the shower. (They have a 2 piece shower kit.) Our AC went out in the first room and they moved us to another room which was no better. The exterior locks on both rooms did not work properly. The beds are very uncomfortable. I sat on the edge of one and felt the springs pop up in the mattress. I would not recommend this hotel at all. I understand that it's an expensive motel, but it should at least be clean. When it was time to clean the room, my husband and I were still asleep, but I still had to get up to sign the sheet that said we were passing on the cleaning for the day. (There were no Do not Disturb cards available.).

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6 Baton Rouge East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Baton Rouge East

Address: 9901 Gwen Adele Ave, I-12 at Exit 2B, Baton Rouge, LA 70816
Location: United States > Louisiana > Baton Rouge
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 71 Hotels in Baton Rouge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Baton Rouge East 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Motel 6 Baton Rouge East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Baton Rouge
Motel Six Baton Rouge
Baton Rouge Motel Six
Baton Rouge Motel 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Baton Rouge East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.