We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best experience in Baton Rouge.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cook Hotel and Conference Center at LSU

Save Saved
You added The Cook Hotel and Conference Center at LSU to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Cook Hotel and Conference Center at LSU
3848 W. Lakeshore Drive, Baton Rouge, LA 70808   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 69 hotels in Baton Rouge
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The best experience in Baton Rouge.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2010

I recently stayed at the Cook Hotel and experienced great service and an excellent atmosphere.. I was unaware that I could stay at the hotel as a general member of the public. I thought that I had to be a member of the LSU staff or facility to enjoy the place. I was wrong. The general public is welcome to the hotel and the staff could not have been more responsive to my needs. The rooms are beautiful, with great beds and good flat screens TVs.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    19
    11
    1
    2
See reviews for
13
6
9
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Homer, LA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2010

I came down to visit my son who attends LSU, and the accomodations are wonderful! The staff is very welcoming and friendly. They were helpful in showing us to our room, and once there things only got better. Our suite had a beautiful view of the LSU lakes, and room was tastefully furnished with purple and gold, as well as images of the campus. There is very much a down-home, welcoming atmosphere here. We were treated not only like guests but like family. If you come to Baton Rouge, stay here!

Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
puddlejump
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2010

This was an interesting hotel and convention center, tucked away in a drab nook on LSU's Baton Rouge campus. Rooms were large with tall ceilings, borderline drab, but clean, although I did find a flip flop left under my bed. The decor was basic throughout. There is a Shaquille O'Neal parlor where free breakfast is served, and the food items are on par with other national hotel chains. The outdoor pool is quite large and heated. Throughout the public areas are reminders of LSU history and culture, which is charming. We ate at The Chimes, Reginelli's Pizza near campus and they are good places to eat hearty food. Roberto's River Road restaurant was sublime, one of the best meals I have had in a long while, anywhere. In New Orleans, ate at Bourbon House, which was high-end and excellent.

Front-desk staff were helpful with directing me to recommended restaurants on a campus map.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2009

Stayed here for two nights on business. Got lost on campus and had a bit of trouble finding the building, but once here I was very satisfied. Definitely print out directions before you go or pack your GPS.

Rooms were reasonably sized, comfortable, and immaculately clean. Free Wi-Fi & high speed internet worked fine. Everything was of course decorated with discreet purple & gold highlights. There's a small shop next to the front desk with a wide variety of snacks, drinks, & miscellaneous travel necessities. Prices were comparable to what I've seen in other hotels.

Free breakfast in the lobby was excellent with a buffet of scrambled eggs, several meats, grits, homemade biscuits, plus continental breakfast items such as cereal, pastries, fruit, juices, etc. Plenty of tables in the 2-story atrium for dining, and the staff was doing a good job of cleaning tables quickly as people left. I saw signs that they also offer a plate lunch on weekdays, but I didn't have an opportunity to try this. The menu was posted at the front desk and appeared to be standard southern fare such as smothered pork chops, meat loaf, etc.

Fitness center was well-appointed with two treadmills, an elliptical machine, and a universal weight machine. There's a large flat-panel TV and remote so you can watch what you want while you work out. All equipment was in good working order, and towels were provided. (Bring your own water.)

My only complaint was that my shower didn't seem to have any cold water so it was scalding hot both days. However, I was taking my shower at what was probably the peak time of the morning so I assume it was due to high demand in the building. Other than that I found this hotel to be quite pleasant and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2009

I stayed here for three nights in late January when I participated in a French studies graduate conference at LSU. A number of conference participants also stayed at the hotel. The proximity to campus was wonderful, as was access to the bars/restaurants at North Gate. I also ran along the lake for several mornings. The breakfast served each morning was not only excellent, but it was very convenient. My room was huge (compared to NYC standards), clean, and well appointed. The business center was great. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louisiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2008

My daughter and I stayed here when she was invited to participate in Spring Testing. Unfortunately, a group of 4H students from Canada was also staying at the hotel and on our floor. The Canadians were making the most of their stay in La., and partied ALL night. I made several distress calls to the front desk at hour intervals--the last at 3:00 am. My daughter had a tough time staying awake during her high stakes testing after a miserable night of no sleep.
The management did upgrade us to a lovely suite the next night, but the damage was done.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — little or no noise insulation
  • Stayed April 2004, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Mississippi
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2008

Spent one night in a deluxe suite with husband and son for an event on campus. This hotel is absolutely wonderful. It is relatively new so everything is clean and fresh. The decor is unabashedly all LSU purple and gold. The suite was very large with a small kitchen with two burner cooktop, dishwasher, refrigerator and enough dishes to get by for a few days. The bathroom was wonderful, with two separate sinks so getting ready is a breeze. The complimentary breakfast included scrambled eggs, your typical danish, toast, bagels, juices fresh fruit and Community Coffee. It wasn't worth the $8 price you'd pay if you didn't stay at the hotel, but it was pretty nice. The Alumni Center is right across the parking lot. The gift center is located inside the hotel and yes, you can get anything LSU related there. We didn't use the Shaquille O'Neal pool or spa, so I can't comment on that. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to LSU or that side of Baton Rouge.

  • Liked — Convenient location on LSU campus
  • Disliked — no complaints at all
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Cook Hotel and Conference Center at LSU? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cook Hotel and Conference Center at LSU

Address: 3848 W. Lakeshore Drive, Baton Rouge, LA 70808
Location: United States > Louisiana > Baton Rouge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Baton Rouge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cook Hotel offers 128 well-appointed Deluxe Guest Rooms and Luxury Suites featuring plush Sealy Posturepedic beds, luxurious triple sheeting with duvet comforters, complimentary in-room wireless and wired internet, dual-port chargers, flat screen televisions, on-demand entertainment and a tastefully selected LSU-themed decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Cook Hotel and Conference Center at LSU reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cook Hotel Baton Rouge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cook Hotel and Conference Center at LSU, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.