We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious and pleasant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Cook Hotel and Conference Center at LSU

Save Saved
You added The Cook Hotel and Conference Center at LSU to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Cook Hotel and Conference Center at LSU
3848 W. Lakeshore Drive, Baton Rouge, LA 70808   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 69 hotels in Baton Rouge
France
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Spacious and pleasant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Here for a February conference, I was lodged in one of the enormous suites (half the hotel is suites, half rooms) with a kitchenette. The hotel is modern and roomy, very clean and efficient.
Some of the upper-floor rooms have a fine view over the University Lake. The beds are remarkably good, including (unusually!) the pillows. Breakfast is simple, cooked and Southern (grits, spicy sausage, bacon and biscuits), and sets you up for the day. Oddly, the hotel has no restaurant or bar: on weekdays, the kitchen makes a $7.75 plate lunch that is not bad at all. While I was there they had temporarily lost their liquor licence, but normally they sell beer and wine in the tuck-shop by the front desk. The lack of restaurant is awkward, especially on weekends, as the hotel is about 30 minutes' walk from the nearest city restaurants. One other drawback is that the windows do not open -- in summer that's understandable in a Louisiana climate, but in February it would be nice to have some fresh air. There is a lovely pool outside, open from 6 am till 10 pm, and an exercise room; alas, the gift shop does not sell bathing suits. On the whole, though, it's a very good hotel, and reasonable.

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms on the lake side have a pretty view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    18
    10
    1
    2
See reviews for
12
5
9
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Fort Hood, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

I was a distance learning student with LSU and had to travel to campus to take one last exam. I stayed here 3 nights. Check-in and Check-out were very easy. They serve a breakfast and a lunch. They give you paper slips for breakfast when you check in. Don't lose them. I forgot a couple of mornings and had to go back to my room just to get the slip to eat. I've never seen this method in a hotel before. The breakfast was very good compared to what you would get in your chain hotels. Scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, biscuits, gravy, and grits were all prepared in their on-site kitchen. Coffee, juice and water were available to drink. They also had the usual hotel waffle-maker as well as milk and yogurt in a small refrigerator.

If you're allergic to feathers, make sure you check the pillows. I had 5 awesome feather pillows, but I'm allergic, so I had to call the desk to get synthetic. It took them some time to find a few for me, but eventually came though.

My stay included a Saturday night stay, which was not the best night. There were several younger students staying there as well. They returned late and they could be heard at all ends of my floor. Just a warning for you if you stay as finals are ending.

My professor did make the comment that they don't tend to use the conference center for their meetings because there are no restaurants and such near the hotel. This is true, it's on campus which makes getting to a campus location fairly easy, however, you'll have to drive a few minutes to get to attractions and food.

Overall I'd stay here again in the same situation (staying on campus to take an exam). If I was traveling to Baton Rouge for fun/vacation, I would probably stay elsewhere closer to food, attractions, or night-life.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

I stayed at the Cook hotel on a recent weekend. I had a king room on the top floor and my room was small but clean and well appointed. My room was across from the maids supply room and there was a lot of noise in the morning. Otherwise it was quiet. The breakfast buffet was good but the tables weren't wiped down between occupants and the area appeared not to be well staffed. Overall, I felt the hotel was not quite as good as in past visits, but I will probably give it another chance sometime.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

The Cook Hotel is located on the campus of LSU, which is great if you are doing business on campus. Otherwise, it is not located near any restaurants or shopping. You will definitely need a car to get anywhere. The hotel provides breakfast, but you are on your own for any other meals and there are no restaurants nearby.

The rooms are clean, but the beds are not that comforable. The shower had good water pressure, but I didn't not care for the soft water that comes out of it. After showering, I still felt slippery. The wireless internet in the rooms are rather slow. The fitness center had two treadmills, both of which were broken during my visit. They had some weight equipment, so that was nice. There is also a pool out back. The hotel has a small shop for snacks and drinks, as well as a decent sized LSU gift shop.

I chose the hotel because of its proximity to campus, but next time I may stay off campus so that I can be closer to restaurants and other services.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

Have stayed at this hotel several times while visiting the LSU campus. It's perfectly located on the Lakeside Drive. Downside is it's very traditional and quite old, so amenities are sparse, our carpet was badly stained, the plumbing and shower power was not the best, and it's not inexpensive. We also found it very noisy being there at a busy time....we were woken by showers and phones ringing etc. on our first night. Views of the lake are limited because of its position, and breakfast was very disappointing. You cannot stay at this hotel without transportation because it does not offer a restaurant, so you have to leave the hotel for dinner and there is nothing within walking distance.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view....it will be limited view but its nice to see it partially.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

First class accommodation. Very clean and comfortable. In the grounds of the LSU. A car needed as the campus is out of town.
Breakfasts were of a great standard.

Room Tip: Deals may be available out of the school semesters. All rooms should e good as the hotel is away fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

Great location right on the LSU campus. Across the street from the LSU Lake with a great 4 mile running trail. Comfortable rooms, friendly staff.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Cook Hotel and Conference Center at LSU? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cook Hotel and Conference Center at LSU

Also Known As:
Cook Hotel Baton Rouge
Address: 3848 W. Lakeshore Drive, Baton Rouge, LA 70808
Location: United States > Louisiana > Baton Rouge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 69 hotels in Baton Rouge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cook Hotel offers 128 well-appointed Deluxe Guest Rooms and Luxury Suites featuring plush Sealy Posturepedic beds, luxurious triple sheeting with duvet comforters, complimentary in-room wireless and wired internet, dual-port chargers, flat screen televisions, on-demand entertainment and a tastefully selected LSU-themed decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your The Cook Hotel and Conference Center at LSU reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cook Hotel and Conference Center at LSU, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.