We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Baton Rouge Hotel

Save Saved
You added Renaissance Baton Rouge Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Baton Rouge Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7000 Bluebonnet Boulevard, Baton Rouge, LA 70809   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #4 of 69 hotels in Baton Rouge
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Pleasantly surprised by the ease of check in and beauty of the hotel. Rooms are lovely and quiet. Bed is luxurious!!
No fridge or microwave in the room but when requested, staff brought them up, quickly.
Room service was hot and delicious. Worth the price. This hotel is next to 2 great shopping areas- mall of Louisiana and further down Bluebonnet- great restaurants and another smaller shopping center w a movie theatre!
Caveat: why would your hotel not offer free wireless in the room? Seems silly and cheap given your name!

Room Tip: Low floors, away from elevators were quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joy H, Hotel Manager at Renaissance Baton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
We are so very pleased that you enjoyed multiple amenities here at the Renaissance in Baton Rouge. We are happy to see that everything was to your satisfaction and we hope that you got to do some excellent shopping while you were here. The internet issue continues to be something that many bring up to us. We are addressing it internally but appreciate your feedback. Thank you very much again for the positive review and we hope that you visit us again very soon!

All My Best,
Joy Harringa
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    154
    59
    17
    15
    5
See reviews for
66
48
3
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

This hotel was amazing! Everyone from the front desk to the bell staff and the restaurant servers were incredibly accommodating and pleasant. Whenever I needed a taxi, one was promptly called and arrived within minutes. The food was probably the best I've ever had in a hotel and better than the actual "authentic" Louisiana restaurants I visited.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joy H, Hotel Manager at Renaissance Baton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you so much for the review of our staff and our indigenous cuisine. It is great to hear that our staff was friendly and accomodating and that we may have won you over in the food department. Our Chef Andy Papson has worked in the New Orleans/Baton Rouge area for many years and has designed many culinary treats with the most wonderful southern flair. Our wonderful state of Lousiana prides itself on the amazing quality of food from home kitchens to the many restaurants and bars so we are very honored at your comment. We hope you come to visit us again soon and thank you again!

All My Best,
Joy Harringa
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Watch out for incidentals put on your credit/debit card. They charge $48.16 per night to your card and reservations doesn't tell you about the additional charges. Then they charge you for a bottle of water in the room (which isn't labeled as a charge). They try to make things right when they get caught. However, the bank want reverse charges for 3-5 business days. For two nights they charge you $419.70 for a room which is $119.48. The food is expensive too. A simple breakfast is $20.84: eggs, bread, juice, milk/coffee, potatoes, sausage/bacon. The good things are the room is nice, the bed sleeps well, They've got those things that you might forget. They do give you another pillow if you are allergic to feathers. They do put a refrigerator in your room (free). They try to accomodate you, but forget to look at the comments. I'm on a gluten-free diet and told them. They try to use excuses about not seeing the additional comments.

Room Tip: All rooms are great as fas noise goes. They could have a party next door and you wouldn't know...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joy H, Hotel Manager at Renaissance Baton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
We are sincerely apologetic about the issues you experienced here at the hotel. We take these items very seriously and try to inform every guest about our process regarding method of payment upon check in and assist with the details they provide us in the reservation process. We apologize that you were not made aware but want you to know that the amount that we hold for any purchase of incidentals is only authorized and not used until the items are posted. We are so very glad you enjoyed the room and you were taken care of in regards to your allergies. We hope you choose to stay again with us in the near future and again our apologies for the miscommunication!

All My Best,
Joy Harringa
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hingham, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Very nice hotel. Paid for 3 rooms for 4 nights. Looks new. Friendly staff. Concierge lounge adequate. Exercise room adequate. However... we attended a wedding reception where we, and 2 other quests had cell phones missing (stolen?) late in the evening when only close family was left in the room plus the cleanup help. A manager offered to question the help (a lot of good that would have done). We should have called the police. They really need to do a better job screening the help.

So, if you use this hotel, and attend a function, keep you valuables locked up in your room. Nuf said.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joy H, Hotel Manager at Renaissance Baton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
We would really appreciate you contacting us directly at your convenience to discuss the issue you have mentioned in your review. We are very apologetic that you encountered this experience in the hotel and take issues like this very seriously. Thank you for the very nice words regarding the rest of the amenities but we understand the enormity of the situation and would like to address in person. Thank you!

Joy Harringa
Hotel Manager
hm@renaissancebatonrouge.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Stayed at the hotel for a wedding
a block of 30 plus rooms
I would not recommend for wedding/conference/family gathering
There was no place to gather to visit as promised
no refrig in room as promised
charged 9.95/day to use internet
room not restocked with coffee or tea even after I requested
Items "stolen" from the reception held at hotel
the "shuttle" staff excellent
evening staff rude and not helpful

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joy H, Hotel Manager at Renaissance Baton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Again, we would really appreciate you contacting us directly at your convenience to discuss the issue you have mentioned in your review. We are very apologetic that you encountered this experience in the hotel and want to address it with you in person. We absolutely understand the damper it put on the weekends events that these items happened and want to try to address in the best avenue possible. Thank you!

Joy Harringa
Hotel Manager
hm@renaissancebatonrouge.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Baton Rouge has needed a nice full-service Marriott/Hilton and they received that and more with the Renaissance Baton Rouge (Marriott). I've stayed here several times and it's always a reliable, and arguably elegant stay. The food is fantastic for a hotel; the location is right near two great shopping malls (one indoor and one outdoor). It has the typical Renaissance Aveda products and their club lounge actually serves pretty decent food and good LA Community Coffee. It's 100% my go-to stay when I'm in Baton Rouge (there 3-5 times per year) and it doesn't matter what part of town my stay brings me - I'm always trying to get a room at this property. And for the price, you can't beat this property.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joy H, Hotel Manager at Renaissance Baton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
We are so glad your have found the addition of our beautiful hotel exactly what the doctor ordered for Baton Rouge and we are so very glad that your experience here is to your liking. Thank you very much for the kind review and your detail! We welcome you on your return visit and hope it is sooner rather than later!

All My Best,
Joy Harringa
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Stayed in many hotels in Louisiana - this was best. Newly remodeled so rooms were very sharp, Clean and beds were fantastic

Could have saved 20 bucks staying at Hampton or other chain in way home. So glad we didn't - may plan a trip to Baton Rouge now knowing there is a good (great) place to stay

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joy H, Hotel Manager at Renaissance Baton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review of our beautiful hotel! The "best" in Louisiana is what we strive for and try to achieve daily and we very much appreciate your opinion! We are looking forward to your next stay just as much as you are. Have a great holiday season!

All My Best,
Joy Harringa
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Renaissance Baton Rouge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Baton Rouge Hotel

Address: 7000 Bluebonnet Boulevard, Baton Rouge, LA 70809
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Baton Rouge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 69 hotels in Baton Rouge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Baton Rouge Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new luxury destination in the Louisiana Capitol, the Renaissance Baton Rouge Hotel is ideally located near Louisiana State University, the Mall of Louisiana, and Perkin’s Row. Experience the upside of everything as our Renaissance hotel puts you in close proximity to all attractions, businesses and entertainment that Baton Rouge has to offer. You're aware of it the moment you walk through the entrance doors of this breathtaking Baton Rouge hotel with a captivating environment that engages your senses and arouses your curiosity. Design-forward interiors, alive with irresistibly inviting details at every turn including intriguing discoveries presenting fresh twists and unexpected takes on the region's flavor, charm, and culture. Taking in the panorama of wonderful sights, scents, and sounds before you, there's no mistaking the fact that you've arrived at a truly one-of-a kind place. After all, this is no ordinary hotel - This is the new Baton Rouge standard for style and comfort in upscale hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Marriott, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Renaissance Baton Rouge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Baton Rouge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.