We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK hotel, but better choices in the area” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Baton Rouge South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites Baton Rouge South to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn & Suites Baton Rouge South
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7959 Essen Park Avenue, Baton Rouge, LA 70809   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #23 of 71 Hotels in Baton Rouge
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“OK hotel, but better choices in the area”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

The front desk staff was nice. The rooms were clean, but walls are very thin, and you can hear your neighbors. The hotel has an indoor pool and a small patio area outside. I couldn't stand being in the pool area - the chlorine smell was so strong, it was hard to breathe. The complimentary breakfast was nice with a good variety of options. The low rate was nice too, but I would probably spend a few extra bucks and stay somewhere with an outdoor pool.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    19
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
12
13
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisiana
Top Contributor
362 reviews 362 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 130 cities Reviews in 130 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stayed overnight heading to New Orleans. The price was great for the room. The hotel had the best water pressure for the shower and a top notch hair dryer that you normally see in the Ritz Carlton. The hotel offered a hot breakfast that was good. Overall a good choice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I dont stay in Fairfields often but this is a nice hotel. Been updated...the rooms and bathrooms are spacious and the front desk staff is great. The breakfast was better than Hampton offers and the wi-fi was fast. Nice lobby area...the rooms were clean and its a quiet location. I would definitely stay here again. The renovations made the hotel I'm sure

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Louisiana
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

There were many positives about the Fairfield Inn... The staff was delightfully friendly, the snack area was very convenient, the breakfast was delicious, our room was clean, bed was comfy, and the indoor pool was fun for the kids, and the outdoor patio was nice to hang out on. My only negative was our room location. It was 123 and right next to the elevator and pool so you literally heard every conversation that people were having as they got on or off the elevator or left the pool area. Not to mention the dinging of the elevator. The people directly above us were constantly bouncing around in there room. I didn't get to the room until late so it was my fault for not requesting another room, but at that point my husband and son were asleep and we were unpacked. I think my experience would have been completely wonderful had it not been for this because everything else was wonderful. I would suggest asking for a room on one of the upper floors away from the elevator to avoid a similar experience.

Room Tip: Request a room a safe distance away from the pool and elevators if you value your sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicksburg, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We have stayed in this hotel for several baton rouge trips. The last time we stayed we all made the comment that it needed to be updated. This trip as soon as we walked in the lobby i could see a huge improvement (not that it was horrible before) new carpet, updates fixtures and the room was nicely updated also. This hotel is very convenient in location to the main road and to restaurants close by. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica M, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Baton Rouge South, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you so much for expressing your thoughts on our newly renovated Fairfield Inn and Suites. My staff and I are truly proud of our recent update and are happy to hear that you are as well. Thank you for your business and we hope to continue to serve you as our guest in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogue Chitto,MS
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here Easter weekend for a concert as other reviews say the hotel has just been remodel an it shows, staff at front desk was very friendly an helpful, check in was swift no lines, stayed in room 206 room was very very clean,bed was super comfy,pillows great an no musty smells an price was $96 total! can't beat that. They have their own parking which is free,There is a pool an it was open,gym which looked nice,elevator kinda slow,breakfast was great so many choices which is also free starts at 7-10!
I was awakeing by housekeeping they started vacuum at 9:50, I guess they have to start early to clean that's my only complaint an if u stay at any hotel don't forget to put your do not disturb sign on your door cause they will knock an wake u just in case u like to sleep in! I will definitely return an reccomend to my friends an family! Great Job Fairfield Inn....

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica M, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Baton Rouge South, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you from the Fairfield Inn and Suites Team for taking the time to comment on your experience while staying with us. Your nice comments are truly appreciated by my staff and I. Thank you for your business and we hope to serve you again during a future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel twice, once in Jan of 2012 and once in Mar of 2013. Both times it was a very nice place, as far as service, cleanliness, comfort and breakfast went... but the advertised indoor pool was closed on both trips, much to my disappointment.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica M, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Baton Rouge South, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for sharing your stay experience with us at the Fairfield Inn and Suites Baton Rouge, La. It is always a pleasure reading our guests comments. I deeply apologize for our pool being down during both or your visits with us. We have resolved the issue with repairs and the pool is now working properly. We hope to have the pleasure of you and your family visit with us again to experience our open indoor pool. Thank you for being a repeat guest it is truly appreciated.
Sincerely, Jessica Mitchell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Baton Rouge South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Baton Rouge South

Address: 7959 Essen Park Avenue, Baton Rouge, LA 70809
Location: United States > Louisiana > Baton Rouge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 71 Hotels in Baton Rouge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Baton Rouge South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly Renovated on 1/29/13 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Marriott, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Baton Rouge South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Baton Rouge South Hotel Baton Rouge
Fairfield Baton Rouge
Baton Rouge Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites Baton Rouge South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.